We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Dortmund

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added NH Dortmund to your Saves list
NH Dortmund
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Konigswall 1, D-44137 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Ranked #10 of 56 Hotels in Dortmund
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We spent two nights here and really enjoyed it. However one of the days was a sunday so everything was closed =/. So plan your visit better.

Walking distance to train station, hop on-hop off bus, restaurants, bars and shopping centers.

It feels like it was an old office building converted to a hotel. Rooms were huge and comfortable. We had a lovely view from the top floor. We also enjoyed the sauna/steam room facilities (our sunday activity).

Breakfast was good and worth the price. Room service is also very affordable. Dortmund is a very cheap city.

Room Tip: Corner rooms facing the train station are much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    157
    68
    20
    10
See reviews for
29
57
39
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed four nights during a business trip and wasn't really impressed. Rooms are large, but the style of the rooms is from 80s or something. There really is no gym or other facilities so the best thing about the hotel is the great location.

The wifi was a big disappointment. I guess the free wifi is just there to irritate customers because it wasn't even able to load TripAdvisor's frontpage in 5 minutes or so. The premium costs extra, but that is also difficult to setup and doesn't really support multiple devices - however the premium wifi was fast after you were able to engineer it to work.

In general everything does work ok, so if you get a good price this is a really ok hotel - just don't expect anything fancy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Arrived to spend a quality weekend for some shopping and dinning, the hotel itself has seen no reconstrucion from the time its been built I think, rooms are outdated, carpets are dirty and the walls are not very tidy too...it needs RENOVATION! Rooms are big with some bar area :) plenty of space... very tiny beds though... The receptionist gave the room straight overlooking the main station, straight on the rails, went asking for another room its been said that its fully booked :) oh my god:) literally you open the window and you can see the trains passing like in 5 meters distance, if you want to sleep you have to close all windows.. its only 2 min from haubtbanhof, so for those who are travelling it brilliant location. for shopping is also the same, 7min by foot to the main shopping street.... where you can find all major shops on one street, no need to wonder around looking for something. Taxi ride takes 20min , 20-25 euro. Airport is a tiny train station look a like, but for some duty free shopping is fine too.
When checking in, they did not take AMEX card, when checking out the receptionist asked me to pay 700 euros instead of 270euros, I pulled out the booking confirmation, a she still replied to me that its 700euros, I asked her again and she said sorry instead of 270 she mixes 700 euros :)))))) and still I have 700 euros reserved on my card, they did this upon my arrival.... first time in Germany I see such an unprofessionals standing in front desk. One evening I asked for Italian restaurant, and one replied... Maredo... since when Maredo is Italian restaurant??? :))))))The other lady interrupted and offered me to go to RIGOLETTO, we had a fantastic evening and real fun... the food was fab.
Terrible staff at the front desk.
I have travelled a lot and been to many NH Hotels, but this is the worst NH ive been to...If travelling back to Dortmund will choose another place. One plus is the location, just steps away from main places.

Room Tip: room 330, same as most
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at the NH Dortmund for two nights in March, as a business traveler. The firm booked the hotel, so I had no idea what to expect. Was pleasantly surprised to find that rooms were suite-style, with separate bed-, bath-, and living rooms. Also, the location is perfect, directly next to the central station, with the city centre at your doorstep.

The stay largely exceeded expectations: quiet room, great bed, good breakfast buffet, adequate shower. The only problem with a business stay here, is the internet. With your stay, you receive 24 consecutive hours of free internet, after which one has to pay (there's free-of-charge internet in the lobby, but I'm trying to work with help of the internet here, and then you want the peace and quiet of your own room). I find charging for internet not acceptable in this day and age. Much worse was the fact that the internet was extremely slow. For the first time in a decade I encountered dial-up-modem-speed internet, and it wasn't a welcome trip down memory lane. Snail-speed internet is unacceptable for a business traveler.

