We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, pleasant and helpful staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Apart Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added City Apart Hotel to your Saves list
City Apart Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Klosterstrasse 53, 40211 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Stadt-Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 242 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good location, pleasant and helpful staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at City Apart Hotel whilst there was an event in Dusseldorf, which made it the cheapest hotel available at 150 EUR. I am sure however, that in usual times, this hotel offers an excellent value for money option close to the centre of Dusseldorf and right in the heart of the Japanese area. The staff were helpful and friendly and went out of their way to help me when I asked for an extra-late check-out. The rooms were clean and functional, however it was a little noisy and I could hear everything that was happening in the room next to me. The breakfast was very good, and above the standard I would expect, including hot scrambled eggs and sausages. Overall, I think this is a great budget hotel option.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
4
8
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Uppsala Län, Sweden
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I had no expectations at all. It was a really great price, but since we were a group of friends just looking for a nice cheap place to rest for a week and we found this through hostelworld. The great things: There were towels and sheets in the great room which they cleaned every day. The breakfast was included and really nice. Especially the espresso machine! Also the had a great deal for public transport in the whole region for just €2 a day!

If you want a nice visit for a great prize, I will totally recommend this one!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oleggio, Italy
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I've been with a friend in december to visit Christmas market. hotel was very clean,staff nice, good position, 10 minutes by foot from city center. breakfast was poor, there were not so many things to choose from the buffet. but if i come back in dusseldorf, for sure i choose this hotel again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

We Have Been stolen while we were sleeping, somebody Came to our room and took our wallets with 500 euros our documents and everything we are Not sure who was ...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011 via mobile

This hotel was not cheap for a midweek stay yet many things were broken on arrival (shower, toilet seat ) . The room was on the second floor but was at the end of a maze of stairs. Staff were helpful but had poor English.

The beds were uncomfortable with old worn bedding. In this case a double bed is two singles pushed together.

I wouldn't use this hotel again

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed at the City Apart hotel in Dusseldorf for the Eurovision Song Contest in May.All the hotels in the area had doubled their prices so unfortunately the hotel did not represent value for money.
The staff on rececption are very friendly and helpful.We arrived at 9.30am and were able to leave our bags at the hotel.Our room was available at Midday as it had already been vacated.
We stayed in a room for 4 people which was located on the fourth floor (no lift) so I would not reccomend this hotel if you can't manage stairs.
The room had 2 single beds in the main room and 2 single beds in a seperate area through an alcove.The room was basic but clean.
The bathroom was again basic but very clean with a powerful shower.
The hotel was located 10 min walk from the train station and main shopping area.
Breakfast consisted of meats,cheeses,boiled and scrambled eggs,toast,bread rolls,4 cereals,sausages,tea,coffe and juices.All perfectly adequate.
If you are looking for a clean basic hotel in a good location,stay at the City Apart Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare Ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Basic clean room, plenty of cereals, cold meat salad fruit for breakfast. Staff very helpful,good shower, 10 minutes from main train station, city centre shopping.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Apart Hotel

Address: Klosterstrasse 53, 40211 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Stadt-Mitte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 242 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Apart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your City Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Apart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.