We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful around the station area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf

Save Saved
You added Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Immermannstrasse 41, 40210 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 241 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Be careful around the station area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The quality of the fittings etc in this hotel illustrate how it was once a very high end option - it is however all just a little tired in parts now though and despite new lifts, carpets etc it just looks a little dated and uninspiring - especially in the bed rooms. Mini bar fridge in room but no contents - these had to be pre- ordered or requested to be stocked - fine if you know you are going to wake up at 4am and need a bottle of water -not great if that wasn't your plan!!!! Walked to the River for food (20 -30mins) but originally took a wrong direction and ended up by the station. This was an area crowded with winos and drug users and not one sight of a policeman - please be careful around this area!!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    190
    144
    56
    36
See reviews for
43
106
58
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Soenderborg, Denmark
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel room was very clean, even the carpet was unusually clean for a hotel, which was really nice. Unfortunately, this is the only nice thing I can say about this hotel, which we staid at this weekend. The room was clearly needing renovation and quite a bit smaller than the room size stated on our reservation.
The concierge staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. My husband called the hotel to confirm with them that we would be arriving late at night. He was told that they had seen the note on the booking so he was wasting their time and besides they didn't care what we did, since our credit card details had been logged, so the hotel would get paid even if we didn't show up... total lack of customer understanding... We asked for directions the first day to find the nearest U-bahn station and got a long, very fast explanation. When we asked to get the directions repeated while looking at a map, we were simply handed a map and left to sort it out ourselves. Very unlike a Japanese hotel, where the staff is usually extremely helpful and polite.
The elevators were not working part of the time, so everywhere there were signs to use the service elevators, which were dirty and smelly.
Lastly, one day I was back at the hotel for a nap when suddenly someone from the staff let herself into our room. When she saw me she offered my coffee or tea and then left when I declined...? wondering what her business was in our room midday after cleaning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_nikko_dus, Manager at Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear deadlylittlemiho,

so sad to hear this. Please let me assure you, that this is not the kind of service standard we as a Nikko hotel subscribe to.
Most probably you will have met a so-called checker in your room. As you youself noticed already, we take big care of clean guestrooms. After each housekeeping visit, a checker would test the room in regards of accurate cleanliness. Guess that's why you saw somebody in the afternoon. Of course no staff would enter the hotel rooms without any reason!

Kind regards
Ken Dittrich
(General Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came late and they upgraded us to the suite. I didn't catch that until we locked in. Wow, it was so big and cool. I had to take a bath in the big bath tub.

The hotel is close to all the Japanese restaurants, cafes, supermarks. Best hotel to stay in if you love Japan.

I have stayed in this hotel earlier too, will 110% choose Nikko hotel again. The breakfast was also so delicious. Simple but with quality.

Thanks to Nikko hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_nikko_dus, Manager at Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear jannicke79,

wow! Thank you so much for your kind rating of our hotel on Tripadvisor. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you again in the near future! Your review really made my team's day!

Kind regards
Ken Dittrich
(General Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were staying for 1 night in this hotel and it was great! The personan is very friendly, the location is great 5-10 minutes by foot to the main train station, 10 minutes to the city center, near are bus statios, subway and tram! The price was also good! I higly reccomend this hotel to everyone

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_nikko_dus, Manager at Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi Ayka2707,

Thank you so much for your kind rating of our hotel on (website). I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind regards
Ken Dittrich
(General Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Absolute first rate. Such friendly and fun staff! THey all seemed to eenjoy their work, had a good laugh/joke/conversation. great location and found our way around easily. One thing I have never seen... in their rooftop pool/sauna (fantastic by the way) there is a button that starts an underwater jet so you are in effect swimming against the tide. I thought that was really cool.

Room Tip: whole place was spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_nikko_dus, Manager at Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Wilf,

wow, so good to hear! Hope to see you again very soon!

Kind regards,
Ken Dittrich
(General Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht Province, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

It's an average hotel, location is good, so for a night or two it's ok.
Breakfast buffet is good, but only if you can get a 50% discount for it, otherwise too expensive.

You have to pay extra for internet, a day voucher is 25 euros. In my opinion it should be free for guests.

We really liked the burger restaurant across the street. All fresh ingredients and they have home made lemonade :)

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the inside of the hotel. It was difficult to get the room dark at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_nikko_dus, Manager at Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Geri,

thanks a lot for taking the time to rate our hotel.
So sorry to hear you feel our internet charge is expensive, but still we orient ourselves to the average prices on the local market. Anyway, we are working on a more user friendly solution!

Hope to see you again very soon anyway!

Kind regards
Ken Dittrich
(General Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaatsheuvel, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

For Japan Day in 2013 we spent a night at this beautiful hotel. We stayed in a businessroom, which was very spacious with a sitting area (almost a separate room), a bedroom and a nice bathroom. Unfortunately we didn't have dinner here because arrangements were made for us at a Japanese restaurant.

Very nice hotel! Where we're going to Dusseldorf again, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_nikko_dus, Manager at Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hello siejoepuntnl,

thank you so much for your 5 star rating on Tripadvisor. I am so happy to read that you were happy with your stay. I hope you will come and visit us again very soon - and then also try our Japanese restaurant Benkay with its authentic Japanese cuisine!

Kind regards
Ken Dittrich
(General Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf

Address: Immermannstrasse 41, 40210 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Dusseldorf
#46 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Hotel düsseldorf
Dusseldorf Nikko Hotel
Nikko Dusseldorf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.