We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for Trains/City Centre, but rooms need a refresh!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Hotel Dusseldorf City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Leonardo Hotel Dusseldorf City Center to your Saves list
Leonardo Hotel Dusseldorf City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ludwig Erhard Allee 3, 40227 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 242 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Good location for Trains/City Centre, but rooms need a refresh!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Like seemingly many hotels this property is complacently relying on a steady stream of trade fair / convention traffic to pay inflated prices to stay at a chain property, it desperately needs a refresh of the rooms, with some decent flat screen TV's (and more channels). In other cities it would need this to stay competitive, but not so in Dusseldorf!
I was pleased to receive an upgrade on arrive (I am Platinum Elite), but really I still felt like the nightly rate was outrageous (it does seem to fluctuate a lot with demand).
The hotel is right next to the main station which has metro to the centre or you can walk easily. The traffic can be quite bad for getting out of the centre though.
I paid for the expensive Wifi (at least it is quite fast), but didn't pay the vast sum for breakfast. I could have claimed this as a work expense, but in my view €24 for breakfast is more than my company should pay!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    80
    50
    8
    9
See reviews for
10
25
28
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I have used this hotel several times before. Good quality, 200m from the main railway station, handy for underground trains to the exhibition centre and downtown. Good staff, attentive. This time I did not use the Priority Club website as I found their guarantee of the lowest rate online doesn't actually work. Even with the guarantee of the first night free if I find a lower rate, it was still more expensive with a free night, overall for the whole trip.
Good restaurant, excellent food, try the wiener schnitzel - they make it properly with veal, rather than pork. Bar meals good too.
Pity the internet isn't free; hotels that charge are simply ripping off their guests. Rooms desperately need tea/coffee making equipment.

Room Tip: Room at back is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Just a quick stay here during the Race of Champions event. I very much appreciated how close the hotel was from the Main Train Station. I came very early in the morning after the overnight train trip from Prague, but the staff kindly gave me the first available room they had after the previous fully occupied night. No chance to explore the Food and beverage sector of the hotel, since I only used the hotel to sleep and left it the other day in the morning. Very good sleep quality!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Had a little difficulty finding the hotel, mainly because I was jetlagged after a long day of travel from Australia!!!
Staff were very friendly and was allowed to check in early, which suited me just fine!! I was very tired and wanted a shower!!! All the staff were always friendly and helpful. And very good English speaking too.
The hotel was very clean. Was in a VERY quiet room, which was fantastic, though I did go down 8 stairs with a suitcase to get there!!
Excellent location from the Hauptbahnhof- maybe 5-7 minute walk, and that was with carrying all my luggage!!!
One of the girls at breakfast was delightful!!! Extremely friendly and helping me in my pronounciations and phrases to use while in Germany!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed 2 nights on a business trip and I needed to be close to the main station. I got a very good price online with breakfast included therefore value for money was great. Room was nice, clean and quiet even if on the first floor, just the hallway had a terrible smell of smoke. Breakfast was excellent and varied. No minibar service, I had to go to the bar or use room service. I tried also the hotel restaurant but food didn't really meet my taste. Anyway, overall a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

The hotel is VERY basic, but this is acceptable. The service of the hotel is one of the terrible ones I've experienced.
Heating doesn't work, no hot water all night long and again the staff is not really helping. Please take another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Certainly the worst 4-star hotel in Düsseldorf. This hotel is actually the worst that I've ever been too. If you wanna take a time machine back to the worst side of the 80s: this is the right hotel for you. If you expect a clean and modern 4-star hotel: stay away from the Holiday Inn Düsseldorf! There's a disgusting smell in the air everywhere in the building, the lobby and the restaurant are really run-down, the chairs are full of spots. The spa hasn't been renovated for decades, used towles were all over the place. The rooms offer very old furniture, old tube TVs and fungus in the airing. Breakfast is okay but definately below 4-star standard! This hotel is REALLY bad and disgusting but I rate it with two points (insted of just one) because it's really cheap and the staff was very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Leonardo Hotel Dusseldorf City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Dusseldorf City Center

Address: Ludwig Erhard Allee 3, 40227 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Dusseldorf City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Dusseldorf City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Duesseldorf Hotel
Holiday Inn düsseldorf
Holiday Inn Dusseldorf
düsseldorf Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Hotel Dusseldorf City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.