We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent location, Very 60s retro-look” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaiserswerther Strasse 20, 40477 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Pempelfort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 242 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Decent location, Very 60s retro-look”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Quiet location in a residential neighbourhood, but still relatively close to the Altstadt (maybe 20 min. walk).

Check in was very friendly and personable; I found out that this was a former Lindner Hotel that had been fully renovated and only opened in December 2013 after a year of re-work. I stayed in March 2014, so everything's still new. The style is clearly 60s (Indigo brand), which can make it painful to look down at the carpet while walking.

The room was very nice, the walls full of black/white pictures, the design quite interesting. I found the bed a bit much - the mattress too thick (as in too high) and already had a clear 'favourite' side that people sleep on. The right side of the bed/mattress has a depression, leaving the middle higher than either side. Which in turn makes it very uncomfortable to sleep since this left me rolling.

The bathroom was very clean, no mold anywhere. However the sink had a slight problem which I found by coincidence. The overflow drain just under the faucet is apparently not connected to the drain pipe. I had water in the sink, the overflow drain did it's thing and shortly thereafter the floor was soapy wet.

The room rate was rather decent and the personnel very friendly. Parking was also OK, although not owned by the hotel. EUR 18.00 per night.

I won't rule out staying here again, but I will admit the chance are lower due simply to the location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Indigo D, Manager at Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear 13Mark13,

thank you very much for choosing Hotel Indigo Düsseldorf - Victoriaplatz and for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor.
Great, that you embraced our newly renovated and vibrant designed rooms that much.
Unfortunately the mattress of your bed and the bathroom caused inconvenience.
We can just apologize for all the circumstances during your stay.

We hope you will continue to choose Hotel Indigo for your travel needs.
Kind regards
Katja Schnabel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    31
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
26
5
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The hotel is very new and it shows , the room was big and decorated with cool colors, wall pictures etc. the bed is very comfortable, the room was very quiet ( view on a "park" with a small balcony)
The bathroom is not big but functional. really friendly staff, I had dinner in the restaurant and it was simply delicious with also here very friendly staff. They have a gym in the basement witch is open 24 hours, not big but has everything you need to stay in shape.The location is not right in the center but it's easy to get there i walked in 10-15 to the Königsallle , the taxi to the train station was 12 Euro and by Subway it 's very fast too. I didn't have any expectation but the hotel was a very good surprise and I will definitely return and can recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Indigo D, Manager at Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Sven ZH,

thank you very much for your great comment - we really appreciate it!
We are happy to hear you feel comfortable at our hotel and
hopefully we may welcome you again soon!
Thanks & best regards,
Katja Schnabel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kontich, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This new Indigo is situated just outside the city centre, in walking distance from the Nordstrasse metro station (1 stop for Centre). It's a former Lindner hotel and was acquired by IHG. It's been completely renovated in the true style of the Indigo brand. Different styles on the floors and rooms, modern looking lobby and trendy bar. Unfortunately the hotel wasn't fully finished. (a.o. sauna not ready)

The staff was very friendly but clearly needed to get familiar with the IHG brand and status levels, since the checkin went a bit difficult. (do you want points for IHG? as a question). Another negative point was the WiFi, it was free but you had to enter voucher codes valid for 3 hours. During the 2 days I stayed there I used about 6.

The room was nice and spacious, bed very comfortable. Loved the decoration, the reading chair and the room facilities. Also a nice bathroom and a welcoming drink courtesy of the hotel. Friend of mine had a bigger room with a different setup, which was also very nice.

Breakfast was OK and served in the restaurant/bar of the hotel.
The first day there were too few people in the hotel for breakfast, so breakfast was served à la carte, which was nice. The next day there was breakfast in the normal buffet format, but with eggs and bacon freshly made on request. Appreciated!

The bar is open till 1AM during weekends and offers a wide selection of beverages and spirits. The bar staff is also very friendly and helpful. You can also eat at the bar/restaurant but I did not try it.

