We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and decent meal for a good price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of IM GOLDENEN RING

IM GOLDENEN RING
Burgplatz 21, 40213 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt)
02 11/875 503-33
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #321 of 1,382 Restaurants in Dusseldorf
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Altstadt
The Hague
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
“Good and decent meal for a good price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Good and decent meal for a good price. The service was fast and adequate.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    26
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Padova
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Good quality german food/atmosphere - slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

If you are looking for typical german food, then this is the right place to go. Located in the Altsadt, not far from the main street so you can have dinner and then go for a good walk into the bar zone !!
The atmosphere is very good and quality ok but the service can be pretty slow especially if during trade show periods.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you want to be treated like you don't matter, eat here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Many tables were fighting for the attention of wait staff, who would not even make eye contact. Food is, at best, just ok. Wait staff excused themselves by saying the owners do not staff properly. From where I sat, the owners didn't do several things properly. Skip this one.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A dissatisfying second visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

We came back to this restaurant in the centre of Dusseldorf, since pretty satisfied about the first experience. Unfortunately the second one was not at the same level.
The waiter was rude: when our friend asked him to have a particular drink, he replied aggressively “Did you find this drink in the menu?! No! Then why are you asking?”
As well the dishes were not of our full satisfaction: my salad was with a particular sauce with broccoli, which was not indicated in the menu and since I am not a “broccoli lover” you can understand that I eat it with effort. As well the sauce of the dish taken by my fiancée was quite strange.
My friend took as well a dessert called “Rote Grütze”: the vanilla brought with it was far away from its name.
Now we have a doubt: was the first or the second visit an exception?

  • Visited April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not smoke free”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Visited in January 2011 and sat in the main bar area which is non-smoking. In the corner was a table of four, three ladies and one man. At least two of the ladies were smoking, when I asked the Waiter if this one could smoke in this area he said "No". I then looked over at the corner table and he shrugged and said something in German which I roughly understood to be "the lady of the house" - I presume the owner. So, it would appear that some people feel that the law does not apply to them and also have no respect for Customers sitting in a non-smoking area!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IM GOLDENEN RING also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to IM GOLDENEN RING? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IM GOLDENEN RING, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.