We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Speditionstrasse 11, 40221 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #71 of 242 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Newcastle
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

This is a lovely clean hotel with great service. The location is a bit 'up and coming' but it is right on the Rhine and there are plenty of places to eat a drink nearby. The nesrby Riva bar is modern and trendy for drinks or coffees. We also ate at The Taj Mahaal in the city centre which was brilliant.

The city centre is a 25 min stroll along the bank of the river, or about 8euro by taxi. The airport is 22 euro by cab, and the station about 10 euro.

The hotel is spotless. The staff are warm and friendly and the rooms are spaciouus. There is plenty of TV channels to chose and a fridge in the room. You can buy stuff in the lobby to put in the fridge, or bring in your own.

The breakfast is great with loads of choice, and served till 11am at weekends. It's pricey at 18 euro a head so it's well worth getting a deal where it's included.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    109
    39
    14
    5
See reviews for
14
46
20
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights last year while visiting the Christmas markets in Essen and Dusseldorf.
Room was available at 11:00 am after an early flight into Dusseldorf Weeze airport.
There is a tram stop about 300M from the hotel which brings you to the main railway station. From there you can get the underground to the Altstadt, station Heinrich Heine Allee.
You can get a day ticket which is much cheaper than paying for each journey.
There are plenty of cafes, restaurants and bars in this up and coming area beside the hotel.
Taxi to the city centre costs about €12.
Room was very comfortable, bathroom spacious.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

My wife and I traveled to Dusseldorf recently to close out a European tour. The hotel was very clean and exceeded all our expectations. The only comment I would make would be that the location is away from the city center and there's only 1 tram line that links the hotel to the city center / Hauptbahnhof station. A side from the limited access to public transportation, the area around the hotel is a very up-and-coming area.

Hafen is a commerical / art district with warehouses and new condominums coming online. In fact, a new Hyatt is being built near the hotel. The Frank Gery museum and Rhineturn are nearby and a bunch of new restaurants are cooking up Italian and international cuisines in former warehouses.

The hotel itself if very clean with decent room sizes. There isn't a mini-bar, instead there is a mini-shop next to the business center on the first floor. The room TV was more than 20 inches with channels in English, Italian, and Spanish; on top of the predominant German / dubbed German channels. The room, bathroom, and rest of the hotel is very modern in design.

Finally, the staff were very helpful. They helped us organize our travel between the hotel and the city center and some of them served as waiters/servers. I would recommend this hotel for fellow Marriort reward members and budget minded travelers for business or leisure. Again, the hotel isn't public transportation friendly, but if you're willing to walk a couple of blocks and wait, this hidden gem will please.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

My husband and I and another couple stayed at the Courtyard in the Hafen area of Dusseldorf recently for 7 nights. We had a great stay and enjoyed our time there. The rooms are very good sized compared to most European hotel rooms. The bathroom was a decent size. Not very big, but not too small either. There was a mini fridge in the room, which was a nice way to keep beverages and small snacks available for us.

The rooms were very well sound-proofed and extremely quiet. We never had an issue with outside noise or any sounds in the hallways.

The hotel is in a location that is a bit out of the city center, but is within a very reasonable walking distance to Altstadt. There is a walking bridge over the water and then a walkway along the river and through a park area. It is very safe for walking any time of the day or night and we took advantage of the great weather on most days and walked everywhere. If you don't want to walk there is a cab area right down the street and most cabs into the city cost about 7-8 euros.

Almost all of the staff were very friendly and accomodating. Most spoke very good English and were helpful when we tried to speak in German. We encountered only one staff person who was a bit aloof and not as helpful, but I believe he was the exception and not the rule.

