We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir & Lady Astor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sir & Lady Astor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sir & Lady Astor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kurfurstenstrasse 18-23 | Stadtmitte, 40211 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Stadt-Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 242 hotels in Dusseldorf
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We visit Germany every year at Christmas time and this year we decided to visit Dusseldorf. This has to be one of the best hotels I have stayed in - and for the price, unbeatable! Small and charming, the rooms were beautiful. Lots of complementary things in the room, wonderful beds and very quiet! Breakfast was beautiful, the lady cooked eggs to order and on our last day cooked us fresh waffles (we were the only ones in the breakfast room).
Nice, helpful staff who wouldn't rest until everything was perfect.

About 15 mins walk to the centre of the city, really close to the train station - and a lovely local bar and dominos round the corner.... This hotel made our christmas visit even more amazing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    39
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
48
16
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Koudekerk aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

If you don't mind being a 15 minute walk away from the centre of Dusseldorf, this is the place to stay! Very friendly staff, lovely decorated rooms (the cleanest I have ever stayed in). Everything is focused on making the guests feel welcome. The breakfast buffet seems somewhat small, untill you find out that you can ask for anything you like, and they will make it for you!

Room Tip: Our party had rooms divided over three floors. All rooms were very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

A nice hotel a little walk from the town centre.
We flew into Dusseldorf Weeze airport - not realising how far it was from the city! Lesson one learnt!!! However, there was a bus to the train station so the journey to the city was not too painful.
The hotel is not a chain hotel but an individual run and decorated hotel. My room was by request at the top. A lovely room with nice decor. Complimentary soft drinks and cake in the room.
No bath, only a shower but this worked very well.
Great selection of continental breakfast (but dont expect a UK Greasy Spoon fry up!) This is true continental and yummy!
Would definitely recommend.
oh, really comfy beds and pillows too!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This hotel is excellent! It is superbly clean and comfortable - we slept very well! The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are boutique in their style and have plenty of space. The hotel is ideally located near a tram stop and a few minutes walk from the Hauptbahnhof. It also only takes 15-20 mins to walk in to the city centre. We have already recommended this hotel to friends and family and plan to stay at the Sir and Lady Astor next time we visit Dusseldorf.

Hotels can make or break a trip & this one definitely made our trip. Thank you.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I had a single room for one night. The check in and check out were smooth, the reception guy was very helpful and efficient. The wifi works great. Room was clean with a comfortable bed. No noise issues. Good for a short stay. In the room you get complimentary mini bar items (though there is no fridge..just the items on the table) and a chocolate and a piece of fresh cake. Breakfast is excellent also.

1- Firstly, there is no Hotel Sir and Lady Astor. These are two separate hotels, Sir Astor, and Lady Astor. I arrived at one of them to know that my room was in the other one so had to drag my luggage across the street to the other building. 2- Lady Astor does not have a full time reception. Out of their working hours, you need to contact the staff in Sir Astor. 3- No lift. But the receptionist was kind enough to take my luggage bag up three floors to the top. Its a hassle though. 4- This is not a hotel, more like a B&B type place. Breakfast room is pretty small as well, but the breakfast itself is pretty excellent. Good choices and the lady there can prepare fresh eggs for you. 5- Room size was pretty small. Infact too small for comfort. However, I did see some other rooms on the lower floor for double beds etc. which were slightly bigger and well decorated tastefully done. Washroom also very very small. 6- The TV didn't work. And then as I was sleeping, it automatically started up and startled me! 7- The clock in the room is stuck at 12 o Clock 8- There is no 'do not disturb' sign card to hang. As I was sleeping in the morning, the housekeeping lady tried opening my door and I had to get up and ask her to come back later. The same thing happened again after a while as I had just taken my shower. After a little while again, as I was getting ready to leave the room, she again opened the door and came in. Then apologized saying she thought I had already left. It was pretty irritating and first time I ever experienced this in a hotel. 9- Not good value for money. In the same rate, I stayed in a 4-star hotel in Amsterdam which was way way better. I have stayed in lesser rates at better hotels in other European cities. This was not good value for money.

Room Tip: Get a bigger room on the lower levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days in first week of December 2013 while visiting Xmas Markets. A warm and friendly Bijou Hotel which I would recommend to everyone. Yes, the breakfast room was a bit small, but was not a problem, and the hearty breakfast was great. Rooms were very nice, we had 11 & 12.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 10th - 13th Oct 2013. We were allocated the Clara Schumann room, which was beautifully decorated & very comfortable. The whole place was spotlessly clean & breakfast was lovely. The owner of the hotel was very helpful and charming. Located within few mins walking distance of the train station and town, this hotel is a gem. If visiting Dusseldorf again we would definitely book this hotel again. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sir & Lady Astor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir & Lady Astor Hotel

Address: Kurfurstenstrasse 18-23 | Stadtmitte, 40211 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Stadt-Mitte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
#13 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sir & Lady Astor Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Sir & Lady Astor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir And Lady Astor Hotel
Sir Lady Astor Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir & Lady Astor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.