We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Dortmund

Save Saved
You added City Hotel Dortmund to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Hotel Dortmund
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grafenhof 6, 44137 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 55 hotels in Dortmund
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Interesting decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Tourist Office in the city booked a room here for me. It's right in the centre of town, one block from Dortmund's main pedestrian shopping street. The hotel is a squarish building on a corner, and each room window has a vertical bar painted in a different colour of the rainbow—very pretty when you photograph the building from outside. Lobby and breakfast area are a bit small, but all staff were friendly (some seemed to be in their 50s-60s). Room was clean, comfortable and functional, done in a bit of an artistic style from the 1980s-90s. Most unusual in my room was the toilet that had brightly striped lid and cover! Funky, Pop Art look! Not much of a view from the window, but I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great welcome at this hotel which is conveniently situated for the centre of Dortmund. It has good off road parking. Our room was large and comfortable and the wifi worked perfectly. Breakfast was amazing. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We chose this hotel as we were visiting an exhibition and the price was within our budget range. The hotel is located in the city centre, just around the corner from a large and pleasant shopping mall. The bar feels as if you have just stepped into an eighties time warp, and the decor in the rooms is a bit dated, but in general everything is in very good and clean condition. Staff are friendly and efficient. Our room (209) was quite large with a sofa area, only disadvantage was that we were right under the hotel's neon sign which did shine through the curtains quite a bit at night. Bathroom has a good shower and is well-equipped. Breakfast is great - a good selection of cold and hot food and again friendly service staff.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms under the neon sign.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband, friend and I stayed here during our travels around Europe. Wow, we were really impressed with the hotel, our room was very spacious and had lots of natural light.

It was such a relief to finally have a bathroom/shower/vanity that you could easily move around in, compared to a lot of other hotels we stayed.

We looked forward to breakfast each morning, as it was absolutely amazing - we still talk about it!

Centrally located, super close to shops / cafes / restaurants.

When we're back in Dortmund, we will be staying here again. :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

me and my wife visited dortmund for the christmas market,we stayed at this hotel and found the staff very friendly.Excellent location to the city centre,only a short walk to the market and shops. Room was very well equipped and everything was as we needed,room cleaned daily.Buffet breakfast was plentiful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

firstly got to say the reception staff made me feel more like i was at home then at a hotel welcomed me with a smile got to my room found it was not ready as the cleaner was still in there so had to go back to reception and wait the room was a bit small. The bed was a lot smaller then i am used to not very wide so had to lay in a position i'm not used to,The breakfast was good. The main draw back was that the pillows on the bed looked like they had seen better days and no milk in the room had to go out and shop for that only one english chanel on the tv and that was cnn. also watch out for the city stay tax that they hit you with as you book out for my 5 day stay it was 15 euro but you are not told when you get there so save some money for this. the bathrooms are good .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for one night, because I have an early flight in the morning. The room was nice and clean, but a little old. The bed was very cosy, but the pillow too soft. The people at the reception spoke English and were very kind. If you leave the hotel even in 5 a.m. in the morning you can have breakfast if you want. The location is 5 min walk from the central station.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Hotel Dortmund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Dortmund

Address: Grafenhof 6, 44137 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 hotels in Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Dortmund 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your City Hotel Dortmund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel Dortmund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.