You can park your car in the next door parking lot. The hotel can validate your ticket.
If you are there on a sunday please be aware that there's a church nearby so you might be awaken by the bells (around 10AM I think)

In general a very nice hotel with friendly staff and I will probably stay there again soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Indigo D, Manager at Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Mkiverijn,

thank you for your stay in our Hotel Indigo Düsseldorf-Victoriaplatz and as well for your detailed comment.
We are very happy that you embraced our newly renovated and vibrant designed rooms that much.
As all hotels which have just opened, we also have to struggle with one or the other "teething problems" and hope for your understanding concerning our hiccups.
We already changed the duration of an internet login and of course also our employees practice more and more routine in keeping up with all standards.

We promise to do even better in the future.

Best regards
Katja Schnabel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar Es Salaam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights. The hotel is great, rooms that are extremely spacious, clean and nicely done up. We were sharing a room with our 2 kids so they had opened up the sofa bed even then there was so much space in the room. The had put two little teddy bears as gifts for our kids- nice, thoughtful touch! Bathroom had underfloor heating. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast left a lot to be desired and you could tell that they were over-whelmed as there was no place to even sit at the restaurant on 1st January. We were a little disappointed with the location as it was a little far from the underground station, but there was a tram stop close by.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Indigo D, Manager at Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear urvi_devani,

thank you very much for your stay at our Hotel Indigo Dusseldorf-Victoriaplatz.
We are happy that we could inspire you to our newly renovated and colorful room and that we made a nice surprise to your kids.
As you also experienced the new year’s morning was quite challenging for us. Although we offered a time extended breakfast buffet we still had to struggle with the rush hour. Thank you for your patience.
Concerning the nearest underground station – they finally finished the construction last week.
We hope we might welcome you again sometime and wish you all the best,

Kind regards
Katja Schnabel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This Indigo has recently opened and is a must stay if visiting Dusseldorf. Contemporary design with some interesting touches. Rooms are comfortable, well laid out, with underfloor heating in the bathroom. I had a room overlooking the garden with a sit out balcony for the summer. Staff friendly and efficient. Excellently priced breakfast. Location is excellent as it's close to the airport.
Only minor drawback was that there are no lounge computers or business center for checking emails but reception did print out my boarding pass. All in all an excellent stay

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Indigo D, Manager at Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear GraemeShanghai,

thank you for staying with us and posting your great comments.
It is our pleasure to pass your accolade to our team and hopefully we may welcome you again soon!
We are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Sunny greetings,
Katja Schnabel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is recently renovated....has excellent view from rooms. Very close to airport. Took 15 mins in morning & 30 mins in evening. Shopping stores closeby....
Stayed for 3 nights....the rooms are really good.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Indigo D, Manager at Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Ashishhallan,

thank you very much for your great feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Indigo Düsseldorf-Victoriaplatz.
We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.
Best regards
Katja Schnabel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here last week and the 5 star review is for what it can be once the teething problems are solved. Staff where bussy with the opening and somewhat forgot about guests. Reception was OK. They were still finalising supply, laying the last tiles and decorating, so yes, noice and a certain chaos there was. But - I advenure to say that this hotel in very little time will be a gem in the area.
Beds are fantastic, rooms confortable and average size. Fresh decoration. Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz

Address: Kaiserswerther Strasse 20, 40477 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Pempelfort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
#4 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#9 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusseldorf welcomes its first Hotel Indigo! What do you think when you think about Dusseldorf - fashion brands, shopping on Konigsallee, high class lifestyle and parties? We can help you live this high class fashion lifestyle whilst you are with us - lounging on the idyllic garden terrace, enjoying a delicious meal in the restaurant, or why not motivate yourself to a fitness session in our gym. After that you can recharge in one of the saunas before clubbing the night away. We also offer you the opportunity to settle down in one of the 126 new air-conditioned rooms with custom designed furniture and plush bedding, all in a sophisticated, colourful design with a lot of attention to detail. Use our free wireless high-speed Internet to stay in touch or order from our 24-hour room service and let the evening go by while watching an exciting movie on our 32 inch LCD TV. Your Hotel Indigo is located centrally between Messe Dusseldorf, renowned for its international fairs, and Dusseldorf city centre. Major fashion brands show their collections on Kaiserswerther Strasse. Staying at the Hotel Indigo Dusseldorf - Victoriaplatz means staying in the middle of the fashion mecca. The Hotel Indigo Dusseldorf - Victoriaplatz looks forward to welcoming you . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindner Rhein Residence düsseldorf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.