We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf to your Saves list
Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kirchfeldsrasse 59-61, 40217 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Unterbilk)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 242 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Nice but different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed the place, its clean, fresh and well maintained with a fantastic underground car park. The cleaning of the rooms is first class and they have shoe clean/shine machines on everyfloor. We discovered on our second night the the small bar they have there is more fun and packed than expected and will stay open as long as your drinking! although there are two things which I found slightly took the shine off what could have been 5 of 5, this was firstly the bathroom/toilet door which was clear glass with a small opaque strip across the middle for privacy, which did not provide much at all for those visiting the toilet, also no extraction fan, so nasty smells linger and the steam from the shower soaks all surfaces. (This all depends on how open you are about your toilet activities) the second was the aircon did not seem to work at all, but thankfully the windows open sufficiently to allow enough air in to cool the place. The walls between rooms are very thin, I got to listen at 4am the mother next door trying to get her baby to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind an fair comment.

We appreciate that you felt comfortable at our hotel.

For us as Servents there is no higher praise as an satisfied guest.

Of course we deeply regret that obviously your aircon didn´t worked well. As the complete inner hotel including the aircon is brand new, it must have been an error in your room / aircon. However of course this should not happen and i hope that you accept our apologize for that.

Thank you and we are looking forward to you next stay.

Best regards

Lars Dünker - Regional General Manager NRW & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    72
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
36
12
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is located extremely conveniently to the tram, bus, supermarket, laundromat, pharmacy, restaurants, mall, and all huge shopping district. Service is excellent, the room is not huge but is not cramped, has a kitchenette, and is really nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the church. Get a corner unit if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind an fair comment.

We appreciate that you felt comfortable at our hotel.

For us as Servents there is no higher praise as an satisfied guest.

Thank you and we are looking forward to you next stay.

Best regards

Lars Dünker - Regional General Manager NRW & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there 20th October for 2nights with husband son &his partner hotel was very clean and staff were very nice we all agreed we would stay there again every thing was within walking distance had a great weekend

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind an fair comment.

We appreciate that you felt comfortable at our hotel.

For us as Servents there is no higher praise as an satisfied guest.

Thank you and we are looking forward to you next stay.

Best regards

Lars Dünker - Regional General Manager NRW & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have recently moved to Germany and prior to moving into an apartment needed to stay in a hotel. I stayed here for 31 nights, and I chose this hotel as I wanted somewhere to be able to cook a meal rather than having to go out every night.
First things first - Location v Price wise it cant not be beaten, it is 3 blocks from the bottom of the Kö, a couple more to old town, 10 minutes walk to the Rhein and on the 703 tram which will take you to Old town or to a more centrally located tram stop, you can walk to the Central station in 15 mins if you need to. If you are staying a little while then there is a launderette next door and a several supermarkets within 2 blocks. There is also a park 2 blocks away if you need to see some greenery.
Price wise, its very reasonable, the free internet of an hour a day is pretty tight and the breakfast (although good) is a ridiculous 16 Euro a day.
Facilities wise, Ok, big enough gym with free water located inside the hotel, I barely ever saw anyone there. The rooms are on the small side, be under no illusion, I know this is Europe and room sizes are small, but we needed to rent another one to keep all of our stuff in. Provided with plates, saucepan, glasses etc, all great for a short stay and the occasional meal preparation.
The reception staff were beyond helpful, I can not recommend them highly enough, they helped us out numerous times and even ordered pizza for us. They are great.

Now comes the bad bits, it had to happen didn't it. The cleaning of the rooms, really they dont seem to grasp the idea of a serviced apartment. They would come and "clean" the rooms twice a week so that was 8 times in 31 days 5 times they didn't empty the bin!! can you imagine how full they were? Numerous times they never changed the towels, even though they were on the floor as directed. Once they never turned up at all?? How can this work? We spoke to reception and something would happen, but really is it that difficult to clean a room twice a week.

