We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of air con.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf to your Saves list
Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaiser Strasse 20, 40479 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 242 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Playa del Ingles, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lack of air con.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed three nights in this hotel which we booked six months ago. When we arrived there were roadworks right outside the hotel and also the floor we were on was being renovated and looked like we were in a half finished building. No one made us aware of this beforehand or even made mention of it on our arrival. The girl at check in was very nice and helpful. The guy at check out didnt so much as say thanks for staying or even ask how our stay was. I said we were checking out, he typed something into the computer and said "ok, bye".
The location of the hotel was fine, easy enough to get to by train and tube from the international airport. If you happen to be going back from Weeze do allow plenty of time to get there if going by public transport. Between tube, train and bus it took us three hours from hotel to airport.
Our hotel room was ok, but it lacked air conditioning and this made it awful hot and sticky in the heat of July and if we had to go back to Dusseldorf during the summer months we would not go back to this hotel. Breakfast was good.


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    89
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
56
8
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

At first, we were disappointed in the room having just come from a great hotel in Amsterdam. After a day though, this hotel grows on you. Breakfast is a delight even though the attitudes of the Germans is somewhat rude. I do not hold that against the staff as I found that most Germans were somewhat rude. Might be a bit of a general statement but that was my experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel was great find. clean, with friendly staff and excellent selection of food for breakfast and it was close to all main sights and shopping areas. Right next to underground - easy to move around city. The Hofgarten is just along the street

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Great hotel:
- easy to get to from the airport, tube stop and tram stop only meters away
- short walk to the Aldstadt, 5-10 mins strolling or one stop on the tube
- friendly staff, very helpful
- excellent breakfast choices
- rooms are spacious, only negative is no air con.

A great place to discover Dusseldorf; excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel is right on the underground line at the nordstube stop so it is very easy to find when you get to Dusseldorf. From the main train station just buy an A ticket for metro travel and go to platforms 78 or 79...check the schedule. When you come out of the Underground, look for the hotel street and you will see a bright white building about half a block down that is the hotel. It is quite a long walk to the Rhine river and it's many attractions so I would stay closer to old town next time. The beds were ok and the bath very nice. We just had a small fan and open window for ventilation. The area surrounding the hotel is wedding shop central, but there is little else of interest. All shops in town are closed Sundays but river cruises are still going.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The exterior of this hotel is not as glamorous as shown in the professional photo - in reality it is located on a busy street (Kaiser), surrounded by commercial buildings.

It is, however. well located once you get oriented. Hofgarten (an urban park) and the Melia Dusseldorf hotel are down the road on Kaiser Street, a short walk away. Altstadt ("Old Town") is also nearby if you go down Kaiser Street and then take the Maxmillan-Wayhee Allee, which turns into Ratinger Street once you are in old town, and the very popular "Im Füchschen restaurant is almost the first one that you will come upon on Ratinger. Ask for a street map and take more than one copy with you to check out the neighborhood.

Hofgarten is a lovely park in itself, with good walking paths. To reach Tonhalle, go down Kaiser then go around the Melia hotel on Inselstrasse, near the end of that "street" you will have Tonhalle to your left and the Museum Kunstpalast (well worth a visit) to your right, with the Rhine just ahead of you. You can walk along the Rhine on a paved path.

I arrived at the hotel before noon and was given a room before check-in time, for which I am grateful. I heeded others' suggestions (thanks!) and asked for a quiet room. But, not wanting to wait for one that overlooks the courtyard, I settled instead for one that had a roof top view and which I think faces the kitchen, judging from the cooking odor that wafts into the room in the morning. Even so, there were some tall trees that can be seen outside the window; it wasn't all bad, and the room was quiet. (I was only there for 2 nights in the middle of the week -- the noise level on a weekend may be completely different.)

Speaking of courtyard, the only one I saw is one that can been glimpsed through gauzy curtains in the breakfast room. It is tiny but charming. The breakfast is excellent. Unlike other places, there was some small variations in the side hot dishe served along with the ubiquitous scrambled eggs. On my first day there was even fresh orange juice (you squeeze it yourself using a machine) to be had. And as someone else mentioned: you can even have cakes if you so wish.

The internet connection is free and works well except that frequent log-on is necessary, which calls for the entering of your room number and last name each time.

The beds are comfortable enough. As someone else mentioned, the pillows are soft and odd-shaped - see photo.

The room that I had (336) was a "comfort single" and very roomy, and the bathroom seems to have been recently remodeled - see photo. It is luxurious and Euro-chic, complete with a built-in makeup mirror. The shower enclosure is huge and has glass French doors, and is probably meant to be state-of-the-art. However, it seems to me that there are some design issues. Perhaps it is the latest in German technology, but the single drain hole is on the back wall and it does not take away water fast enough, especially if the shower is on full blast. On my first night I was not aware of this and, because the door is not water tight and is level with the rest of the bathroom floor (with a slight incline towards the drain), water oozed out all the way and made a mess. Furthermore, the shower floor is covered with the same tiles as for the rest of the bathroom, with no etched-in grooves nor rubber mat to prevent slips. In the U.S., this set-up would be a lawsuit waiting to happen.

I find it a minus that there is no coffee shop immediately nearby, so that getting a cup of tea to bring to the room is almost impossible. I really wish European hotels would provide free tea and coffee a la American hotels.

Another minus that has been pointed out is the poor lighting beyond the bathroom - dim desk lights make it difficult to read anything that is not electronic. And there is no central light switch by the bedside.

The staff at the front desk were helpful to me, in spite of their no-nonsense demeanor.

The room has one window that can be narrowly opened at the top.

All in all, I think this is a good hotel and would consider staying in it again if I were to travel to Dusseldorf again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the kitchen vent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

The reception staff is terrible. The breafast staff more terrible. They dont laugh at all and talk to you with a nose-up ............. f b ,........ i have been visiting this hotel for business for several times and this year it was apeak. I will never come here again. I have a feeling that the staff is angry on the mstly international guests who come for husiness to Dusseldorf

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie M, Manager at Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear georgiea5,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. It is a shame to hear that you left the hotel with such feelings. We are very disappointed to know that we did not meet your expectation regarding our services.

We put all our efforts in making each of our guests feel at home, so we are deeply sorry to learn that you did not feel totally the sense of hospitality that makes our reputation and for which most of our guests choose to return.

We bring to your attention that all our staff has many years of experience advising our international guests and we have never received a complaint like yours. Nevertheless, we present our apologies for the inconvenience.

We wish you all the best in your future travels.

Yours sincerely,

Marjorie Megyaszai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf

Address: Kaiser Strasse 20, 40479 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
#22 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Excelsior Düsseldorf is your key to a successful visit to Düsseldorf whether you are travelling on business or pleasure. You find yourself in the heart of the business district at the same time as you are around the corner from Düsseldorf's best shopping, restaurants and nightclubs. In our 65 rooms you will always enjoy the same amentities such as free W-Lan, Satellite TV, room safe and much more.As soon as you arrive at Hotel Excelsior Düsseldorf you will know what it means to be a guest at an owner-operated establishment. We do everything we can to ensure you feel at home. Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel düsseldorf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.