We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Etap Hotel Dortmund West

Save Saved
You added Etap Hotel Dortmund West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Etap Hotel Dortmund West
Provinzialstr. 92, 44388 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 55 hotels in Dortmund
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We got what we were looking for. Inexpensive room within reach of the Dortmund City. Of course you cannot expect first class service in a self-service hotel, so with a clean room a comfortable bed we were more than satisfied.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    62
    30
    8
    7
See reviews for
22
36
40
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

We were in a group of three families staying in four rooms for three nights. The automatic check in worked fine. Our room stank of tobacco even though it was supposed to be non-smoking. Bed and toilet facilities acceptable for a budget hotel but bear in mind its nowhere near what you would see in a Travelodge or Premier Inn etc in UK. There was no noise from the adjacent motorway but every word anyone said in the corridor could be heard. Of concern was that the fire exits on each floor were not alarmed and being used by guests as a short cut to the car park. Breakfast is as basic as it gets. Overall, the hotel is okay just as a place to sleep but if you have any problems outside working ours then you are stuffed as reception is unstaffed.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed one night as a stop-over on drive across Germany. Hotel was perfect for this. Making the reservation was straightforward, and check-in very quick. We had asked for one "easy access" room and were very impressed by the size of the room, and the wet-room bathroom. The regular rooms are much smaller (as expected with an ETAP, but everything was clean and worked perfectly.
The receptionist spoke perfect English, and recommended a good choice of restaurants within walking distance.
Breakfast was quite good, with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I arrived at 11.05pm but reception closes at 11. I used the automated system to check in, but the electronic lock on the door wasn't working. There was no-one to help and the phone number was always engaged. Eventually I bought a second room, which worked.

Although the hotel is non-smoking, because there are no hotel staff to say no, it is full of smokers and during the night the smell of cigarettes came into my room through the plumbing and woke me.

In the morning I did get the money back for the room I couldn't get into, but overall it was a very bad experience, and I got only about 4 hours sleep.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Hotel is ok ,but i was travelling with my small daughter 14 m. and they don't have any cot bad for small children. Generally everything was all right ,if you are looking for not very expensive hotel for a few nights it quite right choice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Etap Hotel Dortmund West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etap Hotel Dortmund West

Address: Provinzialstr. 92, 44388 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 55 hotels in Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR so you can book your Etap Hotel Dortmund West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Etap Hotel Dortmund West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.