We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Duesseldorf City Nord

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added NH Duesseldorf City Nord to your Saves list
NH Duesseldorf City Nord
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muensterstr. 230-238 | Duesseltal, D-40470 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #24 of 243 Hotels in Dusseldorf
GreenLeadersSilver level
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights so we could visit the Christmas markets in Dusseldorf, Cologne and Essen. We had 2 rooms, each with 2 single beds. We had ample room and everything was really clean.

The staff were very friendly and helpful when asked for suggestions on things to see, transportation and they fulfilled our request for extra towels and bedding.

We did not eat breakfast at the hotel...the price is too steep. There is a McDs not far and the ride to the city center isn't far at all.

Easy access to transport and great value.

We paid $85 per night per room so we were pleased!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    227
    68
    16
    7
See reviews for
35
105
38
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Where do I start? The room itself, well there is more room in my dogs kennel small single bed with not Mitch else and it was very hot with no way I could find of turning the temp down, open a window no too noisy outside.

Woman on the reception desk was cold as ice should have put her in my room for a few minutes to cool it down!!


Now lets talk about the pricing of rooms, don't stay in the city when there is something on at the exhibition centre they all rip you off. If you want to get rich build a hotel in Dusseldorf.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Overall the room was clean and reasonably well kept. A lot of little things bothered me. First, there was the smell of cigarette smoke in the lobby, elevators and halls. This is fairly typical of EU hotels as all the smokers linger right at all the doorways. But this is the 21st century and I don't like it. Second, the internet was very slow most of my stay. It sped a little on the last day but I had to get work done and it was a big hassle to have slow service all week. On top of that they use a ethernet cable system, no wifi, so while my PC worked I did not get wifi for my US based smart phone. So every phone text was $2 when it would be free if I had wifi. Again this is the 21st century. The TV was an old CRT - so 1990s. The bathroom supplies were highly scented like candy. The breakfasts here are a little pricey (as are all EU hotels) so I take the tram up a couple of stops toward the river and there are a lot of bakeries with great food and coffee. I will be somewhere else next year for my conference.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Dusseldorf, the NH hotel in the city centre was full so we opted for this hotel. On checking in we were greeted by a very rude member of staff who demanded a €50 deposit in cash with no please or thank you! The key cards to the room did not work and the door handle is extremely stiff, after going down to reception three times they finally sent somebody up to deal with the problem.
The room was clean and comfortable with everything you would expect from a four star, although there is no free wifi.
The breakfast was very poor, although the selection was good, it didn't taste fresh - the bread was hard and the yoghurt was some kind of powdered substitute. On our last morning there was a conference being held for postbank employees and the hotel staff appeared to be under pressure to clear the breakfast room ready for the postbank lunch, atleast three members of staff came over whilst we were eating breakfast and asked us if we could hurry up.
The location of the hotel is not so great, if you walk five minutes down the road you enter quite a down trodden area where I felt uneasy at times. There is a gas station across the road and one or two very average restaurants nearby.
This hotel is more suited to business travellers, it lacked charm and the staff appeared to be miserable and unhappy. On the plus side one of the reception staff gave us a free parking ticket which saved us about €50. Would not stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed here with a friend when we travelled around Europe.
When we arrived we were welcomed by lovely staff who spoke good English and check in was very easy. When we got to our room it was very spacious with a bath as well as a shower in the room which was good because I like showers and my friend likes have a bath.
The area we stayed in was really good, it was near the main town just needed to go on the SBahn and then was a Lidl just opposite.
The hotel had a gym which I didn't use but my friend did and she really she said it was good and it was well equip. We didn't use the bar of the restaurant but they looked very good and the menu sounds lovely.
There was Wifi in the hotel but was only available in the lobby but this wasn't a problem for us.
Overall thoughts was it was very good and I would definitely stay again and we have looked at staying in NH Hotels in other places around Europe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

HN City Nord is a good hotel for people who like separate beds, comme by plane or train and do not want to stay in the center of Duesseldorf. Quite good for conventions, trainings and business stay. Rates for the week-end are fair.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was a last-minute business trip and all other hotels were unavailable due to a trade fair. Paid a ridiculous rate for a room. The hotel is all right with the usual 3+-4 star facilities. Location not central if this is what you require so you will need to get the S-Bahn or a taxi.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Duesseldorf City Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Duesseldorf City Nord

Address: Muensterstr. 230-238 | Duesseltal, D-40470 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dusseldorf
#4 Best Value Hotel in Dusseldorf
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
#25 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Duesseldorf City Nord 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star NH Dusseldorf City Nord hotel is ideally located in the northern part of Dusseldorf, the NRW state capital, also widely known as a metropolis for trade fairs and fashion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your NH Duesseldorf City Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Duesseldorf City Nord Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Duesseldorf City Nord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.