We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have been Hotel Beyer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novum Hotel Maxim Dusseldorf City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novum Hotel Maxim Dusseldorf City to your Saves list
Novum Hotel Maxim Dusseldorf City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fuerstenplatz 3, 40215 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Fuerstenhof Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 242 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Should have been Hotel Beyer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I feel I am writing a review on the wrong hotel. I had booked a night for myself and two boys in the Hotel Beyer through Booking.com but when we arrived there was a sign on the door saying the hotel was closed and to ring a number. There was NO notice from the Hotel Beyer and in fact I had emailed the previous day to book a car park space and there was NO mention of the change from them. Think it would have been polite so that we could have made other arrangements if we didn't want to stay at the Fuerstenhof.

Care when booking a car parking space. It costs €10 per night. We weren't told when we booked.

The hotel itself was ok. Cost £80 for a night for a twin and a single room which is good value. Location is central and breakfast was satisfactory. Overall ok place but just cross because of the change and no one told us. Have a suspicion that they are both owned or connected in some way.

Would I stay again. Yes but just bear in mind that it is BASIC and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    24
    9
    12
See reviews for
8
21
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I transferred to this hotel from another , the hotel far from every thing but OK due to kind of that Greek lady at reception WiFi only in reception , Good breakfast , big room , kind staff - acceptable stay at Dusseldorf

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC USA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Someone wrote that it took 15 minutes to walk to the HauptBahnhof. I'm a slow walker and it never took me more than 10 minutes. I stayed 4 nights at the hotel and was pleased with the friendly staff, and cleanliness of the room. The breakfast was really very good, too. The downside was the terrible Wi-Fi connection. You had to be in the lobby to receive it, but even then it only worked half the time. This has been an on-going issue for the hotel, and the staff told me there were no plans to change the system. You absolutely cannot count on using the Wi-Fi at this hotel, and this made it very hard for me to stay in touch with business associates and family. The location of the hotel is safe, even when walking late at night. The rooms are smallish, but for the price it was very reasonable. The heat in my room was excellent, and quite controllable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I was there for the annual wine fair. Hoping it was close to the station and to the center as pubblicized on the site. It is not. It took me a good 15 minute walk (i walk fast) to get to the station and 20 min to the center. The room size was ok, but the bathroom was small, and after having mentioned that the light bulb was burned I remained in the dark for the remaining two nights I was there.
The blinds do not block the light completely so I suggest you bring a sleeping mask.
The breakfast was scarse. Not much of a selection and the 2 ladies working the floor were not extremely corteous, (I was taught that if you work with the public, the least you should do is smile!). If you arder an espresso coffee, be preparaed to be charged extra.
The website mentioned free wi fi en suite.
This is not true. The wi fi did not work at all, and I was invited to work in their conference rooom which is on ground floor near the entrance. The problem is that I could not concentrate, because peoplle kept enterening and exiting the hotel making it difficult to carry oon a confference call via skype or concentrate on writing and repllying to e-mails.
I was told that thy would call the technician, but they never did.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here overnight for as I work in Dusseldorf and live quite far away.
Excellent Value, rooms are clean and warm, shower works well.

Reception staff was friendly and spoke English.

Would stay here again.

Hotel is well located close to the 707 and 708 stops so easy access to the Media hafen and close to the Train Station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel recently.. It has funny shaped rooms full of dust.. When you go up the stairs you see linnens and dirty towels all over the floor in front of the stairs you have ti jump over them.. At check in we specifically asked for the wifi code as we needed Internet for business.. We were put in a room on the 2nd floor where we couldn't pick up any wifi signal, receptionist then told us the connection on the second floor is not very good... When we wanted to change the room to a room on the 1st floor, receptionist was very rude and started pulling faces as we used the bed in our room.. No apology or assistance offered for the room move and yet we were called liars as the receptionist thought the previous room was clean otherwise we wouldn't have got a new room!!! (Even though we only used the bad and told him that at the time) even if what he claimed was true customers should never be treated this way.. For the hotel management I didn't catch the name but this receptionist was on duty in the afternoon of 28th! He definitely needs to go on a customer service course.. This is from somebody who has been in the hotel industry for over 10 years...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

From the moment we arrived until our reluctant departure 4 days later, we were treated like family guests. All the staff from front desk, the bar, the restaurant and housekeeping were impeccable with their service and welcome. A beautiful and stylishly old hotel with old world values. Rare these days. Our room was spacious and very clean. Both the food and drinks were exceptional. It was a quiet time of year but none of the staff appeared bored. Well done on magnificent management! We will certainly recommend this hotel in Australia.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novum Hotel Maxim Dusseldorf City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Maxim Dusseldorf City

Address: Fuerstenplatz 3, 40215 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Fuerstenhof Hotel)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 242 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Maxim Dusseldorf City 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Maxim Duesseldorf responds with its central location and filigree decor for both business and leisure travelers. Find out the charm of this city situated alongside the river from our hotel in Duesseldorf, where elegance and comfort meet in a most appealing way. All rooms are very comfortable and tastefully decorated. Here, discerning guests will feel happy here. The rooms are equipped with free Wi-Fi internet access and are therefore particularly suitable for your business trip to Duesseldorf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, Budget Places, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novum Hotel Maxim Dusseldorf City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuerstenhof Hotel düsseldorf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novum Hotel Maxim Dusseldorf City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.