We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury without service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Parkhotel Duesseldorf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Parkhotel Duesseldorf to your Saves list
Steigenberger Parkhotel Duesseldorf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koenigsallee 1a, 40212 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 242 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Luxury without service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We booked in this hotel into a 540 Euros suite because it was a last minute need.
We got a spectacular suite, way too much for what we wanted, but it was the only deal in town because of a fair.
Unfortunately the service level is not up to snuff for what you would expect from this hotel.
When we arrived I requested from Housekeeping a blanket and was told they did not have any (!?). Next morning I spoke with the receptionist who told me that of course they had and 5 minutes later it was in our room.
But the best story happened in the bar. My wife didn`t feel well and wanted a toast with butter and jam. The waitress said that this was impossible. It is interesting to know that there was a club sandwich on the menu which is toast stuffed with something. When I complained, the supervisor came and first corroborated what the waitress had said. Surprised I expressed my disappointment that a 5 star hotel can not manufacture a toast. The supervisor said he would see what could be done. After a while he came back saying that OK they could do it but it would take some time. After nearly half an hour a sandwich arrived with chicken, coleslaw and cucumber!
To the credit of the hotel , the director,who was hearing my complains to the receptionist, approached us and invited us to a coffee listening to what we had to say. The next evening we saw him and some other authority walking over and over the service areas looking at what was going on.
It is also worthwhile to mention that when you arrive a bottle of water for Euros 5,40 is waiting for you. Also you get free Wi- Fi, that expires every 30 minutes. Round the corner is the Breidenbacher Hof which not only gives you far better service and attitude but provides you with a room fridge with beverages free of charge, free water and a lounge with free coffee and drinks all day.

Room Tip: We had an enormous suite which is something you most of the time you don`t want to pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    72
    36
    14
    5
See reviews for
22
51
18
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is one of our favorite hotels in Europe and definitely in Germany. Great service, Great location and Great rooms. Staff and service is very pleasant, personal and professional. Great location between the old town and Konigstrasse (Dusseldorf's prime shopping area) just behind the opera. U-ban stop just outside the hotel. Great rooms, comfortable, very tastefully decorated excellent lighting and spotless. Breakfast is an excellent assortment of foods and drink in a delightfully cheery room. This is definitely our choice when we are in Dusseldorf.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

great hotel ... and finally .... a voiturier ...
At least this is what we thought when we got there in our brand new car . And because we didn't want to take chances with our freshly bought four wheeler we decided to let her being parked by the hotel . The next day we were surprised to find our car , in front of the hotel ... on the street ... and with a parking ticket ! 20 euro's down the drain ?
very strange practice for such a nice hotel . Pitty because this ruined the marble bathroom , splendid bed , and friendly reception ...
What did we learn : do never pay them to park your car in the street !

Room Tip: the staff will tell you which rooms are best , they are good at that ! just don't leave your car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

the restaurant of the dusseldorf steigenberger parkhotel is marvellous in quality as well as in service. I will definitely stay there again, as the stuff is freindly and knows about the need of the guests and as the kitchen is seasonally and regionally top.

The whole hotel is now in a very proper mode bedause the renovations are now over (seems so) and so there is modern chic in a traditional house best situated in the middle of Dusseldorf.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

A five star plus hotel on the Konigsalle {top shopping}street, Also not far from anything else in Dusseldorf.

Breakfasts 5 star with Champagne{if you feel the need} and everthing else you can think of.
Artiste Menu so good....... and top quality

Staff perfect what more can you say.... you can even request the time you would like your room made up.


Perfect!!!!

Room Tip: A room over the park is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Wonderful experience. Lovely staff, charming hotel, top notch service. Room service was delicious ... And the wait staff were very friendly and polite.. Safe for a woman traveling alone. Beautiful location off Konigsallee ... I highly recommend!

Room Tip: I was upgraded without asking. Lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This week 1 night in this 5 star hotel in Dusseldorf. The hotel is recently renovated and the results are very nice Our room was nice, renovated, but for a junior suite very bad situated.
The organisation was not as we had earlier in Steigenberger hotels. The service in the hotel are mostly too young persons which are unexperienced. We felt that they like to work, but they did not had the right training to service in a 5 star hotel. The extra bed, we had to ask 4 times until 2 young girls came and try to make up this bed. Also in the restaurants (terras and breakfast) the service did not know what they had to do. FINE TUNING is here very necessary.
A nice 5 start hotel with good restaurants, only the staff is not 5 star at all. So be aware of that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Parkhotel Duesseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Parkhotel Duesseldorf

Address: Koenigsallee 1a, 40212 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Dusseldorf
#18 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
#30 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Parkhotel Duesseldorf 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steigenberger Parkhotel at Konigsallee 1a, known in short as the KO, is one of the best hotels in Dusseldorf. Being situated only a few minutes away from the city's famous historic centre, the luxury hotel with its spacious rooms and exceptional service leaves nothing to be desired. And on the culinary side your palate will be pampered at the highest level. Fine dining with a view of the KO Bogen from the Restaurant Artiste, champagne and finger food in a trendy pub, the Steigenberger Eck, and the newest cocktails in the famous Etoile Bar. You can relax in the fitness and wellness area, or while jogging or walking along the Rhine terraces. The spacious, historical halls are the perfect location for high-class occasions such as weddings, jubilees and important conferences. The opera house, the theatre and museums such as the K21 or the Museum Kunstpalast are also located not far from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Escapio, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Steigenberger Parkhotel Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Parkhotel Duesseldorf düsseldorf
Steigenberger Parkhotel Duesseldorf Hotel düsseldorf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Parkhotel Duesseldorf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.