We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it's standing & class” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Luisenstrasse 42, 40215 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 242 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Brasschaat, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not worth it's standing & class”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I booked this hotel because I wanted to be close to the Königsallee and the alststadt, and still pay a reasonable price. I payed a reasonable price, but the room & hotel were not worth this price!

The hotel is situated very close to the prestigious Königsallee, but it's neigbourhood is quite different. There's noise from the big street nearby, and the neigbourhood is gray and unfriendly.

The hotel itself looks old and dated. There's no big entrance, just a small hall and a small desk. We stayed 3 nights, and never saw anyone in the hotel bar. We used it ourself, but the choice of drinks is very small, and there's no cosy atmosphere.

The corridors of the ground floor and our floor were old, dirty, with different types of carpet in 1 corridor, carpet that looks old and dirty.

The room was really below standard. We asked for a non-smoking, but the corridor smelled like smoke and there was a cigarette stain on our bathroom sink....
Again, different types of old, used carpet in our room.
No toiletries, apart from 2 soap-dispensers. There was a card that indicated you could get some things from reception, but ofcourse that means you have to go downstairs.
No robes in the room either. I expect these kinds of things when I book into a nice hotel!

The towels were hard, not nice for drying yourself. During my stay, I always had to take a bath, because whenever I would try a shower, I would get cold water instead of warm.
The soap dispenser ran out of soap during my first shower. Our toilet paper was never refilled, so during our last day, we ran out of toilet paper (while being on the toilet ....)

The bed had had it's best time, but it still slept okay (apart from the noise outside).
There was a trouserpress and a big fancy tv, but they did not add to the value of the room.
The wallpaper was torn or gone in some places, and a broken smoke detector was openend, and still next to the new, working one... Net very nice when you're on the bed looking at the ceiling. All the lamps were covered in dust, and I actually found hairs in the bath tub upon arrival.

There was a possibility to make tea and coffee, but we came as a couple and there was only one cup, so once again had to go downstairs to ask for another cup. There is no room service, axcept for a small vending machine in the lobby (really now?)

There's free usage of the minibar (YAY), but oh no, there's only 4 small soft drinks in them. Hardly enough when 2 people come back after a day of shopping!

The dustbin was dirty, clearly had not been cleaned for a few months.

If I have to compare this hotel, which was close to the Königsallee, and the one we were last year, which was a 20min train-ride away, and for which we paid 150€ less, we would DEFINITELY go back to the first one. That one was perfect, beautiful, and excellent for winding down after long day! This hotel made me want to stay in town as long as I could!

I do have to add some positives: the staff is extremely friendly and will tend to your every need. It was my boyfriends birthday during our stay, so we were treated to two small bottles of prosecco during our breakfast, that is very nice!! Everyone of the staff we spoke (except one) spoke very good english and were perfectly capable of explaining anything we wanted. Secondly, the breakfast is very good. A lot of choice (not too much choice), good food, good diversity and enough variation. Very nice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GC_Hotel_DUS_Koe, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Robin,

First I would like to thank you so much for your detailed and honest comments about your impressions you collected during your stay in our hotel.

I'm really glad that the friendliness and our breakfast buffet met your expectations and that our employees could make your stay a bit more comfortable.

Unfortunately we know that the condition of our hotel and our water system are in need of a renovation and we are really happy to inform you that we just started the refurbishment of our hotel in December so that we will have a newly renovated hotel this year. The first floor will be finished soon so that we can see the first milestone during the next weeks.

Concerning your comments about the cleanliness I immediately discussed all points with our Housekeeping Manager and we planned more detailed trainings for our housekeeping employees to avoid such incidents.
Also on behalf of our Housekeeping Manager I would like apologize for the inconvenience caused and would like to assure you that this is not our standard.

To save the environment we decided to bring only shampoo- and soap-dispensers to the standard rooms. Very often the bath amenities have to be thrown away when they are not used as they do not look quite presentable because the guests open it without using it etc.
In our superior rooms and our studios you will find toiletries prepared in addition to other amenities like:
- bathrobe
- slippers
- more free of charge soft drinks in the minibar like Coke light, beer, orange juice etc.
- and free usage of the nearby fitness centre "Fitness First"

Dear Robin, I really hope that I can welcome you in our hotel during your next visit to Düsseldorf to convince you of our service and to show you our renovated hotel.

Best wishes from Düsseldorf,

Anne Wichert
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    95
    48
    17
    8
See reviews for
12
59
41
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon tyne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Reasonable priced hotel, situated not far from shopping district. No complaints, a nice touch was the free soft drinks and water in the mini bar.
Accessible for the Christmas markets all within walking distance

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GC_Hotel_DUS_Koe, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear MattHarte,

we read your comments with a lot of interest and would like to thank you for taking the time to give us an honest review about your stay in out hotel.

I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay with the small amenities like the free of charge soft drinks in the minibar and that the friendliness our our employees made a difference in your stay.

It will be a pleasure for me and my team to welcome you during your next stay in Düsseldorf.

Best regards,

Anne Wichert
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

we have just returned from a 4 night stay in this hotel, and we loved it. The staff all had excellent english and they were so helpful and always greeted you with a smile. our room was spotless as was the rest of the hotel. The location is brilliant, just a five minute walk to the start of the Koenigsallee and about a further 15 minuets to the old town where there are lots of restaurants and bars.we decides to take a trip to Koln by train and it was no trouble for a member of staff to direct us to the train station and to print out return time tables.There is a mini bar with soft drinks and water which is free of charge and is replenished every day.Also on checking out we were given a bar of chocolate which is a lovely touch. we will stay here again on our return to Dusseldorf

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GC_Hotel_DUS_Koe, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Denise,

it is a pleasure for me too see that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and that we achieved our aim to create a "WOW"-effect!
The most important thing for my team and me is that the guest will leave our hotel with a happy smile!

We also have more good news for you: we just started our refurbishment yesterday and it would be wonderful to welcome you during your next visit in Düsseldorf also to show you our newly renovated hotel.

Best wishes from Düsseldorf,

Anne Wichert
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

for a one night stay in Düsseldorf you may opt for this hotel. The central location is a strong argument. The furniture and design needs a serious up-date but for a single night you'll overlook these details. The service was friendly with the exception of the night: we had to wait 10 minutes before someone opened the hotel, it was quarter pas midnight.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GC_Hotel_DUS_Koe, Manager at Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear borsch,

Thank you very much for your honest feedback about your stay in our hotel.

I'm really glad to inform you that we got the chance to build up 3 mock up rooms during the last weeks and we stil contend with our management to get the needed refurbishment as soon as possible.

Concerning your tip about our night shift we are really sorry that you had to wait in front of the hotel. Our night auditors have to make 2 security rounds and they have to close the door during this time. Because of that it could sometimes take some minutes till the night auditor can open the door.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you during your next trip to Düsseldorf.

Best wishes,

Anne Wichert
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very nice location and very comfortable stay. But I particularly emphasize that; the employees of this hotel, all of them, are really very kind and helpful people. This hotel should be awarded with a "best employee" special award.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GC_Hotel_DUS_Koe, Manager at Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Baris D,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment concerning our service and especially the friendliness of our team.

It is a pleasure for me to see that we achieved our aim to create a "WOW-effect" and that we could make your stay a special one.

We really hope to welcome you in our hotel during your next trip to Düsseldorf!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were only two nights in Dusseldorf and found this hotel to be very conveniently located to the big shopping district and the Altstadt (about 15 minutes from both). We saw mixed reviews however the staff was very friendly and accommodating, and although I speak German, their English was excellent. Our room was very nice, clean and quiet. We did get a room on the Luisenstrasse side and I'm not sure if that makes a difference for noise (previous reviews mentioned something about noise but ours was extremely quiet). We did not partake in the breakfast option (additional fee) and there are many restaurants close by. This hotel was perfect for us.

Room Tip: As mentioned, request a room on the Luisenstrasse side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GC_Hotel_DUS_Koe, Manager at Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear RickAngBC,

it is wonderful for us to see that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and that our service and the friendliness of my team made a difference in your stay.

Every review is a chance for us and we would like to thank you that with your honest comments you give us the chance to achieve our aim to create a WOW-effect for our guests.

We hope to welcome you during your next trip to Düsseldorf!

Best regards,

Anne Wichert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee

Address: Luisenstrasse 42, 40215 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 242 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Central Duesseldorf
Four Points By Sheraton Central Duesseldorf Hotel
Four Points Central Dusseldorf
Four Points düsseldorf
Sheraton Dusseldorf
Four Points Dusseldorf
düsseldorf Sheraton
düsseldorf Four Points

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.