We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Famosa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Famosa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Famosa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kolnerstr. 30, 40211 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Stadt-Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 242 hotels in Dusseldorf
Bend, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Service was fantastic - really friendly, accomodating & helpful staff! My room was great - decent size, fairly basic, but very nice, with a comfortable bed & a big patio (bonus!). About 10 minute walk from train station & about a 20 minute walk to downtown... At first I thought it was too far to Alstadt, but there is shopping all along the way & it felt very safe, even late at night. There is also a market just a couple doors down, which was terrific to have nearby. Great value & will absolutely stay here again if I get back to Dusseldorf!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    45
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
18
23
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed here last year and this visit was equally good (my only ever 5* rating). Perfect cleanliness, simple but good facilities, private bathroom on the floor, no breakfast for 35 euros a night. Its about a 7 min walk from the central station, not the greatest location. A 20 minute walk to Konigsalle, 25 min to the old town, or just walk to the station and take the reliable metro.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overveen, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Arrived on Saturday afternoon roughly around 1400. Left the car in front of the hotel (on the street). We checked in and the owner immediately asked to go to the upfront reserved parking as we spoke or to do later. As the car was on the street we decided to do right away and the owner guided us to a parking spot located behind doors (so safe). After that he informed us that the 2 of us got the biggest room of the hotel (as he said you can play soccer in). Obviously quite doubting but when we arrived at the room it was indeed the room at the attick with yes (6) beds and the space was huge. Room basic but very clean, big flatscreen, WIFI for free so what more would you need.
Walk to city center is very simple and roughly 15 minutes, the water front would take 20 minutes.
Breakfast was until 10 Sunday morning but after a night out we slept in so arrived for check out at 1030 at the reception. Again the owner was there (does he sleep anyway?) and told us, well you guys are indeed late but breakfast is for sure still possible. We enjoyed the breakfast, rolls, eggs, yoghurt, all you would need and after that we left with a great posistive feeling. Professionally I've been in so many business hotels wher they pretend to have service; the Famosa Hotel has even more; Service with a capital S.

Room Tip: Nothing to add other than please assure yourself that your vehicle needs to have an Umwelt sticker i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel is very close to the centre and it is only minutes away fromthe main station. The staff at the hotel and very helpful and friendly, in fact they helped us us the interenet to locate the funparks close by. Rooms are well cleaned aswell. The breakfast is also sufficient to start of the day with. We where 8 of us divided into two rooms and it really is a very good and ideal hotel to visit if you had to go to Dusseldorf :) Thank you

Room Tip: All rooms are the same so any will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The location was really great - a 10 min walk from the train station, from the shopping street or from the old town. The staff were very helpful. Indeed small rooms with no A/C and a bit noisy if you keep the window open but clean and comfortable for a couple of nights stay. TV programs only in German. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in July.
Great location on edge of city centre. Good value for money. Rooms basic but clean. EXCELLENT value breakfast (only 5 euros) with a great selection of food.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, FL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We needed accomodations for 3 and I looked for places that had beds instead of couch. The room was clean, big, and the beds were comfortable. The parking is very secure and next to hotel.There is no AC so we had to sleep with the windows open, which is no problem except for the noisy street that is on. It is not the best part of town but we never felt unsafe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Famosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Famosa Hotel

Address: Kolnerstr. 30, 40211 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Stadt-Mitte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 242 hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Famosa Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Famosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famosa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.