The hotel has pretty awful policies for long termers, after 4 days you don't get a new drying cloth, you need to wash the one you have or buy your own? How tight is that? No extra washing up liquid you need to buy your own, no free beers or water like every other room. Pretty petty things and to add insult they make you pay in advance for the whole stay so you really don't have a choice.
Parking is impossible anywhere near the hotel so they have you there, you have to use the on under the hotel, its snug but is a little pricey if you stay there a while.
TV for English speakers is RUBBISH, there are 2 movie channels and they played the same 2 movies for a Month!! I never want to see Fast and Furious 5 or True Grit ever again.
The Bar is very expensive, I know the hotel is in the center of Düsseldorf and it is open half way through the night but if you want to sit in your room and watch one of the 2 movies on offer, go across the road to Rewe and buy yourself something, it will take 5 mins and cost you a quarter of the price.

So to sum the hotel up, would I stay here again, yes, would I stay for long no, 3 or 4 days would be it, provided I got a good price with Breakfast included and didn't need to park a car.

Room Tip: One at the back away from the Trams and the Church
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

first of all, thank you so much for your fair and detailed comment.

We appreciate your positive respond about our staff and the other points you liked about our Hotel.

Bottom Line you had to face also some circumstances which i wished you didn´t had to deal with. To be honest your statement about our cleaning team sounds strange to me in the first time, but of course i believe in your words and i hope you accept my apologies for this. In fact we outsourced our room cleaning and i have to agree with you that we were also not happy with the overall service of this certain cleaning company. Therefor we changed the company and now the processes work very well, so future guest don´t have the face such problems.

Regarding to free Movies. Yes you are so right. Unfortunalty our house was pilot project for the company which was responsible for the movies. Even tough it does not help you afterwords, but I am happy to announce that this topic is also fixed in the meantime.

I hope you will give us another chance to proof that we are doing better in the meantime.

Thank you and best regards

Lars Dünker - Regionaldirektor NRW & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I had to visit dusseldorf on buisiness travel and was advised to stay in Derag living hotel. The hotel is very close to rail station Dusseldorf Bilk and convenient to reach from Airport. I chose an apartment accomodation which has small kitchen attahced so that you could cook what you want. The rooms are quite nice. The hotel is very close to River Rhein and from some of the rooms one can have a spectacular view of TV tower which is on the banks of Rhein river.

Room Tip: Ask for room towards the TV tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind an fair comment.

We appreciate that you felt comfortable at our hotel.

For us as Servents there is no higher praise as an satisfied guest.

Thank you and we are looking forward to you next stay.

Best regards

Lars Dünker - Regional General Manager NRW & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night on business in September 2012. The hotel is good and is great value for money. Rooms were modern and very clean and breakfast was ok. My only negative comment is that I stayed in a room on level 2 at the front and it was very noisy being close to the road, the tram line and the church with its bells

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind an fair comment.

We appreciate that you felt comfortable at our hotel.

For us as Servents there is no higher praise as an satisfied guest.

As a centraly located city hotel we are of course not able to avoid normal city noises. But for your next stay you should ask for our business rooms which are faceing the courtyard on the backside of the houtel and they are heavenly quiet and cost only a bit more than the economy room´s which are faceing the Frontside with the street. Ask for it at your reserve rations !

Thank you and we are looking forward to you next stay.

Best regards

Lars Dünker - Regional General Manager NRW & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Was planning 2 days in Dusseldorf on business and had a hard time finding a decent available hotel. Found this one online and booked a business double room. This is a spectacular business hotel. It's clearly either brand new or had a serious makeover. From the street it is not particularly impressive, but everything inside is terrific. Lobby area is small and functional, staff are smart, professional and friendly. The room top-notch. Plenty of room, a good working desk area, comfortable bed, quiet, and a great bathroom with full walk in shower (none of the old shower over the bathtub stuff). Highly recommended. The hotel is about a 10-12 min walk to the Konigsallee and maybe 15 mins to the Altstadt. There's a small bar just off the reception and a new restaurant attached to the hotel.

Room Tip: I booked a business double so not sure about the other rooms, but I suspect they are all very well e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind an fair comment.

We appreciate that you felt comfortable at our hotel.

For us as Servents there is no higher praise as an satisfied guest.

Thank you and we are looking forward to you next stay.

Best regards

Lars Dünker - Regional General Manager NRW & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf

Address: Kirchfeldsrasse 59-61, 40217 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Unterbilk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 242 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.