We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to explore duesseldorf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf to your Saves list
Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaiser Strasse 20, 40479 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 242 Hotels in Dusseldorf
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good base to explore duesseldorf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel is situated very close to the train station with easy drive also to the airport, but a 15 min walk into town.

It is clean with very friendly competent staff and a cosy bar ( with rather slow service). Breakfast room was crowded on Sunday requiring table sharing, but lovely on Monday morning with a god choice of food.

Overall nothing special, but everything you need....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    89
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
56
8
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I found this hotel after searching on trip advisor, I was looking for somewhere nice as we were traveling to Dusseldorf to watch a show for my partners 30th and wanted everything to special, but didn't want to pay above the odds. With a £100 budget for one night, this came right in on budget and I think it was worth every penny. The hotel staff were so accommodating, even before I sent emails to ask if we could leave our bags at the hotel as we would be there for 12pm and check in was 3pm, but when we got there the room was ready. It was a huge bed, the beds which are very big singles pushed together, were extremely comfortable, huge and crisp white bedding. It's posited perfectly for the subway and for Altstadt, the old town, just a quick walk through the park. I did consider upgrading for 30euros for the nicer bathroom, but as weren't in the hotel that much I didn't think it was worth it. The bathroom was a bit 70's but fully functional, powerful shower and again, so clean. Really nice bar too, we enjoyed a big .5l beer and breakfast was great to. Very strange, with potato and broccoli bake, meatballs and boiled eggs, but was lovely. The fruit was really fresh, the coffee was delicious and service was fab. Definitely go back. Oh and wasn't to loud either, which I had read, we were on level 1 and had a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Booked this hotel as was visting the Christmas Market. Got taxi from airport (20-25 euro's) very efficient. Andre booked us in at reception. Whole hotel extremely clean. Friendly staff, given map of city centre and marked the Christmas Market on the same. Asked about the UBahn to get to market and was informed it would be quicker to walk, had hesitations about walking through the park on a night but informed it was quite safe. We followed the instructions and did not feel intimidated walking through the park. Excellent choice for breakfast.

The only downside to this hotel were two minor things: (1) we could hear people talking in the next room but once we had earplugs in, no problem. (2) we found the bedroom, lobby and dining area too hot. Hotel would be greatly enhanced if it had air-conditioning (if only in the public area's).

All in all a pleasant stay, would definitely recommend this hotel as convenient for city centre and is within walking distance, also easy access to and from the airport by taxi.

Bar is also good for a night cap. This was one of the cheapest we had had a drink in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the road, not much a view but if you need to open a window at least y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east yorks
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Allowed us to check in early, we moved hotels whilst staying in Dusseldorf, the reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful, offering advice on were to go. The room was spacious, clean and quiet, we where at the front of the hotel, overlooking the main street. The bed was really comfortable. The breakfast was a running buffet, either continental or a semi english version ( bacon sausage scrambled eggs toast). The bar offered drinks as well as tea/ coffee, you just asked and it would be made for you at a reasonable rate. An enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Spacious room, outdated but clean bathroom, and great location (10 minute walk into the Altstadt). Parking across the street, breakfast was sufficient. Small bar, no restaurant.

No everlasting impressions here, but you can't go wrong here. Recommended for weekend-trips.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and loved it! The family room was in fact 2 rooms with a little lobby and a big shower room. Great breakfast for everyone, park 2 minutes from hotel, public transport so close. The rooms were a bit too hot but the windows were easy to open. We will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a lovely trip to the Christmas Markets @ Dusseldorf . We stayed at this hotel and we're not disappointed . The most impressive thing about the hotel is the staff. Very helpful & efficient. They even helped us out by lending us an iPhone charger as we left ours at home. Rooms comfortable . Breakfast excellent . About a 15 min walk to the markets thru the park but we enjoyed the walk . I would recommend this hotel for a visit to dusseldorf and would def stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf

Address: Kaiser Strasse 20, 40479 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
#22 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Excelsior Düsseldorf is your key to a successful visit to Düsseldorf whether you are travelling on business or pleasure. You find yourself in the heart of the business district at the same time as you are around the corner from Düsseldorf's best shopping, restaurants and nightclubs. In our 65 rooms you will always enjoy the same amentities such as free W-Lan, Satellite TV, room safe and much more.As soon as you arrive at Hotel Excelsior Düsseldorf you will know what it means to be a guest at an owner-operated establishment. We do everything we can to ensure you feel at home. Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel düsseldorf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.