We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy modern hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf

Save Saved
You added Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Huelserhof 57, 40472 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 241 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Prague
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cosy modern hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We've stayed in Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf in October 2012. The hotel itself is very modern. Our room was spacious, with large bathroom. Room and the bathroom were perfectly clean. Bed was wide enough with many pillows, the room was absolutely quite. I really liked the modern cosy interior design, it was a pleasure to spend time in the hotel. The only thing, what could be better, was the bathroom lighting. For women it could be way too dark, the light around the mirror was too weak and casted shadows, it made makeup applying uneasy:) The breakfast buffet was good, the recetion stuff was nice and helpful.
The location may not be very good for those who don't travel by car - the hotel is far from the city centre, public transportation is very limited. This was the only disadvantage.
If I ever go to Düsseldorf again, I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Standard room was perfect, I recommend the rooms on the east side, as you can watch sunrise through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    66
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
30
66
10
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

If you are EVER traveling to Dusseldorf for business or pleasure...I recommend you stay here!! The hotel first of all is beautiful.....the rooms are unbelievable....contemporary, stylish and so large!! My husband and i had an amazing time, in fact we want to go back and spend the weekend there. The other thing there that is IMPECCABLE is the SERVICE!!! As soon as we walked in they took our name and within 5 minutes had our key ready.....very nice, pleasant and so very friendly....and they ALL spoke English. When we had to reach some places that the directions were not clear, they printed maps for us and showed us how to get there!! KUDOS TO THIS HOTEL!!! LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!!! THANKS VAN DER VALK, DUSSELDORF!!

Room Tip: Book online @ hotels.de for great prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 6-7 times now and I keep going back. The hotel is only 10min to the airport by car and 2min from the motorway exit so if like me you're looking to get in late and away early it's the perfect location.

The rooms and general decor are very modern and clean. I love the power shower in the bathroom. On my most recent stay I discovered the free sauna/steam-room on the top floor which is great for relaxing.

On the negative side the restaurant service is a little random. Most of the time it's prompt and attentive but when crowded it can be frustrating slow. The breakfast buffet is better than most hotels I've stayed at in Germany but I don't like the machine-expresso coffee. If you're looking to get into Dusseldorf it's a bit of a hike (20min by car).

Room Tip: Gym upstairs has a great countryside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Was here for a client meeting. The outside of the hotel is unspectacular but inside it is modern and very stylishly designed. The service is attentive, efficient and polite. Any request made during the meetings was answered immediately. The rooms were spacious, bright and spotlessly cleaned.

The hotel is very convenient to the airport but it is at least 10-15 minutes from the main areas of the city. The soccer stadium is close by.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysore, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great place to stay, spacious room and bathroom with bath tub and shower.... Main room has wall to wall glass on two sides.... Limited bus service to the city centre, have to hire a taxi to reach the train station / airport or the city centre, my package did not include breakfast hence had to pay 16 euros for a breakfast...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Van der Valk Airporthotel Dusseldorf in April 2012 when we went for a short weekend shopping vacation in Dusseldorf.

The location was about 10-15mins by car from the city center and the area surrounding the hotel was quiet and unassuming. There wasn't much traffic to and from the city center and that is a great plus point. Parking within the hotel is free and there is ample parking space in a covered garage in the back.

The interior of the hotel is modern and sleek and everything looked amazingly maintained. I particularly liked the cozy feel of the lobby and the lift lobby each level of the hotel had a little 'Dutch' touch to it that made it special.

We had a problem upon checking into the room as the pipe under the sink was broken and the toilet has not been cleaned. We called the reception a few times and finally got a room change after they sent the plumber and he confirmed that the pipe was not repairable immediately.

The room and en-suite bath was spacious, clean and well maintained. Loved the jacuzzi function in the bathtub! And the spa and relaxation area in the hotel was excellent with spacious and clean steam, sauna and solarium rooms. There were even small foot bath areas that reminded me of spas in Asia. The spa itself is reason enough for a revisit to this hotel!

Some of the hotel staff were all friendly, helpful and professionally courteous. One staff even apologized to us when we had to sidestep a pool of orange juice on the lobby floor! There was good breakfast spread too.

The only thing that was a little negative was that the staff on duty for the breakfast buffet were not as friendly or courteous as the reception.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

If I have to summarize my stay at Van der Valk hotel, I would name it "spoiled".

Great designer hotel with spacious extremely well maintained rooms, a more than decent fitness area for a hotel, very friendly and helpful personnel.

If anything to improve, maybe the dinner carte diversity, but very little place for improvement on breakfast.

During morning rush hour the only two elevators may be a little hassle, specially if you stay at lower floors,

For those planning to use the place as starting point for Duesseldorf city tours, access might be limited only to taxi or car.

All in one, a place I would anytime return with pleasure

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf

Address: Am Huelserhof 57, 40472 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 241 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Airporthotel Duesseldorf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.