We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location big rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harkortstrasse 9, 40210 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Friedrichstadt)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #106 of 243 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Location big rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This was our first visit to this hotel, which we chose based on trip adviser reviews.
Very nice hotel with helpful friendly staff.
Big rooms very clean.
Private car park, central location and a good price.

Main train station just a few minutes walk with easy transport options.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    90
    53
    10
    7
See reviews for
29
44
21
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Having travelled a lot in GermanyI found this hotel to be of a good standard of cleanliness, comfort and convenience. The room was warm and comfortable in December. It was excellent value for money. This is what I expect in most German hotels and I am rarely disappointed. The reception staff were friendly, multi-lingual and helpful when asked. The location is not pretty, a dull side street, but was within easy walking distance of trains, trams and buses. So it was super for getting round the city and for us to visit christmas markets.
Only two minor gripes for the management to address:
1. The hotel folder states that free tea and coffee are available in reception 24/7. When we asked for it there was none available and the receptionist had to put on a machine which would be ready for us on our return, sometime later.
2. On arrival,our room safe was locked and the receptionist did not understand how to re-open it. We have had this situation in other hotels and the staff had been trained to sort the problem.
Nevertheless I would still recommend this hotel for seasoned travellers who simply want clean beds and bathrooms in a convenient location without breaking the bank.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quiet. Trams pass the front and may annoy fussy travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Landing, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel says they have a small parking lot available and we arrived at 8:00PM with no room left; Cristina the the Desk clerk was dismayed for us and found us street parking that was available at no cost until 9:00AM the next morning.
The breakfast buffet for 9 Euros was out standing. Freshly scrambled eggs, juicy sausage, smoked trout,fresh diced fruit, and much much more. Nico our waiter cleared plates and made sure we never exhausted our juice or coffee.
We had come to Dusseldorf to enjoy the christmas market. Some in our party were challenged by long walks and the faire was too far from the hotel fo them; Bogeslav our morning desk person had complete instructions on getting there and sugggested public transit. When we asked if we could move our car into the parking lot and take a taxi to the market, even though we were checking out that day he said sure and asked if he could call the Taxi.

The entire facility was emaculate the rooms were cleaner than many places we've stayed at that were far more costly; the bathroom while small just gleamed with out a water spot any where.
The hall carpet and walls looked recently painted and shampoed.

It was much more than I wexpected, and as others have said, a great value for the money.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for a room as far from the train station as they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel primarily for its location and the name brand. I am usually more adventurous with local brands when I am in Europe but because of the location I chose (near train station), I opted for a branded hotel this time.

1. Location - I planned on using the train a lot this trip and the location of this hotel was perfect. It is about 2 to 3 minutes walking distance to the station.

I had a little bit of concern with safety at night based on what i have read (mainly people around the station) but if you are careful and stick with basic rules of safety, you will be fine. I didn't see these "questionable elements" very near the hotel.

2. Rooms

Cleanliness - very clean!
Size - for a European hotel, it is Ok. Very small for those of us used to Best Western Hotels in the US.
Beds - I read a lot of bad reviews about the beds in this hotel but I was fine. Slept very well.
Peace and Quiet for a restful sleep - well, if you choose to book near a train station, expect trains passing through at night! I heard a few but was not bothered. I expected the trains to come and go!

3. Staff- professional and friendly! They speak very good English too!

4. Breakfast - excellent.

Again, very good value for my money. I would definitely recommend this hotel.




Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londra, Regno Unito
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Let’s say I have some contrasting feelings about the Ambassador Hotel: the place is quite old and a refurbishment would be nice, old TV, carpets all around and very soft beds.
To the other hand I must say: I found the breakfast quite good, the staff was helpful and the price competitive especially compared to other hotel in the same area.
Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Location is good, 2min by foot to Main train station, very convinient for Business to messe, easy access to Koln, 20min by train. The hotel itself is a very old place, rooms are very old but clean and tidy, but in general I just came to sleep and did not spend time in the hotel, single rooms are very small, and with very basic decor, furniture,tv... low standart of Best Western in Germany I can say. When you enter the Hotel in the reception you will feel the cigarettes and old place smell. But its always full during a messe and I heard they charge 200-250 overnight for this I dont know 2 star place. One advantage is they offer a nice breakfast. If you are travelling for business or messe, its fine for 2-3 nights, if you go for pleasure, avoid this place no comfort, fun and smile on your face. and the guy who is doing a night shift when I came back home late he is always playing some warcraft game and better dont ask him anything, he has no interest in his work just dont disturb him:) Other staff is nice the girls working during a day are helpfull and also a guy is friendly ant talkative.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Excellent location for train travel, very close to Dusseldorf main station. This was one of the selection criteria. Good breakfast & good variety even for vegetarians. I stayed there for 6 nights and this was third time since 2009 but no change in interiors. But Service is good and also cleanliness. Wi-fi available in all the room and free of cost. They could have given kettle & tea, coffee in the room. Overall good package.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ambassador Hotel

Address: Harkortstrasse 9, 40210 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Friedrichstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 243 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western düsseldorf
Best Western Dusseldorf
düsseldorf Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.