We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite hotel not only in Dusseldorf” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Karl-Arnold-Platz 5, 40474 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #21 of 243 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My favourite hotel not only in Dusseldorf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

It's my favourite hotel in Germany really ! The situation is amazing in a very green district near the Rhine : you can either walk along the river and reach the old town center within 25 minutes or take the metro line and be there in 5 minutes. The line is direct to the main railway station too. The airport is in reach on the other direction.
The place is lovely with a nice garden and an indoor swimming pool. These facilities as well as the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The rooms are big and functional and everything is done by the staff that you enjoy your stay.
The staff in the restaurant and for the excellent breakfast is very kind and professional : everyone seems to be at his right place and this means that he's at ease doing his job and able to establish a personal and decent conversation - with much humour and independance.
The reception is extremely thoughtful and does almost everything she can when you need an information how to reach cultural signts, even those which aren't currently asked for and they are also helpful with theatre reservations. Because of the great staff at the most important functions, the human atmosphere is unique, not only superficially friendly but really warm and personal, which is quite exceptional for a hotel of this size.
The laundry service is very good too and at reasonable prices !


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Scandinavia, General Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Beatrice D,

thank you very much for choosing to stay at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Düsseldorf and for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We are truly glad to have met your expectations, as it is our aim to make each of our guests feel at home. Our entire team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon

Yours sincerely,
Erich Bänziger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    228
    51
    19
    6
See reviews for
45
95
41
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Nice hotel just across from the Rhein river in Düsseldorf. 15 minutes from the airport, and only 5 minutes by taxi from the city center.
Nice modern rooms, super comfy beds and pillows. Quiet, with a nice little garden where one can eat and enjoy drinks.
A definite plus: the swimming pool and jaccuzzi!
Enjoyed my stay here, great breakfast (with a chef who cooks anything from eggs to pancakes). Definitely coming back.

Room Tip: Have stayed on both the 4th floor and the 6th floor, they're both equally quiet. Try and get a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Scandinavia, General Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Yzjeff,

thank you for taking your time to write your comments on tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure for us to read that you felt comfortable in our hotel that you could enjoy the quality of our bed and completely relax in our wellness area! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback like this. Thank you again for sharing your experience and I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely
Erich Bänziger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beringen, Belgium
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is quite nice, has a good location just outside the citycenter and easy reachable by car. Parking space right next to the hotel, on walkingdistance 10m. The tram stops almost in front of the hotel, for 9€ you have a round trip for 2 to/from the citycenter. We had a business room, which was large and convenient, 1 issue especially for the IT lovers, we had only 1 plug working, so to charge 2 phones and a laptop was a bit difficult. The other sockets only worked with hotel equipment. The bathroom, very good size, rainshower was the best we ever had in a hotel. Airco didn't work very good, at night we had the intention it was automatically swiched off. Bed was not really comfortable. But I have to mention, the frontdesk does an excellent job! We were so impressed by their professionalism and quick reaction on our questions or issues we had, this made us feel very welcome. Breakfast is ok, but to call it a super breakfast is a bit exaggerated, restaurant decor very nice. For those who are interested, closeby is a Vapiano, very much recommended for the fresh Italian cuisine, in total there are 2 in Dusseldorf. We googled and we thought Dusseldorf has several Starbucks locations, but do keep in mind the opening hours if you want to visit one, we have stood for closed doors several times, though the websites mentioned they were open, even 2 Starbucks addresses didn't even exist, you just can be informed.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Scandinavia, General Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Tinnie_N,

thank your for taking your time to post this very kind and detailed feedback. I am more than happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am sorry for the difficulties with the air condition. We are working on improving the entire system and have a far replace the cooling tower and the chillers. We will replace all the fan coils units in the guest rooms in the near future.
At least, you appreciated our service very much. I am truly glad that our hospitality met your satisfaction, I will share your comments with our team. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Erich Bänziger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Hotel staff very efficient, knowledgeable & accommodating. Room spacious, clean and functioning. Breakfast bar was copious & sumptious. Outside eating a pleasure under the watchful eye of the excellent Roland & his staff and was good value. Facilities such as pool, gym & sauna were good. Only downside was that it was a little way out of the city centre attractions but a taxi rank was 20 metres of front entrance & fare was only £7.00!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Scandinavia, General Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Michael D,

thank your very much for taking your time to share your experience about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed and I would like to thank you sincerely for your grateful and positive comment. We hope to see you again soon and to host you as our guest.

Yours sincerely
Erich Bänziger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel is in the business area, however still close to the center 7-10 minutes by metro. One thing that wasn't working is the shower drainage wasn't working and for the price you pay I think it should work properly. For the rest clean and friendly staff.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Scandinavia, General Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear AiliMM,

thank your for staying with us and for sharing your experience.
I am very sorry for the inconvenience with the broken shower drainage. Our mechanics are still here to fix this problem. Thank your for the positive comments about the staff and the cleanliness. We look forward to your next stay.

Yours sincerely
Erich Bänziger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Nice and clean, close to the airport and tram system and the Rhine. Gym area small but functional, nice pool. Not too many eating and drinking choices close by, but the Altstadt is a few stops on the tram

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Scandinavia, General Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear GPDxb,

thank you very much for taking your time to post your review on tripadvisor. We look forward to your next stay.

Yours sincerely
Erich Bänziger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Nice rooms with god bed and bathroom furnishing. Room somewhat small, but acceptable. Parking very expensive for location-16 euros per day. On street parking available. Reception, breakfst all of good standard.

Room Tip: Rooms are all relatively quiet, even those facing the highway in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Scandinavia, General Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear fiolar,

thank you for choosing to stay at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Düsseldorf and for taking your time to write your feedback. We looking forward to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely
Erich Bänziger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf

Address: Karl-Arnold-Platz 5, 40474 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Dusseldorf
#5 Spa Hotel in Dusseldorf
#14 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel will impress you with its fresh, stylish design in attractive surroundings.314 Refurbished rooms give the modern interior design an exclusive, classic feel. Amenities such as air conditioning, flatscreen TV's, high-speed-Internet access and a safe in laptop size come as a standard. The restaurant "ARNOLD'S Grill & Garden" serves light meat and fish dishes on a bed of fresh herbs from the hotel's garden. A drink tastes best when taken in the stylish bar, which has a lounge area and a cosy corner complete with open fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf Hotel
Radisson Dusseldorf
düsseldorf Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.