We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanseat Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hanseat Hotel to your Saves list
Hanseat Hotel
Belsenstrasse 6 | Oberkassel, 40545 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Oberkassel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 242 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Charming little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Spent on night there, wonderful service, clean and beautifully decorated room, outstanding breakfast in beautiful dining room with option to eat in great little courtyard...very reasonably priced..highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
3
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

A lovely hotel! I was very pleasantly surprised by the high dose of charm and character of this hotel. The outside fits well in the nice neighbourhoud it is located in, but als on the inside it is just lovely: an old english style every where, from the staircase, to the breakfast area.
All rooms are different, mine was not too big, but beautiful, with a walk inn closet, and a small but extremely clean bathroom. All over the hotel you can find a candy theme back, including a very small bag of haribo candee on your pillow, a nice little detail. Breakfast is great, not just the excellent variety (like salmon and so on), but also the english-country-kitchen atmosphere.

Finding parking in the hotel is a bit more a challenge, but by driving in the little streets I could find a parking spot (free, just needed the blue parking card to be placed). Also, you get rather much noise from the street (especially from the trams), so when you have a room in the front I recommend to bring earplugs.

The price of the hotel is very reasonable, so for sure good value for your money. An extra reason to recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

A family run hotel in Oberkassel (Düsseldorf). Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice breakfast. Overall, I like the atmosphere of the hotel. I always stay in a comfortable room which a little more expensive but the difference is not so much. Have visited the hotel the past 10 years once or twice per year, never been disappointed.
In Oberkassel there are a lot of good restaurants, nice shops. It is only 10 minutes away from the city center and the famous Königsallée.

Room Tip: Better to choose a comfortable room on top floor not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Cove, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

The Hanseat hotel is located in the Oberkassel neighborhood - a quiet just over the Rhine from the heart of Dusseldorf and the business district. Parking is sometimes hard to come by on nearby streets but the hotel is in walking distance to nice restaurants and nightlife.

Hotel staff is quite friendly and all the rooms are unique (and spacious!). There was a bit of construction going on at the time of my stay so the views were more of scaffolds but that was easy to overlook. Breakfast is very nice (and included in the room rate...which is quite affordable - right around 100 EURO/night). I would highly recommend the Hanseat and I look forward to returning on my next stay in Dusseldorf.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

The Hotel Hanseat is in Oberkassel, a quiet mid-upscale community across the Rhine from the Altstadt or Old Town. Oberkassel has lots of nice little restaurants and shops and it is totally away from the tourist areas. If you want to get to the tourist areas, it only takes ten minutes by tram from the hotel.
The people at the Hanseat are very friendly (yes, it is really in Germany) and have fantastic customer service. They try hard to make sure that every guest is happy and satisfied.
The rooms are a good size for a German hotel, as are the bathrooms.
The breakfast room is beautifully appointed and homey, with a nice selection of foods for the traveler, whether a European or American palate. Every cup of coffee is made from freshly ground beans,
There is a lounge area called the English Club Room, which has comfortable leather chairs and couches for relaxing. Also, it is the only place in the hotel where smoking is allowed. It is a good place to unwind after a day of work or walking to see the sights.
The only drawback to this loveley hotel is the wi-fi. It is very weak. It works well in the lounge and in the rooms on floors 1 and 2. If you are on the 3rd floor, you might not be able to have internet in your room. They told me that they are soon upgrading their wireless router to improve the situation.
No elevator, so if carrying your bags up a narrow stairway is a challenge, this might not be the hotel for you.

Also, two tram lines converge right in front of the hotel, so you will not need to rent a car if you stay here. The tram ride to the center of Dusseldorf from here is only 10 minutes, and the airport is approx 25 minutes. You will have to change from the street tram or U-bahn to the S-bahn or Re-bahn at the Dusseldorf Hbf to go to and from the airport.

I strongly recommend the Hanseat.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Has a lovely garden with ornaments, seats, etc. Also lovely 'smoking rooms' even tho we don't smoke. Looks are deceptive since it is situated alongside the shops on the main road .
We stayed in the double room facing the main road. No complaints about the view. Rooms looks a bit tired and there is no lift. So, we had to lug our luggage upstairs. No porter service either. Breakfast is included in the room price of 100 + Euro (sorry forgot exact price). There is no coffee making facility in the room. However, if you like sweets, you can help yourself as there are plenty of them left on every floor in the landing and, fairy cakes at the reception... So, why not hot beverages in all the rooms?
Is conveniently located with the shops, trams, eateries close by.
We were visiting relatives otherwise, try a newer hotel for the same price. There are more facilities and service for the money

Room Tip: Check out offers at of peak season. Can be half price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

I recently returned to the Hanseat for a second time, while visiting friends in Dusseldorf. The staff there is very nice and helpful and I find the hotel very charming. The rooms are clean and comfortable and there is a very cool little little lounge room on the first floor. There are several lively, but not too rowdy, restaurant/pubs within steps of the hotel, as well as a small convenience store which is open late and very handy for a snack, bottle of water or newspaper. I wasn't driving, so I can't comment on parking in the area but public transport, trains and buses, are both available just outside. I can DEFINITELY recommend you take advanage of the breakfast at the Hanseat. The have a very nice dining room and I think you would have a very hard time finding a better spread to start the day: a very good selection of traditional German breakfast stuff, (ham, salamis, cheeses, and Meuslix), juices, coffee etc. As well as bacon, eggs, and breakfast sausages for he odd Yankee like me. Smoked salmon too! I have to admit that I did their breakfast justice indeed! Breakfast was 7 Euros. The Hanseat is not a Big Box McHotel. It's a very cool place I've enjoyed and very well run. I work in the hospitality biz too, so I appreciate all the things they have done right,
A nice place all around, definitely recommended, and I haven't even mentioned their room rates, which are just a very good deal indeed for single travellers like me or a family looking for a nice place to stay.
Eric J, Brooklyn, NY, USA

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanseat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanseat Hotel

Address: Belsenstrasse 6 | Oberkassel, 40545 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Oberkassel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 242 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hanseat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanseat Hotel düsseldorf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanseat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.