We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value, Seems Like a New Property, More a 3-4 Star Business Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Duesseldorf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Duesseldorf to your Saves list
Melia Duesseldorf
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Inselstrasse 2, 40479 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #34 of 243 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence 2014
United States
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Very Good Value, Seems Like a New Property, More a 3-4 Star Business Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This place seems very new, close proximity to the city center. Another chain attempting a "formula" lower-cost boutique hotel approach. Rooms were spacious, well-appointed. No bathtub, just a standalone shower (thankfully) in a well-appointed modern aesthetic bathroom. Choice of pillows on a menu (...just wish the choice was more "feather or down; soft, medium or hard, as opposed to all the affected descriptions). Some lack of attention to detail- sides of the bed had small but noticeable tears in places. I had asked that the air conditioner be examined, as it was hot in Dusseldorf at the time, and the room was not cooling. No response until hours later when I went down to the front desk and made the request again.

Exiting the elevators on the room floors, the hallways are pitch dark until a motion sensor flips the lights on. I'm all for being green, but this leaves the place almost feeling abandoned (last time I felt like this was the Holiday Inn in Sarajevo).

Restaurant was closed- food for dinner instead made available in the bar. Mediocre burger with too much mayo. Breakfast was very good and varied.

Given the rate I paid, excellent value. Key objective for management is not to have this property deteriorate fast, as properties of this build quality sometimes do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schluechtermann, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melia Duesseldorf, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience about your recent stay at the Meliá Duesseldorf.

We are pleased to read that you appreciate our price-performance ratio.
I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay.
We have informed the heads of departments in order to ensure a better handling for the future.

In order to fulfil our guests´ wishes, we not only offer additional services, but also guestrooms which are equipped with a shower or/and a bathtub. All wishes of our guests are taken into account when allocating the rooms.

Please rest assured that we are constantly aiming to provide the best possible service and to keep up the good quality of our product.

If you have any questions or any queries, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.

Kind regards,
Lennart Schluechtermann
Guest Experience Manager – Melia Duesseldorf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    174
    58
    10
    6
See reviews for
19
141
30
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The location is only about a 10 minute walk to downtown, but right in front of the park, and the way to downtown through the park is quite pleasant.
Rooms are very confortable, 2 extra pillows in the closet, wich I love, very well mantained and comofortable design.
The Gym is very good, and it has a section for saunas, humid and dry, that is exelent.
We didn't have the breakfast, since it was 20 euros per person, but if you go out of the hotel, and walk the oposite direction to the park, when you hit the main comercial street (about 2 to 3 blocks) there is a Kamps, that had several choices for breakfast.
The service was always cordial and welcoming.
The town itself is small, but very nice and you can enjoy good food and nice bars and coffe shops. You don't need more than 2 days to enjoy it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schluechtermann, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melia Duesseldorf, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for publishing your feedback online.
It fills us with great pleasure to read that we met your expectations regarding our location as well as our services and our guests comfort.

We would be pleased to welcome you back in our hotel on your next visit to Duesseldorf.

In the meantime, if you have any questions or any queries, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.

Kind regards
Lennart Schluechtermann
Guest Experience Manager – Melia Duesseldorf am Hofgarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Excellent buffet breakfast, worth every penny. Nicely decorated room, very relaxing stay. There was a number of option I didn't use (pillow menu...), but a nice touch anyway. Very good value overall. Quiet area.

Room Tip: There is a park facing the hotel. Room facing it should be really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schluechtermann, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melia Duesseldorf, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear guest,

we are very pleased to read that you had a good time at the Meliá Duesseldorf and we want to thank you for sharing your feedback.

We would be delighted to welcome you once again at the Meliá Düsseldorf or in any other Meliá Hotel worldwide.

If you have any questions or queries, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.


Kind regards,

Lennart Schluechtermann
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Duesseldorf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
@ home
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

It is in a brilliant area of Dusseldorf to visit the Altstadt, which is a 10 minute walk through a nice woodland park.

The staff were cheerful and curtious, the parking was sufficient, and the rooms were clean and adiquate, not that we spent much time there, as we were out enjoying all that Dusseldorf had to offer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schluechtermann, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melia Duesseldorf, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Meliá Dusseldorf.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed our rooms and appreciate our location. Our staff always aims to provide our guests a friendly and high quality service and we are very happy that we met your expactations.

If you have any questions or queries, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time.

Kind regards,

Lennart Schluechtermann
Guest Experience Manager – Melia Duesseldorf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed here with my wife and we chose the junior executive suite on the top floor, complete with small balcony. It was for a special occasion so we wanted a nice room.

