We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cakes, Good lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heinemann Konditorei Confiserie

Heinemann Konditorei Confiserie
Bahnstrasse 16, 40212 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
+49 211 131350
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 1,383 Restaurants in Dusseldorf
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
London
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Great Cakes, Good lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

As recommended by trip advisor users, went in for lunch on a Saturday afternoon. The ground floor was busy and the chocolates looked fabulous. Went upstairs and we were asked to choose our own seats, wherever possible. Got a decent seat for the two of us.
Menus available in English, although our waiter was not able to take our order in English and had to get another waiter to take down our orders. She did well in explaining what were the main dishes and the specials.
Food wise, it was great, but ‘Number 1 great’..? I doubt it. The service was good, but nothing special. The desserts, though, were spectacular.! The champagne cakes are mouth watering.
I would recommend an after lunch dessert trip, instead of lunch.
4 stars – minus 1 star; for the good, but not great food.
Highly recommend it for the desserts.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cakes; Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We enjoyed a terrific lunch here today with prompt, friendly service and perfectly-prepared food. The daily special on Sundays adds a tasty soup and delightful desert to any main course for an additional Euro 4.20 -- a great value. The Schnitzel Wiener Art with roasted potatoes made for a perfect lunch at an upstairs table overlooking the city.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Sensational!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Heinemann is to Dusseldorf what Betty's is to York and Harrogate and Fauchon to Paris. All food and cakes are sensational. Coffee is top quality. The confiserie shop is to die for, especially around Christmas time. An absolute must when in Dusseldorf.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“heaven in your mouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

this is the FIRST place that you should go to and be free to taste everything what looks good and smell good to you. don't worry, the calories doesn't matter in that moment. trust me. champagne truffel or herren torte-do not hesitate! EAT! upstairs they have a cafeteria, but if you have to be fast take your take-away portion and make your soul happy!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

I went there for breakfast the food was below average. The croissants were really dry and not fresh. The waitress didn't give the change when I was paying and took it as a tip. On the other hand the sweet shop inside is really good, the cakes also look amazing. I bought some biscuits that were really really good and fresh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heinemann Konditorei Confiserie also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Heinemann Konditorei Confiserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heinemann Konditorei Confiserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.