We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Duesseldorf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Duesseldorf to your Saves list
Melia Duesseldorf
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Inselstrasse 2, 40479 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #38 of 243 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“It's a hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here for several nights while traveling on business in September. First, the good. I requested a 9am check-in, as my flight from the States landed very early. That request was granted. Thank you! Was greeted with fancy dessert plate in the room the first day and then fruit/chocolates the second day, then no more treats, so I'm not sure if I got one too many treats or two too few. Liked the nepresso machine in the room. Liked the bathroom and huge closet. Decent mini bar. Taxi stand right outside hotel. I opted for purchasing breakfast with my room rate, and, while it was expensive, the buffet breakfast each morning was quite a spread. See photos-- which only captures part of it. FYI, you can order a cappucino if you don't want plain coffee-- just ask. Hotel is next to a nice park and near the river. Easy to walk to restaurants. Decent bar in the hotel. For the less than good-- inconsistent maid service and turndown service. Also, this is kind of weird, but I didn't like the sheets. May have been a 50/50 blend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    184
    64
    10
    9
See reviews for
20
154
29
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hongkong
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have a wonderful stay a Melia. Early check-in around 11am, quiet room with garden view, super comfy bed and very clean room. Washroom is very spacious, if there's a shower curtain then would be perfect. Hotel location is great, near a park, walk thru the park and you can reach altstadt around 10minutes on foot. There're millions of restaurants and cafes in the altstadt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed in this hotel few times already and every time I was happy with the overall experience I had.
Hotel is located next to very nice park.
Rooms are nice and furnished with style. The hotel is very calm and quiet which is quite unusual given its size.

Room Tip: Ask for a park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We chose this hotel from other Tripadvisor reviews and we were satisfied.

The property is located across the street from the Hofgarten and is an easy 10 minute walk through the park to the historic old town area and river walk. We arrived and were lucky enough to get one of the few free parking spaces on the street in front of the hotel. The location allowed us to walk to all the sights we wanted to see and we didn't use the car again until we checked out.

We enjoyed spending a morning in the sauna that's located in the gym/spa area of the hotel.

If you plan on eating the breakfast buffet at the hotel I'd recommend signing up for a Melia reward card since you'll get 50% off.

During our stay we did not encounter any problems and we'd stay here again if we are ever in Duesseldorf.

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed here on business earlier this year. Staff were pleasant and efficient ad more than willing to help with queries.

The hotel room was lovely, tea/coffee facilities were available, unfortunately I couldn't work the coffee maker ( probably user error!). I was really impressed with the bathroom.

Unfortunately during my stay the hotel was experiencing intermittent power cuts which although frustrating couldn't be helped.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

No tea or coffee facilities in the room only a mini bar you had to pay for. Breakfast tables dirty staff in no rush to clean them up. Had to ask 3 times for 2 coffees before being served.Pillows not comfortable they had a pillow menu but unless your staying more than 1 nite ur not going to now!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This place seems very new, close proximity to the city center. Another chain attempting a "formula" lower-cost boutique hotel approach. Rooms were spacious, well-appointed. No bathtub, just a standalone shower (thankfully) in a well-appointed modern aesthetic bathroom. Choice of pillows on a menu (...just wish the choice was more "feather or down; soft, medium or hard, as opposed to all the affected descriptions). Some lack of attention to detail- sides of the bed had small but noticeable tears in places. I had asked that the air conditioner be examined, as it was hot in Dusseldorf at the time, and the room was not cooling. No response until hours later when I went down to the front desk and made the request again.

Exiting the elevators on the room floors, the hallways are pitch dark until a motion sensor flips the lights on. I'm all for being green, but this leaves the place almost feeling abandoned (last time I felt like this was the Holiday Inn in Sarajevo).

Restaurant was closed- food for dinner instead made available in the bar. Mediocre burger with too much mayo. Breakfast was very good and varied.

Given the rate I paid, excellent value. Key objective for management is not to have this property deteriorate fast, as properties of this build quality sometimes do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schluechtermann, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melia Duesseldorf, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience about your recent stay at the Meliá Duesseldorf.

We are pleased to read that you appreciate our price-performance ratio.
I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay.
We have informed the heads of departments in order to ensure a better handling for the future.

In order to fulfil our guests´ wishes, we not only offer additional services, but also guestrooms which are equipped with a shower or/and a bathtub. All wishes of our guests are taken into account when allocating the rooms.

Please rest assured that we are constantly aiming to provide the best possible service and to keep up the good quality of our product.

If you have any questions or any queries, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.

Kind regards,
Lennart Schluechtermann
Guest Experience Manager – Melia Duesseldorf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Melia Duesseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Duesseldorf

Address: Inselstrasse 2, 40479 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dusseldorf
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
#26 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Duesseldorf 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Melia Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Duesseldorf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Duesseldorf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.