We were early for check in, 12.30pm. We thought we could leave our bags if the room wasn't ready. Check in is 3pm here. Our room wasn't ready, but she said it would be only 30 minutes. We left our bags and went to get lunch returning an hour later. She then informed us it would be another hour. We were a bit annoyed to be told this after being told 30 mins to begin with and now two hours since we checked in. It had started to rain heavy at this point so we decided to sit it out in the lobby. An hour later my wife asked about our room only to be told it still wasn't ready and they were not sure whether it would be ready for 3pm either! The general manager then got involved and she handled it very well. If we knew at 12.30 it would not be ready until after 3 pm we would have stayed out longer and done something and not come back to the hotel. I think the manager understood this, as did the sheepish looking receptionist who originally told us 30 minutes and was keeping very busy with other guests!

When we finally got to our room it was well worth it. It was fitted with new and clean furnishings. It was a great size and the bathroom had a bath as well as a separate shower. There was a dining table with some fresh fruit on there. Complimentary bottled water. There was a mini bar for you to purchase further items. The view from the 10th floor was wonderful. You can open the windows and there is standing room out there on the balcony. The bed and large TV were very good.

We received a turndown service in the evenings and the housekeeping was very good.

I found the location to be good in a quiet neighbourhood and across from the Hofgarten park. There is a very convenient U Bahn stop Nordstrasse just around the corner from the hotel, which is great for getting to Hauptbahnhoff and the airport.

I found the hotel and staff to be very good during our stay, in spite of the fiasco at check-in. It would not stop me from staying here again, especially in one of executive suite rooms, which offer good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schluechtermann, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melia Duesseldorf, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comments on your stay at the Meliá Düsseldorf. We really appreciate your time and effort.
I would like to apologize sincerely for the inconveniences on your day of arrival.

Please rest assured that we take our guests comments seriously and your comment prompted us to hold another Front Office meeting in which we discussed this internal miscommunication.
Our aim is to provide our guests a high class service and comfortable rooms and we are very discontented about the fact that you had a long waiting time due to the wrong information given to you.
We are pleased that you had a great time during the rest of your stay at the Melia Duesseldorf and we want to thank you very much for commending the friendliness of our staff.

We would be delighted to welcome you once again at the Meliá Düsseldorf.

In the meantime, if you have any questions or any queries, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.


Kind regards

Lennart Schluechtermann
Guest Experience Manager - Melia Duesseldorf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Modern, efficient and friendly hotel 5 minutes walk from Dusseldorf's main shopping area and old town. Appreciated helpfulness of staff, quality of breakfast and centrality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melia Duesseldorf, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay at the Melia Duesseldorf. We are very pleased that you had a good time and enjoyed the city of Duesseldorf.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Should you have any questions or any queries, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.

Kind regards

Lennart Schluechtermann
Guest Experience Manager - Melia Duesseldorf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Meliã is located right at the Hofgarten, a beautiful park that you walk through to get to the city centre. You're there, but you're not really on the big trouble and noise. Perfect.
The rooms are nice and well-equipped, only the Internet is a problem, very slow and not suitable for VPN or work. That's a pity in a 4*sup!
Spa is OK, but missing a Swimming Pool. The Sauna area is nice though. Very clean and cosy.
Breakfast is amazing, great choice and good quality.

However, I was disturbed on check out day today for 6 (!) times even though I had announced and clarified with reception that I was going to check out at 1pm. How could they not communicate the to the housekeeping. Instead, they woke me up, and walked in 5 more times after that till I checked out. Unbelievable. But I hope, a one-time-thing for them and an honest mistake.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melia Duesseldorf, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear guest,

on behalf of the team of the Melia Duesseldorf we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel facilities and are glad to read that you appreciated our breakfast buffet.

Regarding our internet, we offer our guests two different types of internet connections. One is complimentary with a slower connection rate and is not appropriate for example for downloading big amounts of data. The other one is a high speed connection and is being charged. In our premium guestrooms, as well as in our suits the high speed connection is included.

If you have been using the high speed connection, I really apologize.
In case you should experience a similar situation, please be so kind and inform our members of staff in order for us to take appropriate actions with our internet provider as this is not acceptable.

We would also like to apologize for the inconvenience on your check-out day. There has clearly been a mistake within the communication chain. Our aim is to provide our guest comfortable rooms as well as exclusive service. I assure you that this miscommunication does not comply with our standards. We would like to thank you for your feedback as it supports us in improving ourselves and our services.

If you have any other questions or ideas for improvements please do not hesitate to contact me at any time.

Kind regards,


Lennart Schluechtermann
Guest Experience Manager - Melia Duesseldorf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Duesseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Duesseldorf

Address: Inselstrasse 2, 40479 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dusseldorf
#20 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Duesseldorf 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Melia Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Duesseldorf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Duesseldorf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.