We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Dortmund City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Dortmund City to your Saves list
Ibis Dortmund City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maerkische Strasse 73, 44141 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Dortmund
North East
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value for money !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and found it value for money paying just over 100 euro's !

The hotel staff are so friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean with a nice bathroom (which is important to me) and air conditioning ,although no safe or minibar.

The hotel is attached to Rewe supermarket and bakery which we found a bonus as it gave more cost effective choice in terms of eating and drinking.

Free underground parking and free internet in foyer was useful although it was a good 20 minute brisk walk to Dortmund town centre which wasn't so good.

The hotel do some good snack deals which include main,dessert and drink for 9 euro 50c each and we took advantage of that.

Our stay at this hotel was nice and we would definitely recommend for the price

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MisscakeNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brisbane Queensland Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I had a make a quick trip to Dortmund. I booked with Ibis as i had a very good experience with Ibis Budget Berlin The quality of this hotel was only to a budget standard.The breakfast was excellent. The location was excellent no noise but book ahead if you are a non smoker otherwise you could find yourself in a smoking room like I was. I booked one day ahead by mistake so I found myself in a smokers den. The hotel is located in a quite area. Three supermarkets close by, Aldi, REWE and Edeka. Excellent for public transport the U bahn only three stops from the central station. The walk to the U bahn is only five minutes from Markgrafen Strasse to Ibis.Once on the surface head northwest on Hainallee toward Landgrafenstraße 78 m
Turn right onto Landgrafenstraße 300 m
Turn right onto Märkische Straße/L672 Destination will be on the right
I found the reception not to be friendly. A smile will always help.

Room Tip: Book ahead to guarantee a smoking free area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spyforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have just spent three nights at the Ibis Hotel, Dortmund City over the Easter holiday, a first time for me at an Ibis and a very enjoyable experience and excellent value and worthy of mention here ! The hotel was very central, just three underground (U-bahn) stops from the central shopping area, rooms well sound proofed, bedrooms clean and beds very comfortable, modern capsule style bathroom with a shower that worked well, free internet access/wi-fi a good extra at this budget hotel, breakfast for 10 euros great value with a large selection, the hotel staff spoke good English and always courteous and pleased to assist ! The hotel even left chocolate Easter Bunnies outside the room on Easter Sunday ! Well done and well recommended !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heathrowcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

It was my first time i booked ibis. The hotel is very well situated. Easy parking for my car. Both at reception and behind the bar was the staff friendly. I was offered the choice for a non smoking room. The room was simple but with enough space, a comfortable bed and very clean. I payed 59 € for the room and 10 € for the breakfast buffet. I found it very tastfull and good value for my money. I took my bag and got on my way convinced that next time i am on the road for business i try ibis again and will see if they can match this one

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel was pretty much what you would expect for the money. Rooms are basic and small with little character. Carpets were worn and few badly filled in cracks in the walls but the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The rooms were also fairly quiet and appeared to have good soundproofing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CGDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have stayed at this Ibis Hotel in my hometown for a number of years now and again, we have found it excellent, our only disappointment being the meals served in the restaurant . After trying them for two evenings, we reluctantly gave up and either ate in town or at the nearby "Restaurant Stadewaeldchen". A great pity that the hotel kitchen did not try harder. We are not spoilt, but we expect our food to be served hot and not lukewarm!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irmgard2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
1.1 mi away
NH Dortmund
NH Dortmund
#11 of 56 in Dortmund
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dortmund
6.5 mi away
ibis budget Dortmund West
ibis budget Dortmund West
#19 of 56 in Dortmund
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
1.1 mi away
Arcadia Grand Hotel Dortmund
1.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Dortmund City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Dortmund City

Address: Maerkische Strasse 73, 44141 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Dortmund City 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Hotel City is ideally situated for links with Dortmund's infrastructure - the city center, Westfalenhallen and Signal Iduna Park stadium are all just a few minutes away by car or subway. Our hotel has 97 air-conditioned rooms offering plenty of comfort and innovative Sweet Bed by ibis beds, as well as 24/7 WIFI. The hotel also features a supermarket and hair salon, and offers free parking for guests. Leave your car at the hotel: From the nearby Markgrafenstrasse subway station there are four U-Bahn lines that offer a quick, direct connection to the football stadium or city center, including the Westenhellweg shopping district and main train station.All-you-can-eat breakfast buffetOur hearty breakfast buffet is open daily from 6:30am to 10am and offers many tasty options and regional specialties. We serve a light breakfast daily from 4am to 6:30am, and from 10am to midday.BarWhether you fancy relaxing with a cool beer or a different kind of refreshing drink, these can be ordered around the clock from our bar, as well as hot and cold snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Dortmund City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing