We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dine Japense resturant in Düsseldorf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Okinii

Okinii
Immermannstr. 35, 40210 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Stadt-Mitte)
+49 0211 1609958 0
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 1,382 Restaurants in Dusseldorf
Price range: $36 - $143
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadt-Mitte
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fine dine Japense resturant in Düsseldorf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Düsseldorf and its surroundings have the third-largest Japanese community in Europe and the largest in Germany ; If you are in Düsseldorf then defiently you must be looking for fine Japnese resturant, Okinii is one of the nice Japense resturant ;

The resturant is staylish with young croud, the resturant have class ambiance, The food quality and taste is maintained well. With in 3-4 rounds you will feel full. There is gap of 15 minutes between each sushi Menu.

Being a tech guy i was imprssed with the technology in place in the resturant , you dont have to wait for some to take your order, you just select the menu on app from the iPad on the table of yours.

In case if you are going with friends i will suggest not go for the Bar option, only suitable for couples.

Please do advancing booking 2-3days or week earlier if you dont want to end up at bar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    82
    38
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Must be careful at what time you go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have to start by saying that the place is really nice, the food is delicious and the service is also good. And then I must say "but"... The restaurant advertises a type of buffee where you can keep ordering food within certain limits for 2.5 hours. We have made our reservation online and a reservation time at 2:00 pm was possible. We took this as we wanted to have a late lunch. When we got there, it turned out that the kitchen is only open until 2.30 pm and we need to be ordering really quick and we should avail of the possible 2 rounds under the circumstances (you can order again 10 min after your previous order) immediately. That was our first time here, we didnt know the menu so it was really rushed and random ordering. Then all the food came and we figured it may be a bit too much but at least we can enjoy it slowly. Yet, not really. In a few minutes the waier came to inform us that the restaurant is closing at 3:00 pm and we should eat quick. We did ask why a reservation for 2 o'clock is possible when not only the kitchen but also the restaurant close in an hour. There is no note in the website or when you are making the reservation that at this time you will be only able to avail of partial service. So be careful at what time you make a reservation so that you don't end up swallowing your food and not being able to enjoy it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monza
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“only if you love the "all you can eat"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was there as attracted by the stylish place, with lots of young people. Being in the japanese are, was expecting more quality in the food. The japanese food is good, but let's say in the average of the thousands of others restaurants. The quantity/price was ecceptional, quality/price good, mainly due to low price than high quality.
Anyway, orders are done by i-pad contorlled software, nice experience. That's it.
Good if you want to go in young place with some move.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassel, Luxembourg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A bit noisy but good food and frendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

All you can eat with a maximum ordering of 4 items per person per 15 minutes. You order with the Ipad you receive from the waiter.
The food/sushi quality is totally comparable with what we had in most restaurant when we visited Japan. I never saw a all you can eat with so much choice for such a price!

The Ipad ordering system is really fun. The kids loved it.

The staff was really friendly and did the best effort to speak English.

For my taste, the only pain point was the noise in the restaurant but this is nothing comarated to the fun we had there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
“Roman Emperor Lucullus would probably be jealous of this food feast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

A fantastic all-you-can-eat sushi bar. Unique concept and excellent tasting experience. I guess that even the Roman Lucullus - famous for his banqueting that the word lucullan now means lavish - whould really be jealous of this feast.
You have to book on-line a table. Upon arrival you are provided with an iPad that has the menu in an application. You are allowed to order 8 dishes per person for lunch and 5 pieces per person during dinner time. Since we were 5 persons for lunch each “ordering –round” could have up to 40 dishes. But take care … Every dish can have more than one sushi “pieces”. You can place a second order after 20minutes. We over-did it with 3 ordering rounds (~100 dishes) due to misunderstanding and eager to order as much possible before the kitchen closing down time. There is a charge-penalty if you order more that you can have ... and this is very reasonable, in order to control wasting food. We really felt sorry for our greedy behavior. Approx. 30 EUR per person including excellent “sakerinia cocktails” (Caipherinia variation with Sake) and a well deserved generous tip to the super-friendly and efficient waiter.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okinii also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Okinii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okinii, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.