We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the Money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Dusseldorf Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Dusseldorf Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Dusseldorf Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Noerdlicher Zubringer 6, 40470 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #67 of 243 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Edinburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good for the Money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Situated only 8 tram stop to the city centre ( tram # 708 from dusseldorf HBF) the hotel was extremely pleasant upon arrival ( it was a very long arrival p.s NEVER FLY WITH RYANAIR TO DUSSELDORF WEISZ ITS CLOSER TO AMSTERDAM THAN DUSSELDORF) The hotel staff were extremely friendly and offered us an alcoholic refreshment whilst we awaited our room keys, which was a very nice touch, the room itself was plain more a more than adequate base for our 3 night stay in the city. The room has two full sized double beds , tv with few English channels, and an en suite bathroom with hairdryer ( not a very strong 1 but good enough for men or short hair) The food was average , not fantastic but certainly more than enough to full you before a day adventuring the old town. The only downside was the pool area. placed at the very top of the hotel , all parties have to change in very small changing areas ( M/F separate facilities) and once in the swimming gear, you have to walk back through the main pool reception area , past all the other hotel guests and staff then into the pool area, (N.B pool area is for OAP water games in the AM) , but all in all was a nice stay, not very much around the hotel as a whole, but there is a pub/restaurant round the corner, a shell garage open 24/7 and a mcdonalds that has a nifty ordering computer services to prevent the awkward broken English/german farce than will no doubt insue unless ur fluent in german ( bcoz there not fluent in English) the best place to visit is the "oldtown" with most pubs clubs and restaurants in this area (again N.B everywhere bar the clubs and pubs are shut on a sunday)

Room Tip: Anything to the left of the building , away from the busy mainroad
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    168
    68
    31
    5
See reviews for
56
88
29
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mons
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We're Marriott Platinum members, so probably a little biased. 2nd stay at this hotel. Price is usually pretty good for a Marriott. Location is a little outside of town, but it's a 300m walk to the tram and 10 minute ride to the Altstadt. Restaurant is nice with good food; breakfast is huge and excellent. Pool up on the 7th floor has great view over the city & plains. Staff are all friendly and spoke English. Parking garage under the hotel. Nothing spectacular, but nothing to complain about, great spot for a weekend city break.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

The other reviews are pretty accurate. The hotel is short on charm and a bit faded. But it is clean, quiet and comfortable. There is nothing close by except a street car stop, but that 's enough. It's about 18 Euros from the airport by taxi. I was quite happy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I spend one night in this hotel as I had an early flight from DUS.
Here are some remarks about the hotel.

Reception: A warm welcome, spoke with 3 different receptionists. All were very helpful and fluent in English. (They couldn't hide they were no native speakers but they mastered the language sufficiently to do a proper conversation and help you in every way)

The Room: We got upgraded to the executive floor (6th floor). I don't know if these rooms are different from the others. It was a spacious room with a retro-look. There's still the old school TV, a radio integrated in a cabinet (remember the days you found these in all hotels :-)) and a wicker chair.
The room offered all the comfort you needed. Mini-bar, snacks, bathrobe and slippers, a good selection of coffee and tea and a wide selection of amenities in the bathroom. (a big plus!)
The shower was working well. Steady temperature and enough pressure for a steady beam.
If you're hoping for some evening snacks or cocktails if you're staying on the executive floor, forget it, there's no lounge in this hotel and I was surprised there was no wine in the room either.

The bed: We found the bed was quite hard. It's not comparable to the Marriott bed you have in the US. We had a good night sleep but if you cannot sleep on a hard bed you may need to avoid this hotel.

Parking: Parking seemed huge. No problem at all finding a spot (even separate parking spots for women). Direct entrance to the hotel. Parking is 10€.

We didn't have breakfast or dinner, prices for bfast vary from 19€ to 24€.
The full menu of their restaurant is online.
http://restaurantsummertime.de/restaurant/hotels/hotel-information/travel/dusrn-renaissance-duesseldorf-hotel/menus.asp

To wrap up: This room was worth it's price (around 68€). The room indeed is old like many already said before me but the service and amenities you get are still in line with what you would expect from a Renaissance. Price for the parking is I think the cheapest of all Marriott hotels in Dusseldorf.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunoon, scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We got a good price for this very nice hotel, but had to pay €10 a night for parking the car, and we had to pay for Wifi. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was traditionally furnished, clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was included in our rate and was very very good.

Staff advised us how to take the tram into town, even sold us tickets €9 for a four-way ticket, ie two adults there and back. They supplied us with leaflets and also lent us a brolly.

We had a pleasant stay for two nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel isn't your typical Renaissance - especially non U.S. Renaissance. It is fairly bare bones, but the beds are still nice. Not much updating has been done in a long time. But the front desk personnel were wonderful and helpful when it came to making train plans. I'm surprised they didn't have some sort of breakfast as most non-US locations do. There is no gym and the pool isn't particularly welcoming. It's nice, but the desk personnel make it seem like you are intruding.

The location of this hotel is not for tourists. You are near nothing. Best thing is the Shell station across the street. The one italian hotel on the corner is not good. There are no others. You are near a tram stop, but far from the main train station. There is literally NOTHING else in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Ok the hotel is a little bit dated with faded grandeur but we thoroughly our stay here. The reception staff were very welcoming and friendly . Our room was a bit dated but it was extremely clean and had everything we need for our 3 night stay.
Breakfast was very good and set us up for the day .
It took us a while to work out the tram system but once mastered , travel into the city and the old town was very easy and as we had a welcome card it included unlimited travel from the tram stop 2 minutes away
There's not a lot to see around the hotel but maybe it was quiet there as we traveled over the Easter holidays

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Dusseldorf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Dusseldorf Hotel

Address: Noerdlicher Zubringer 6, 40470 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Dusseldorf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Marriott so you can book your Renaissance Dusseldorf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Dusseldorf
düsseldorf Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Dusseldorf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.