We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal, great service in the Altstadt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Altstadt restaurant

Altstadt restaurant
Berger strasse 16, Altstadt, 40213 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt)
211325228
Improve this listing
Ranked #167 of 1,386 Restaurants in Dusseldorf
Cuisines: Argentinean, German, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Altstadt
New York
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Good meal, great service in the Altstadt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We came here for lunch after failing to secure a table at Uerige, and we were very pleased. The room was in need of a bit of freshening, with a German Tequila Sunrisey vibe there. The menu was a nice mix of Germanic classics and Croatian-hybrid dishes, and the Altbier they served, Schlosser, was an outstanding complement to our meals.

I had the pork cutlets with peppers and onions on a skewer with potatoes, both of which were excellent, while my wife had a perfectly breaded schnitzel. For this, it was a tick below 50 Euros, which was more than fair for a meal this good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    47
    20
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Varied choice, excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We ate here twice this week it was that good.
a great varied menu, from rack of lamb (Which was excellent), to Ostrich (Cooked to perfection) and mixed grill.
The portions are not large, so it mean you can indulge in applestrudel or go for Escargot as a starter. Excellent Croatian red wine. The only slight negative is the 2nd night, the food was more salty (Seems to be a dusseldorf thing, salt on everything).
The service was prompt, professional without being over the top.
Highly recommended, you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great eating place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

5 of us descended on this small restaurant what a fantastic place food beer and service were all excellent I went for the rack of lamb this was to die for.
I would recommend a visit if you are in Dusseldorf I will defiantly visit this place again

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in the heart of Dusseldorf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We ate here on Friday 14th December and chose this restaurant mainly because it looked warm, cozy and inviting.
Arrived at the restaurant at 7.30pm and there was a queue of about 10 people in front of us. Everyone was seated withi 15 mins.
The menu choice is large and the portions are enormous.
If you like meat then you will love this restaurant. I had one of the many pork dishes and my wife had one of the schnitzel dishes. The beer was good and the wine was tasty and well priced.
The service was excellent and I highly recommend this restaurant

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great meal & ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a great meal. The pig hock dish is outstanding.
Comes with potatoes and sauerkraut. Good prices, good
beer and very nice Riesling. I highly recommend if you
want a very good meal while in Old Town and very good
service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altstadt restaurant also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Altstadt restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altstadt restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.