We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sir & Lady Astor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sir & Lady Astor Hotel to your Saves list
Sir & Lady Astor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kurfurstenstrasse 18-23 | Stadtmitte, 40211 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 243 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable, Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Lady Astor side of the hitel Thus is a great find, the kind of hotel to share with friends. Well priced, nice staff, easy walk to HBF train, nice breakfast, hot water to shower, quiet neighborhood but near enough to activities. We will stay again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EAM1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

The hotel is very close to central station and really nicely decorated.
I stayed in lady Astor in the third floor. The best is to send an email in advance and ask for a specific room, in the 1 or 2 floor in Lady Astor. Each room has a name like Paris, Burberry, Asia, Coco Chanel etc :) all the rooms in the 3 rd floor are the same, the theme is Queen Victoria, so the style is more classic / British
The downside is that the breakfast is served in the hotel across the street "Sir Astor", but it is a small street so it takes 1 minute to cross it.
Another thing I did not like is the attitude of the guy at reception, I supposed he is the owner, he is ok but could smile a little more and be more friendly. He somehow always seems a little annoyed by everything.
Breakfast is typical for small boutique hotels, a little bit of everything including hot waffles. The cleaning of the room is really amazing, the cleaning personnel makes up ur room every day and leave a piece of cake and candy in ur room :)
All in all I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 1 and 2 floor in lady Astor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mironaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

It is a small and very clean hotel. I stayed there for one night. We had asked for a double room with separate beds. But there were two mattresses on one bed. Fortunately I was with my best friend, so there was no problem. But it could get really awkward, if I went there with someone else. During the night I heard many different types of sounds like oscillating beds and roars of joy..
I have to say that breakfast was really good. Staff was very helpful. The receptionist was a very kind man.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sem C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I stayed at the Lady Astor building of the Hotel (the Sir Astor is actually across the street) and it was a great experience. I had booked a special Christmas Market package through the hotel, so they provided me with Christmas Treats and wine in my room upon arrival. The food was actually really good and the room so comfortable, my friends and I (without realizing it) ended up spending almost an hour an a half enjoying the cakes and wine and lounging around the spacious room. Once we finally decided to make our way to one of the Christmas Markets, and even though I had just checked in, the maid came back in, tidied up after us, turned down the bed and drew the curtains for me when I came back in the evening, which I thought was a very nice touch.
I had a very comfortable night of sleep and honestly cannot find one thing to complain about from my stay. I will definitely be coming back.
One warning though - they are actually pretty strict on their check-in times (maybe because it was a busy time of the year), so make sure you don't try and check in too early (although there are plenty of places to grab a stein in the area if you do end up having to wait)!

Room Tip: The Clara Schumman Room was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
303 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Actually 2 different hotels acroos eachother: Sir Astor and Lady Astor. Both extremely well decorated. The rooms are really beautiful and have different themes (Paris, Africa, etc). Excellent start for the famous Christmas markets (15 min. walking); 10 minutes to start of shopping area. Nice rooms and equivalent bathroom. Small but Perfect breakfast with enough choices for a good "German" meal.
Stayed hear five years after each other 2006 to 2010. This year we stayed in Windsor. The hotel was recommended by the hotel manager as it was the same owner. See my Windsor review.

Room Tip: All rooms are different, but are all very charming. We stayed in the "Afrika"-room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Very polite and genuine friendly staff. Everything was clean. The breakfast very good with many choices. The interior design warm and classy. For welcome gave me biscuits. I felt very comfortable.Close to central station and only 10 minutes to the city center, on foot.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 270MARIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I've been in this hotel for three days, but that was enough to realize that this must be the best hotel in Düsseldorf. You can find the owner himself the whole day through in his hotel, and even in the evening he is there to listen to you - in good English and always very friendly and helpful (and that's really not that obvious in Germany).

I would also like to make an honourable mention to the maid with the Arabic name (I respect her privacy). She is by far the best maid I've ever seen, and I've been in a lot of hotels around the world. I forgot to put my dirty clothes in the special bag (which you can find in the cabinet in your room) for it - she did. I forgot to ventilate my room - she did. And much more. She even put on the lights when darkness fell and I had not arrived yet. She even didn't only just cleaned the room, but she also putted everything in the right place, including my toiletry, some magazines and the bag of my portable hard drive. No wonder you could find her at any time of the day in a random room (she's got her very own system to clean the rooms and I would advise the owner of the hotel to change absoluty nothing about it). Her husband must be a very happy person.

So now the pro's and the con's:
Pro's:
- Just the best hotel in Düsseldorf
- Nearby the station
- English speaking staff
- Good breakfast (not obvious in Germany!)
- Good working (fast, stable) and free wifi (also not obvious)
- Beautiful decorating/theming,
- Very clean hotel, good maintained
- Parking garage nearby
- Safe hotel (they really keep an eye on things)
- No CFL bulbs (thank God for that, it totally ruins the atmosphere)
- Good bed

Con's:
- Düsseldorf (it's good for two or three days (if you're not an art lover) but there it stops, lucky enough there's a great theme park called Phantasialand in the neighbourhood)
- Parking garage is not the most pleasant please to visit in the evening (but it's not owned by the hotel so it's not their fault)
- No airconditioning in the normal rooms
- No other then German TV stations
- Bad pillows (way too soft)
(- Bathroom is quite small)

Overall a well deserved 5-star rating. Don't doubt, it's absolutely worth the money!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Hotel Villa Achenbach
#1 of 243 in Dusseldorf
5.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#30 of 243 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#6 of 243 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#7 of 243 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir & Lady Astor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir & Lady Astor Hotel

Address: Kurfurstenstrasse 18-23 | Stadtmitte, 40211 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Dusseldorf
#10 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
#17 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Sir & Lady Astor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Sir & Lady Astor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir And Lady Astor Hotel
Sir Lady Astor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing