We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but expensive!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roberts Bistro

Roberts Bistro
Wupperstrasse 2, 40219 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Unterbilk)
0211-304821
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 1,384 Restaurants in Dusseldorf
Price range: $0 - $29
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Unterbilk
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good but expensive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We went for a lunch in Roberts Bistro. Nice place to sit down and relax, have a coffee or enjoy lunch/dinner in a not-so-cheap neighbourhood. Good was tasteful and good service but don't expect to pay less than 10 euro!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    48
    15
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great and DIFFERENT food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

It would be a great coincidence if one walked into this place by chance, since it is off the beaten (tourist) path. A local friend took us here and it is very much worth the visit. Great variety of very special and unusual dishes - liver, different duck dishes, great aioli with some dishes, etc. They do NOT make reservations and do NOT accept credit cards. Very busy during lunch and dinner, but try for a late lunch or early dinner, I would recommend between 2:30 and 6pm. They have some large tables and people are used to having strangers join them at their table.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This was the best meal we had during our 4 days in Düsseldorf.

Roberts Bistro was recommended to us and it did not disappoint. We were advised to go early as no reservations could be made and it usually filled up fast.
So, we arrived at about 7pm, and were given a choice of table. We chose a little table for two, but the adjacent table was only a few inches away. However this in no way detracted from our dining experience.
Service was excellent, and our water and wine were brought promptly.
The food was excellent and the portions were huge. We only ordered one dessert between the two of us, and could barely finish it all.
The cost was quite reasonable: A bottle of French Entre-Deux-Mers was priced at €17.30. My full Dorade (sea bass) with vegetables and potatoes was €20.50. Well worth it!

But charging €5.90 for a bottle of water was a bit expensive.

We thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of this restaurant and would highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing food! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The food was amazing (we ordered the lamm carre)! Not only the meat but also the side dishes were delicious!
The wine we ordered was actually bellow thee expectations, a Rioja crianza. Having lived in Spain for 3 years I know you can have way better wines for a reasonable price!!
The desert was also good, and it is a huge portion, we shared btw 2 people and still left some!
The only thing to have in mind is that the place is small and crowded and you always end up sharing a table with other people!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food, funny atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Great food, great menu, very good wine selection, fresh oysters... Sadly always a weird nouveau riche crowd there...

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roberts Bistro also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Roberts Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roberts Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.