We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty stately home and gardens 30 minutes on the metro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schloss Benrath

Schloss Benrath
Benrather Schlossallee 100-106 | Benrath, 40597 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Benrath)
49-211-899-7271
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 76 Attractions in Dusseldorf
Type: Castles, Historic Sites, Natural History Museums, Cultural
Attraction details
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“pretty stately home and gardens 30 minutes on the metro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Well worth a visit if you have time during your trip. It's not necessary to go inside to enjoy the trip either. The grounds are nice enough.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    81
    26
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“You needn't pay to go in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Take a trip on the U74 or the 701 tram which both stop outside. You can stroll through the grounds without paying and the tea room, not expensive, is like taking tea in a stately home. The gift shop is above average.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Surprising garden at the back of the Schloss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We did an afternoon visit and wandered around the English and French Gardens before heading into the cafe for a drink. We didn't have time to go inside the building. Really relaxing in the garden and we left feeling refreshed.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamlash, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Very interesting tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Having just visited Schloss Benrath I would like to correct some of the misapprehensions of previous reviewers. I speak no German at all, and had no trouble with the normal German tour, the guide spoke good English and was very willing to clarify any issues. We didn´t have to book ahead : tours are running every half hour or so and there was no problem in getting on the next tour. The booked out tours are for special tours of backstairs areas, which I think would be of limited interest. You do need to check your bags, including handbags, in their lockers (free). The overshoes used in the main floors can be disconcerting, especially on the marble floors. There are some stairs. Tickets 7.50 for the Corps de Logis, and a joint ticket for all the museums for 11.
The Schloss was restored after WWII with largely reproduction decorative arts, sculpture and art features, and though some of the furniture is original to the Schloss, the rest comes from other houses of the period. It is a really interesting building and well worth visiting.
We stopped briefly for coffee at the Schloss cafe, it was fine, but prices seemed high. The Eiscafe across the road, as mentioned by other reviewers, is good value for ice cream. We had lunch at Ludwigs cafe around the corner, again slightly pricy but good food. Our hosts also recommend La Corte cafe nearby but we haven´t been as yet.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Benrath not for English speakers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

It has been some time now since my partner and I visited Benrath while on a Christmas break to Dusseldorf in December 2010. The city itself was fantastic but we decided to take a day trip to visit Benrath Castle. It was fairly quiet being the beginning of December, so tourists were a little sparse. We were advised in the ticket office an English tour was available, so we bought our tickets and waited about fifteen or twenty minutes for the guifde to return. The tour promptly started, in German, and although we could understand parts, the speed the guide spoke at and the topics being covered meant it was very difficult to pick up on every detail. At the first break, I asked the guide if it was possible for her to speak a little English to help us out, an abrupt "no" (in English!) was quickly followed by typed A4 sheets. That was our tour guide! A great disappointment to what was anticipated as being a great day out. Would not recommend it unless you are GUARANTEED an English tour guide, otherwise it's a waste of time and money, sorry.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schloss Benrath also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Schloss Benrath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schloss Benrath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.