We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could have breakfast here everyday.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bastians Backer Dusseldorf

Bastians Backer Dusseldorf
Carlsplatz 24, 40213 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt)
+49(0)211 8639264
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #255 of 1,421 Restaurants in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Altstadt
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wish I could have breakfast here everyday.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

We found out about Bastians in a local guide only bad thing was the said it was located on Rhine. It was on the corner of square, near the market. But it was so worth the hunt. It was so busy that we thought we would not get a table. But the staff are so efficient we were soon seated. Our waitress was lovely she saw that we were struggling to decided the German menu and suprised us with an English version. The choice was impressive. Between what the 3 of us ordered it as a banquet. Completely set us up for the sightseeing. Food was fantastic all the bread, cheese and meat were fresh. I feel hungry just thinking about it again. This banquets with coffee was about €10 each but well worth the price we didn't eat again till about 5pm. All the staff were friendly and the service was impecible.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    33
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Place to Enjoy Coffee & pastries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Bastians is very close to the Carat hotel & I very much enjoyed their coffee & pastries which are daily baked in same place.
I often go out with. Take away of fresh bread & pastries to enjoy later in my hotel room.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A civilized way to start the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Bastians serves a good breakfast which really isn't all that remarkable - but yet it is. Freshly baked bread, good coffee, boiled egg and nice cold cuts and cheese. That's something you should expect everywhere. But still in practice it is very rare unless you are willing to pay a lot of money. You get a perfectly civilized start to the day.

Take your brewery halls, your pillekitch and outdoor tv-screens with boozy football crowds - Bastians is what makes Dusseldorf a nice city to visit

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Excellent.. save room for dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Bastians has become a regular with my colleagues and myself We often come here after business meetings for lunch. The food is excellent - the goulash soup I particularly recommend. Make sure to keep room for dessert; they have a great selections of cakes etc. Only downsides: service can be a bit slow, and they don't take credit cards.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

This place should be in the top 10 places to go in Dusseldorf! The food and the atmosphere is amazing.. with service as usual failing a bit and being on the slow side. Since you can soke up some sunshine in the meanwhile or chat away over coffee in the meanwhile it did not bother us too much. Would highly recommend to come here for breakfast or cakes and coffee. From the amount of people coming in for take away it also seems very popular with locals which is always a good sign.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bastians Backer Dusseldorf also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Bastians Backer Dusseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastians Backer Dusseldorf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.