If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel in a nice area of town, but not necessarily in downtown Dusseldort, this is a great location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

This hotel is very nicely appointed with western style conveniences. Everything was very modern. Staff was very helpful; rooms and lobby/restaurant were spotlessly clean; Problem is that it is 1) hard to find, 2) in an area of vast construction, 3) not convenient to anything one would want to see in Dusseldorf. The Old Town area is a 20-30 minute walk, and there is nothing particularly scenic to see during that walk. Walking along the Rhine, is the stadium, and some very avant garde bridges. The main shopping street is a 40 minute walk. Internet access is costly at 3 Euros per hour with the purchase of a 6 hour access card.

  • Liked — American style hotel
  • Disliked — poor location --remote
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

We booked on the marriot website after reading some of the reviews. The hotel was perfect for what we wanted. Quiet location and walk into city for xmas markets. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful and front desk keen to show us on the map they provided where to find the markets. We booked room only so did enjoy the coffee/chocolate/tea and cereal bars laid on in reception for guests. Taxi into city and to rail station about 10 euro's. Good 15 minute walk and probably really enjoyable walk in spring/summer along the river/harbour area.. Bracing in winter though!! Good restaurants around and easy to find a coffee stop if you walk in the right direction. Room was immaculate with the enormous marriot double beds-really comfy too. Quiet location overlooking harbour so sleep guaranteed. Used Julian's restaurant , nice location and got a good meal although thought the wine was overpriced. Staff friendly and helpful whether it was a meal or just a hot chocolate in the afternoon. Nice relaxed hotel and would recommend the hotel and Dusseldorf. Great restaurants and really hearty food.

  • Liked — big beds, nice hotel staff and the free coffee/tea/cereal bars/fresh fruit in reception area.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
470 helpful votes 470 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2008

November 17, 2008 – I had the opportunity to spend one night at the Marriott Courtyard Hafen Hotel in Dusseldorf Germany before the rates went up the next day due to the Medica trade fair. My rate was 130 Euros which included breakfast.

The hotel is located on a pier with water directly behind the hotel and more water across the street on the front-side of the hotel. The morning after I arrived I walked the neighborhood. It seemed like a newer upscale area with many restaurants and even a Starbucks.

Check in was “Marriott fast,” taking about one minute. I received a king room as guaranteed. My room looked out directly on the building next door with no desirable view. The room was comfortable, but not quite up to Courtyard standards in the U.S. in terms of size, décor, and amenities. The king bed was very comfortable. Lighting in the room was excellent.

The bathroom was small, but well equipped and very functional. The water pressure in the shower was very high. The towels and bath amenities were high quality.

I paid to park under the hotel. Parking was, in my opinion, expensive at 18 Euros per night. It was convenient and secure with a key-card entrance into the hotel. There is outdoor parking across the street, but I arrived late and did not see any way to get into the lot.

One of the reasons I chose the Courtyard was that I expected free internet access. There is nothing in the hotel description on Marriott’s web site to indicate that internet service is not free as it is at every other Courtyard that I have stayed in. I thought it was overly expensive at 24 Euros (about 29 dollars) per day. Besides being expensive, the service was not particularly fast. The very high cost for internet service would probably prevent me from returning to this hotel even though all other aspects were great.

Breakfast was included in my room rate and the breakfast was excellent. There was a huge buffet with both hot and cold items, but cooked to order dishes were also included. I had eggs with bacon and toast and a bunch of stuff from the buffet. The service was excellent and very friendly. The restaurant, Jilian’s, is in the back of the hotel and overlooks the canal.

The service that I experienced at the hotel was excellent. I ordered room service for dinner. My meal with a glass of wine arrived within about 15 minutes and the quality of the food was very good. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. When I checked out they asked me where I was going and took the extra initiative to make sure I knew how to drive to the Messe by the most direct route.

I recommend the Courtyard Hafen, but if you need to park and use the internet in your room it will add 42 Euros per night to the regular room rate. Service was excellent and the hotel was very comfortable.

  • Liked — Excellent Service
  • Disliked — High cost of internet service
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen

Address: Speditionstrasse 11, 40221 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen Hotel
Courtyard Hotel Dusseldorf Hafen
Courtyard Hotel düsseldorf
Courtyard Dusseldorf
düsseldorf Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.