We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good 3 star hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friends Hotel Duesseldorf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Friends Hotel Duesseldorf to your Saves list
Friends Hotel Duesseldorf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Worringerstrasse 94 - 96, 40210 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Stadt-Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 243 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good 3 star hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Stayed in the Friends Hotel Dusseldorf for one night on the 20th Sept 2011. To get to the hotel from the airport is quick and simple. From arrivals take the Skytrain to the Airport Station. Purchase a ticket, 2.30 euro, and the train journey takes 7 mins. Exit Dusseldorf main station at the front exit, turn right and walk for 7 mins and the Hotel is on your right. The entrance is hard to find. It is a glass door, beside a supermarket, with a busser access pad. You enter and go to the first floor for reception.
I was travelling on my own and was given room 404. The room was massive. It had a typical European double bed with two matress's which were very comfortable. It had a three piece leather suite, a sideboard on which the TV sat, and a large four piece wardrobe. The bathroom was the normal size with, wc, hand basin, and shower, which was easy to operate. If you are a light sleeper the trams running outside may cause you some bother. They did not waken me. All in all the room could not be faulted.
The breakfast was typical continental with a good selection of, cereals, cold meats, etc, and toast. The staff on reception and on breakfast duty were very pleasent and helpful.
When I am back in Dusseldorf again I certainly will stay at Friends.

Room Tip: High floor and rooms to the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    54
    13
    10
    2
See reviews for
10
40
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
phoenix
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We arrived late, about midnight. The location is in a bohemian part of town near the train station. Very unassuming entrance and a cafe and nice market next door. Reception gentleman was efficient but not overly polite. Room was spartan, small and the downside was that our room was overlooking the platz that was loud and teeming with traffic. VERY loud. Our windows were closed and it was a very hot day. No A/C as is expected in EU. Our room was about 105 degrees. How you say? BOTH radiators were turned to maximum. They were putting off so much heat and our only option was to open all windows and pray for some relief, Now, housekeeping should have noticed this and averted this situation. We called the front desk and asked for a fan and told him of the situation. No fan, no offer of a new room. Mind you there were two lovely fans at reception that they were using. We suffered thru the night sweating and plugging our ears. Not a good start. the next three nights we were able to leave the windows open all day and let the air in and finally the radiators had cooled. We could close the windows at night but the room was very stuffy. We bought a small fan to keep circulation and left it at the hotel as a parting gift. I hope they allow guests to use it. The toilet is weird and when flushed shot urine, water and at one point a little feces on the floor. Happens whether the lid was up or down. Beware, got my foot the first day. Gross. best part was the breakfast lounge. Hostess was great, food was adequate and lounge comfy. We thought it was included but was not. Got dinged for 100 Euro at end of stay. (12.50 euro PP daily) Fair price and shame on us for assuming. Overall, we would likely pay more for a better hotel. i like my A/C and will be sure to ask when booking next time during a summer visit.

Room Tip: floor 3 noisy facing street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

A really friendly small hotel. It´s a 5 minute walk from the station and trains are very frequent from the airport. It cost me less than a £5 to get from the airport to the hotel but I think it was about Euro20 in a cab.

Rooms are coloured like opal fruits and rather functional but that´s all one needs on a short break. Great showers. The breakfast room is lovely. Dark wood and modern. Now the breakfasts were fabulous, but don´t expect soya milk. Selection of cereals, fish, cheeses, teas, juice, fruit salads, yoghurts etc.

Staff are young and helpful.

Now for the trams, they are loud so suggest you close the windows. Also the neighbourhood is somewhat like Kings Cross so all urban life is there.

Room Tip: Room not on tramside. Top floor has best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

From the outside this hotel looks quite dull and uninteresting, but when you get to the reception there is a lovely decorated seating area and dining area. The location wasn't too bad, it was a short walk from the train station and from the main city centre, but there wasn't really anything nearby the hotel, and the hotel and nearby was quiet. Our room was really nice, clean and well decorated with good facilities. Most of the staff were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

Stayed there for my Xmas shopping trip with my family and was very happy with my stay.

The hotel is not easy to find in the beginning, if you do not know how they number houses and streets in Germany. But then it is fine. Didn't have breakfast included in the price, and didn't take it. There was a cute supermarket right next door, and numerous cafes.

The hotel was very conveniently located - right next to the airport Weeze shuttle bus stop. So having an early flight, it was just great to arrive in the city centre and find your hotel right next to the stop.

The rooms were specious, and nicely decorated. We had top floor with huge balcony and nice view. I think the value is good for 3 star hotel in Europe.

Had such a great time in Dusseldorf! So I would recommend it for short stay def!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

The only criticism I could make would be the traffic noise but this is due to the location, which, just 15 minutes walk from the Altstadt, could not have been better. Pleasant decor, very clean room, very comfortable beds. Friendly, helpful staff. All at a budget price. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

The location is not the best. The room is not too small but it has a 14" TV. The parking is 200 meters from hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Friends Hotel Duesseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friends Hotel Duesseldorf

Address: Worringerstrasse 94 - 96, 40210 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Stadt-Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friends Hotel Duesseldorf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Friends Hotel Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friends Hotel Dusseldorf Hotel
Friends Hotel düsseldorf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friends Hotel Duesseldorf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.