We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Backpackers Dusseldorf

Backpackers Dusseldorf
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Backpackers Dusseldorf to your Saves list
Backpackers Dusseldorf
Furstenwall 180, 40215 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Friedrichstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Cotia, SP
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The hostel is not that far from the main station (3 bus stops). The rooms are clean and comfortable. I liked the tv room with books to read, and that there are computers available to be used. Breakfast is also ok. The only problem was the shower, because it was or too hot or too cold. I couldn't regulate it, it was like the shower was broken or something.
But the personal was friendly and the price not high.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    31
    16
    3
    10
See reviews for
1
5
31
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. They personally show you to your room and offer to help with luggage. They printed my train ticket behind the front desk for free since the common computer doesn't have a printer. They gave me maps and told me about the best spots in town, without making me feel like an annoying tourist.

The place is extra secure with each room of 4 beds having a lock with a numerical code to enter, and same thing for the night time entrance. The entrance to the hostel is inside of a courtyard and on a quiet street, so I got a good night sleep.

You can walk to most of the town's attractions within 20 minutes of the hostel. Even so, there were places to get food within a couple of blocks.

The hostel has internet which worked fine, private bathrooms and showers which were regularly maintained and clean. Beds were pretty typical, and clean linens were provided.

I walked past a different hostel on the way to this one...and it looked like it was full of people partying and drinking at noon on a Monday, crazy...

I think the atmosphere at BH is much more relaxing and respectful. You should stay here unless you want to hang out and drink all night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great hostel in Dusseldorf that ticks all boxes. We were in a 6 bed mixed dorm, the room was very clean and spacious with lockers (you need to have your own lock or put a deposit down on one from reception). Bed linen is given to you on arrival. The hostel is a short walk from the main HBF train station, and only 15 minute walk to Aldstadt and river promenade - where all the bars and restaurants are. We did not have breakfast when we stayed as we woke up too early or too late. The internet is good here and there is free wifi (ask for a username and password at reception which lasts 24 hours, after that expires, you ask for another). The staff are quite friendly and helpful, there is a small lounge to chill and watch sports or an outside area with picnic tables. You do have to enter a code for your dorm as well as the main door late at night - this is not great when you are very drunk! But I suggest taking a photo of the card they give you with the codes on, if there is more than one of you. If you don't feel like walking into the city, there are cabs everywhere and they are quite cheap (about E5), just walk right out of hostel till you hit the traffic lights, at night you will probably pay more, but it is safe to walk as I did by myself, drunk, twice. Enjoy Dusseldorf, its a very cool city, especially in summer!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

This is a super friendly hostel in a good, quiet yet central location in Dusseldorf, Germany.

It is good value, clean and well designed with a nice atmosphere in addition to all that. I would say this is a great place to stay if you are in the area and travelling casually.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Great staff who where very helpful and spoke excellent English. Rooms where clean if a bit cramped; but you are paying for a hostel I suppose. Showers where average but again this is a hostel.

Good amenities such as Kitchen, Lounge, PC's and WiFi.

Reasonable price paid for central Dusseldorf.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

It took me a while to find it because it's on a small side road (and because I forgot to write down the address) - which is nice because it's quiet at night. The rooms are spacious and there are big lockers provided. The bathrooms are practical: generous shower stalls and additional two sinks, the toilett is separate. There is a TV lounge and two free guest computers. For guests with their own laptops there is free WiFi throughout the house. The guest kitchen is rather small but the dining area is huge, so I guess if you don't have to cook at a certain time you just wait until there is space in the kitchen. They also provide free breakfast with three or four kinds of bread, four(?) kinds of jam, honey, sausages,.....yummie :-) The staff is fantastic and I was even able to borrow a hairdryer from the reception. Thanks, Anna :-)
If you go out at night (because Dusseldorf is a great place to party) you easily get back in with the doorcode at the front door and there is another code for the dorms. So I would recommend to write down the codes for yourself - just in case ;-)
The only little thing I didn't like was that the toilets upstairs next to the TV lounge were rather dirty in the morning....but that was probably before cleaning took place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

This is exactly what you want from a good hostel - simple but comfortable rooms for a great price, with loads of character and a great vibe. We stayed here for two nights and made a countless number of new friends, felt completely safe and at home the entire time, and were made to feel very welcome by the wonderful staff. The location is about a 15 min walk from the Aldstadt, which was very convenient, and it was very easy to get around the town. Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Backpackers Dusseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Dusseldorf

Address: Furstenwall 180, 40215 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Friedrichstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travellers wanting to explore Dusseldorf and its interesting surroundings, Backpackers Dusseldorf is the ideal place to stay - from here you can quickly get to all central places in town. The old part of town - the enchanting "Altstadt" - with its more than 260 pubs, bars and restaurants can be reached by foot within 10min. Famous as the town of arts, Dusseldorf has approximately 100 galleries and museums, which are located all over town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Backpackers Dusseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backpackers Dusseldorf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.