We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Solid Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Dortmund

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added NH Dortmund to your Saves list
NH Dortmund
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Konigswall 1, D-44137 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Ranked #10 of 56 Hotels in Dortmund
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wiesbaden
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Location, Solid Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The NH wasn't my first choice, but where I had booked had given away my room, so the NH was convenient and had a room available.
Location is excellent. If you are in Dortmund for business or pleasure, it is right next to the train station, immediately off the down-town area, with restaurants, cultural sites and what DO has to offer within easy reach. Of course Dortmund isn't all that big, so most of it is easily accessible.
The lobby is basic - reception, a restaurant area, elevators. Very business-like, not fancy, not bad. The reception was very friendly and helpful. Parking is for a fee in the garage right by the front entrance. At 6.50 Euro for Hotel guests, actually quite reasonable.
I had a room on the third floor. It was clean, serviceable, and quite spacious, with the bedroom separate from the living room. There was small bar with bar stools, the obligatory mini-bar (remained unused), a Sofa and a chair. The TV, rather small, was in the bedroom. Fortunately the bedroom was not very large, so the TV was easily visible (for the nearsighted). I liked the way the room was set up. The bathroom area was separated from the bedroom by a sliding door, and was accessible from both the living room and the bedroom. The sink, mirror, luggage area, was situated between the bath and bedrooms. The bathroom was clean, no mildew or other unsightly things, and functional. Nothing out of the ordinary.
The only thing that seemed a bit worn, was the carpeting with a stain or two, here and there. Such things are forgivable in hotels like this. The location make this a high traffic area, and not all guests are careful with the facilities.
The bed was comfortable, large enough for two, but set up for only one guest, and since I was alone, that was fine. The pillows were ok and the large window could be completely covered by light-blocking curtain. BTW - there was also a large window in the living room, with the same curtain. The view was over a busy street, so nothing exceptional to see.
Being the hotel is in the middle of the city, some traffic and exterior noise did reach the window, but not enough to truly create a disturbance. I slept fairly well.
The breakfast spread in the morning was quite nice, with a good selection of continental style or American breakfast (the latter with eggs and bacon). Coffee was served quickly and individually, but from OJ to tea, from rolls to fish snacks, there was quite a bit to choose from.
Check out was as easy and fast as the check-in. They validated the parking, and off I went.

Not a fancy place, not romantic, but convenient, great location and service. I can recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: I'm going to guess that the higher, the better since you are further from the busy street. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RGKwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

In spite of the great location and the large, suite-style rooms, I will stop booking this hotel for my business trips. The reason? Internet. The hotel had previously charged 18 Euros per day for internet, which is outrageous. Recently they have introduced free wifi with a big bang, which tempted me to give it another chance. I don't even know what is worse: Having to pay unreasonably for internet or trying to work with a connection speed staight out of the dial-up ages (128 kb/s)! Totally unacceptable for hotel geared at business customers.
Otherwise? Staff/service is OK, breakfast is very good.

Room Tip: Don't bother booking the "suites". As far as I can tell, all rooms are suites (can oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorSurpaceanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location right next to Station. Nice clean hotel with big rooms. Bar about to reopen after refurbishment. Modern feel and helpful staff. Breakfast was comprehensive buffet style. Plenty of choice of restaurants nearby if you prefer.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DR18July2014b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

NH Dortmund is very close to the Haupbahnhof and easy to find. Check-in was quick and our room ready when we arrived.
The room was clean and very spacious - more like a suite. The two-way bathroom looked new and there was a walk-in wardrobe area for luggage. The lounge area had a bar, sink, fridge and microwave. There was a comfortable lounge and desk for writing, computer etc.
Breakfast was excellent - a wide variety of food including plenty of fruit. Two lifts managed all guests and were quick.
The only negatives were that the WiFi was pretty bad as it kept dropping in and out. It was ok to check mail but forget trying to Skype home or upload photos. Also, there was no water, tea or coffee available ( except if you wanted to pay exorbitant prices for them).
I would recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funtimes0652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jachymov, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel is located near the main station, the shopping areas and the head office of RWE. The underground parking is connected by lifts directly with the hotel. Rooms are large - special type of suite, serviceable wardrobe. Only carpets are just used and need renovation. Breakfast with an abundant choice of hot and cold dishes
I recommende to stay here.

Room Tip: you can order also smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here several times, can only recommend. Located near the main station and underground parking offered, the NH offers spacious suite like rooms for a very good price. Room service is delicious, breakfast ok for a 4 star hotel. Recommended to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eladmiralo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
976 reviews
316 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,432 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel is located next to the railway station, some rooms are facing the tracks. Due to the noise you can't open the windows - but the ventilation (no air con) is switched off automatically at 23:00.

Further the bathroom is split into two, one area where is toilet and shower and another one where is the sink. At the area where's the sink there's CARPET, dirty, old carpet. It's disgusting!!! When we arrived the toilet wasn't 100% clean.

Let's talk about the beds: CHEAP, old mattresses. They where hanging in the middle. Not a good sleep at all. Of course no slippers, no bathrobe...

Of course there's no safe in the room - only downstairs at the reception.

It's an ugly, old an tired hotel - without any atmosphere.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel, at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dortmund
0.4 mi away
Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund City
1.4 mi away
Arcadia Grand Hotel Dortmund
0.2 mi away
The Grey Hotel
The Grey Hotel
#4 of 56 in Dortmund
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Dortmund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Dortmund

Address: Konigswall 1, D-44137 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Dortmund
#3 Green Hotel in Dortmund
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Dortmund 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the NH Dortmund, the only 4-star suite hotel located right in the heart of Dormund, one of the most important towns of Germany's industrial "Ruhrgebiet" area. The hotel is perfect for business travelers and tourists alike, as it is centrally located right by the main train station and only 15 km from the Dortmund Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, NHHotels, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your NH Dortmund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotel Dortmund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing