We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for what it is: eat somewhere else” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Dusseldorf City West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Dusseldorf City West to your Saves list
Novotel Dusseldorf City West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Niederkasseler Lohweg 179, 40547 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 243 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Expensive for what it is: eat somewhere else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Standard Novotel experience. A bit expensive and adequate rather than exceptional.
The rooms are OK, but the bathroom is small, with an uncomfortably small space between the toilet and the wall, where you are stuck behind the door. The combined bath/shower unit is also cramped, and made from a pre-formed plastic moulding, giving a feeling more of cheap motel than of four star luxury. On the plus side, good pressure on the shower (4th floor) and plentiful hot water at all times, but if you use the pressure, it escapes past the curtain, and you find a wet floor when you get out... Sink has the most stupidly designed tap, where the water exits below a horizontal bar, so you can't wash your face without breaking your nose...
The bed was comfortable enough, but too short for my 6' 1" height.
You have to pay for internet connection.
It was unseasonably warm (25°C) but the airconditioning apparently was turned off, and delivered only ambient temperature air, so the room was stuffy. Opening the window was possible, but it was noisy outside.
Restaurant was used for one night only. They got our meals mixed up, delivered one completely wrong, so one of our party had to sit and watch everyone else eating until his turned up. Staff friendly enough, but service was slow from the kitchen, and it wasn't busy. They don't understand medium rare either.
Breakfast was good, with decent selection of cold meat, cheese, excellent bread and a few hot items. Coffee is delivered in a pot to your table, and is not the best. Plenty of fresh fruit, yoghourt, ceral, etc.
The bar was quite lively, and forms part of the lobby. Expensive, but not unexpectedly so. We had a combined bar and dinner bill for a party of 6, and felt we had been overcharged, but couldn't prove it.
I wouldn't rush back to this hotel, but if I do, I'll eat elsehwere. We had several better meals elsewhere in Dusseldorf, at a lower price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    174
    56
    10
    10
See reviews for
76
52
39
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights, and everything was terrible.

They said that it is double bed, actually it is one bed, and the other it is a sofa!!!

The bed it is really small and it is not confortable at all!! the pillow is too old, already smelly!

The bath tub was clogged!! So while I was taking a shower,.. it was forming a swimming pool!!!! Horrible!!

The breakfast it is almost 20 euro... and there was nothing included!!

The worst part... the internet... be careful.. when you buy 5 hours, you have to used straight away. However, they instructed me that we could use this 5 hours within the time we were here.... and when I called saying about that... the recepcionist didnt want to help or do anything!!

my suggest: NEVER STAY HERE!! EVERYTHING WILL COST TO YOU!!

be carefull this is not a 4 star at all!!

Room Tip: Dont stay heree!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford, west yorkshire, uk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My family and I stayed for 2 nights at this hotel, I can not rate it highly enough, very clean, comfortable, the customer service was excellant and the food gorgeous. I would definately stay there again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

my family (2 adults and2 children) spent one night in this hotel in august.
The hotel is ok, as are the rest of the novotel chain. We usually go to these hotels, so we´ve been in some other around the world.
in this case, this hotel, it´s not close to the city centre, although there´s a tram getting you to the city.
Bed for children it´s quite small (narrow9 as my children of 11 and 12, couldn´t sleep properly. Beware of this, it´s not like other Novotel Hotels
We didn´t have breakfast at the hotel, it´s very expensive. There´s a cafe with pastries and bread, just behind the hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Enjoyed our stay of 2 days at this hotel. Good location not far from the airport. Very comfortable room best considered as compact. Unfortunately our visit to the bar corresponded with noisy carpet work going on in the lobby so we had to vacate early as did all customers that evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Dusseldorf City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Dusseldorf City West

Address: Niederkasseler Lohweg 179, 40547 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
#44 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Dusseldorf City West 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Dusseldorf City West is located in the Seestern business centre, 4 km from the city centre and 6 km from the airport and exhibition centre. 232 airconditioned rooms, 11 multifunctional conference rooms, a fitness centre with sauna and steam bath as well as our restaurant with terrace invite you to enjoy your stay at our 4 star hotel. Business and leisure travellers appreciate the transport connections to the Old Town and motorway plus the free airport shuttle in the morning and evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Novotel Dusseldorf City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Dusseldorf City West Hotel
Novotel Hotel düsseldorf
Accor Duesseldorf City West
düsseldorf Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Dusseldorf City West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.