Long story short: if you visit Dortmund and you don't need the internet, by all means stay at this hotel. If you do need the internet, choose another one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in April while visiting the Intermodelbrau show. Very convenient location in the centre of the city, by the main station. We had an apartment room, very clean and spacious with kitchen and living area with kettle and microwave, great if you didnt want to eat out. Only problem was the extremely small bath, not much use at all. We did not use the restaurant so cannot comment on the food. As in other comments the internet was extremely slow but at least it was free. Parking was a reasonable 6 euros per day. My one main gripe was the insistent receptionist taking 50 euros on my debit card "in case I used the mini bar". She made it clear they would not actually take the money from my card, but it was authorised and therefore earmarked, meaning in reality there was 50 euros of my own money which I could not use during my stay at the hotel. I had no intention of using the mini bar and object the this practice. Either the hotel should trust its guests or remove the mini bar contents on request.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The NH wasn't my first choice, but where I had booked had given away my room, so the NH was convenient and had a room available.
Location is excellent. If you are in Dortmund for business or pleasure, it is right next to the train station, immediately off the down-town area, with restaurants, cultural sites and what DO has to offer within easy reach. Of course Dortmund isn't all that big, so most of it is easily accessible.
The lobby is basic - reception, a restaurant area, elevators. Very business-like, not fancy, not bad. The reception was very friendly and helpful. Parking is for a fee in the garage right by the front entrance. At 6.50 Euro for Hotel guests, actually quite reasonable.
I had a room on the third floor. It was clean, serviceable, and quite spacious, with the bedroom separate from the living room. There was small bar with bar stools, the obligatory mini-bar (remained unused), a Sofa and a chair. The TV, rather small, was in the bedroom. Fortunately the bedroom was not very large, so the TV was easily visible (for the nearsighted). I liked the way the room was set up. The bathroom area was separated from the bedroom by a sliding door, and was accessible from both the living room and the bedroom. The sink, mirror, luggage area, was situated between the bath and bedrooms. The bathroom was clean, no mildew or other unsightly things, and functional. Nothing out of the ordinary.
The only thing that seemed a bit worn, was the carpeting with a stain or two, here and there. Such things are forgivable in hotels like this. The location make this a high traffic area, and not all guests are careful with the facilities.
The bed was comfortable, large enough for two, but set up for only one guest, and since I was alone, that was fine. The pillows were ok and the large window could be completely covered by light-blocking curtain. BTW - there was also a large window in the living room, with the same curtain. The view was over a busy street, so nothing exceptional to see.
Being the hotel is in the middle of the city, some traffic and exterior noise did reach the window, but not enough to truly create a disturbance. I slept fairly well.
The breakfast spread in the morning was quite nice, with a good selection of continental style or American breakfast (the latter with eggs and bacon). Coffee was served quickly and individually, but from OJ to tea, from rolls to fish snacks, there was quite a bit to choose from.
Check out was as easy and fast as the check-in. They validated the parking, and off I went.

Not a fancy place, not romantic, but convenient, great location and service. I can recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: I'm going to guess that the higher, the better since you are further from the busy street. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

In spite of the great location and the large, suite-style rooms, I will stop booking this hotel for my business trips. The reason? Internet. The hotel had previously charged 18 Euros per day for internet, which is outrageous. Recently they have introduced free wifi with a big bang, which tempted me to give it another chance. I don't even know what is worse: Having to pay unreasonably for internet or trying to work with a connection speed staight out of the dial-up ages (128 kb/s)! Totally unacceptable for hotel geared at business customers.
Otherwise? Staff/service is OK, breakfast is very good.

Room Tip: Don't bother booking the "suites". As far as I can tell, all rooms are suites (can oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dortmund
0.4 mi away
Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grey Hotel
The Grey Hotel
#1 of 56 in Dortmund
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pullman Dortmund
Pullman Dortmund
#3 of 56 in Dortmund
4.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Messe & Kongress
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Dortmund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Dortmund

Address: Konigswall 1, D-44137 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dortmund
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Dortmund 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the NH Dortmund, the only 4-star suite hotel located right in the heart of Dormund, one of the most important towns of Germany's industrial "Ruhrgebiet" area. The hotel is perfect for business travelers and tourists alike, as it is centrally located right by the main train station and only 15 km from the Dortmund Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, NHHotels, Odigeo, Orbitz, Venere and HotelTravel.com so you can book your NH Dortmund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotel Dortmund

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Dortmund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.