We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beer and Schweinshaxe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brauerei Schumacher

Brauerei Schumacher
Oststrasse 123, 40210 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Stadt-Mitte)
0211-828902-0
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 1,377 Restaurants in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stadt-Mitte
pittsburgh
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Beer and Schweinshaxe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is a local place and you have to get used to the flow of things. The service was very efficient here and they automatically bring you another one of their beers. German food very excellent. The cooked pork knuckle was very tender.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    285
    59
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Torino
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Delicious Pork!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Nice location for this very typical German restaurant.
Food is delicious - I had the famous pork meat and I can tell you it was soooo tasty. Served with potatos and salad, a perfect match.
And how not to mention the home made brewed beer...?!?!? Very very tasty....it goes down so easily...(and waiters know it very well....no time for you to finish a glass and the following is already on your table...).
Last thing to mention is the dessert - apple strudel is amazing, so very delicious!
Prices are well in line with service and food offer, I would say that's a very good place for an informal dinner.
Two cons (easily overcome) -> 1) menu is only in German....so be patient when you go thru it; 2) the restaurant is in a very anonymous and somehow "bad" area...there is nowhere to walk after dinner so if you plan to enjoy a cup later, or a beer, no way but taking the car and drive again.
Very last thing: it's very difficult to book a table, especially if you're not German! I tried calling at the restaurant but the lady whom I talked to told me that reservation was not allowed. Well, once got there, table next to mine got a reservation for 8 people (german surname of course) even though nobody showed up...! :-) Anyway there are plenty of sits...and in case it's packed, just get to the bar for a beer while waiting...
Apart of that, I would warmly recommend this place!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

I had visited Schumacher a year or so back, the ambience, food (especially the roast leg pf pork) and the home brewed beer was to die for!!!! It was an unforgettable experience and will strongly suggest a visit if you are visiting Dusseldorf.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Good food - we had the roast pork of course - and good beer. A pleasant atmosphere. Well worth a visit and the prices are quite reasonable too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great beer and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I ate here twice last weekend. My wife and I arrived late on Friday night and just stayed in the bar for some drinks. We ordered frikadellen and reibekuchen to eat at the bar and they were very good. Couldn't get in on the Saturday evening, it was packed. All those locals can't be wrong. We went back on the Sunday evening for dinner in the dining hall. Schweinehazen with mash potato and saurkraut, apfelstruddel for dessert, washed down with their own Altbeir and some really good reisling. What more could you want?

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brauerei Schumacher also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Brauerei Schumacher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brauerei Schumacher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.