We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel with excellent breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Dortmund

Save Saved
You added Pullman Dortmund to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Dortmund
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lindemannstrasse 88, 44137 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel Dortmund an den Westfalenhallen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Frühbucher zahlen weniger
Ranked #3 of 55 hotels in Dortmund
London
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel with excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I stayed two nights at the Pullman and the rooms are bright, spacious and very comfortable. It offers Wi-Fi access and minibar as well as bathrobe. It is situated few minutes away from the Stadium of the BVB football club and just opposite the BVB fan shop. A very extensive breakfast gives you the perfect start and offers next to continental style also the cooked versions. Best feature is a machine which freshly squeezes the oranges. Overall a perfect stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanDortmund, Guest Relations Manager at Pullman Dortmund, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear guests, thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with us and other customers. We, especially our breakfast team members, are very happy about your feedback regarding breakfast. "A perfect stay" is the most appreciative compliment for us- thank you very much!
All the best for your future trips and my best regards

i.A. Larissa Schlotthauber, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    90
    50
    8
    7
See reviews for
26
67
28
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed here for three nights, so we could visit The Chrismtas Market. The location is around a 25 min walk from the centre, or a 5 min walk to the Underground station, where its just 3 stops and 1.40 euro in price. We had a superior room, and it was clean and functional, in need of modernisation, for example old fashioned T.V's with poor quality picture ( not that I went to watch T.v!!) Bathrooms, clean and functional. shower products and bathrobe provided. Hotel Staff overall are friendly, however we had a rather unpleasant experience with the Restaurant Manager, ( didnt get her name, small, short dark hair, glassess) who was beyond rude. She got our drinks order wrong, and when we told her, she actually rolled her eyes and shrugged her shoulders! It then went from bad to worse, she was rude and un- pleasant throughout our dinner, a most horrible person,(no wonder the restaurant was empty!) who should not have a job in Customer Service. Adena, however, our other waitress was delightful, happy, friendly and brilliant at their job. We did have really good quality Steaks for dinner, which were excellent. also their was no General Manager to complain to regarding the awful restaurant manager.
The christmas Market was great, dortmund itself is very modern, with a fantastic range of shops and a huge shopping centre. Prices are very reasonable as its not a big tourist destination.
Had it not been for our experience in the restaurant, it would have been a fantastic stay (4 Star). I would however go for a refurbished room if I stay again. (Deluxe I think)

Room Tip: Pick a Deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanDortmund, Guest Relations Manager at Pullman Dortmund, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
We are very grateful that you took your time to note down all your experiences concerning your stay at our hotel, especially since you experienced a very poor situaition with one of our team members. I am very sorry about this! Please be assured, that I will take this very serious. I am happy that you still find warm words for the good quality that we delivered as well. By the way- the old TVs will be replaced in 2012. Nevertheless, we hope to welcome you again for your next stay and convince you of our service standard that we are normally known for.
My very best regards
i.A. Larissa Schlotthauber, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

This is a lovely hotel, new, clean and comfortable. Spacious rooms, comfy beds, tea & coffee facilities. 5 mins walk to the U-bahn and only 3 stops in to Dotmund City Centre (for the Christmas Markets in our case). However, booked well in advance direct with Accor Hotels for a double bedded room with roll away for our 11 yr old. Was given a room with 2 single beds, queried this with reception as had this in black and white, told the 'class' we had booked only had single beds - made us feel like cheapskates! Also, breakfast was moved from the main restaurant on sunday morning to a conference room on monday morning, toaster and fresh orange juice machine were not moved so effectively a fair part of breakfast disappeared! Hotel parking a staggering 16 euro per night, my advice - take a few spins around the block, there is free parking in the street. However, these are really just niggles, nothing that spoilt our stay but anoying from what is clearly a business hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanDortmund, Guest Relations Manager at Pullman Dortmund, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Thank you very much, dear guest, for all the compliments regarding your stay at our hotel, but also for the information about the little discomforts that you experienced here at Pullman Dortmund. These hints will help us to improve our services, so thank you very much for taking the time to leave the informations for us. Please ask our staff for anything that you are missing (the fresh orange juice f.e.) to give us the chance, to fullfill your expectations. We hope to be your hosts again next time.
Our best regards
i.A. Larissa Schlotthauber, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Stayed 2 nights in December primarily to visit the Christmas markets in Dortmund and nearby Essen. The hotel was very easy to find and check-in very efficient with good english spoken.
Car parking arrangements were a little sketchy - we found a space right outside the hotel but were told that we could not park there due to fire regulations - however, there was no sign indicating this and we noted the same cars parked there all evening & the following morning. The alternative was to park in the underground car park (€16 per day) or "on the street" where there are a limited number of free spaces - we did this and it seemed safe to do so.
On to the room - it was in good shape & very clean, the bathroom was a little small compared to the overall room size which was fairly large. Room overlooked the busy main road, however, it was very quiet. There was a minbar which had enough room left to use as a fridge and also tea/coffee making facilities (this was not advertised so we took our own kettle which proved unnecessary). Old style TV with limited channels. Room had a/c but was not effective as room was hot and did not cool down (public areas of hotel were at a nice temperature). We had booked a double bed with an extra bed for our daughter which they brought to the room promptly, however, we had 2 single beds. The hotel staff said this was due to the room we had booked but the confirmation clearly said a double. They did not offer to remedy this but suggested pushing the beds together (impossible as the night stand was fixed).
Breakfast was included in our rate and glad it was - as I do not feel it was worth the €19 per person it was advertised for. A good selection was on offer, however, on the 2nd morning the restaurant was closed so breakfast was set up in the conference rooms. This was ok but certain items were missing - no toaster, no fresh orange juice and so on.
Finally, location-wise we found it fine - 5 mins walk to U-bahn station (Kreuzstrasse) from which it was 3 stops to Stadtgarten or 4 to Rheinoldikirche which both put you in the centre. If you need some water or snacks etc there is a Netto store and an Aral gas station just down the street.
Despite a few niggles we were more than happy with the Pullman for the price paid and therefore am rating it very good 4/5...... Tschuss ..!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanDortmund, Guest Relations Manager at Pullman Dortmund, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Sirs, thank you so much for taking the time to note down all the informations concerning your stay and also for your compliments! That is a very detailed description and will help us to improve our services. We cleaned the carpets in our restaurant, thats why we moved breakfast to the conference area. Please let us know if your are missing something during your next stay, like you mentioned the fresh orange juice that was not offered, we will arrange that immediately. If you travel again in this area, we will be happy to welcome you again.
Sincerely yours
i.A. Larissa Schlotthauber, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Don't be put off by the location. It is not in the centre but UBahn is excellent with normal German efficiciency. Stations are 5 mins walk (needs 1 change from Hbf) or 8 mins walk on direct line from Hbf. UBahns are every 10 mins or 15 mins in evening.
The hotel lives up to the other excellent reviews, very helpful staff and excellent buffet breakfast. Rooms are clean and very well equiped, bathroom supplies are good quality, robe and slippers provided.
There are only a few restaurants locally, we did not try the resaurant.
As for Dortmund, it exceeded our expectation for shopping abd we were fortunate enough to be there for excellent Christmas Markets; lively and friendly.
This hotel would be my first choice for a return trip.

Room Tip: No tips. It is in a fairly quiet area but a higher floor would be away from traffic,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pullman Dortmund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Dortmund

Address: Lindemannstrasse 88, 44137 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel Dortmund an den Westfalenhallen)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 hotels in Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pullman Dortmund 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right across from the stadium and the lovely Westfalenpark, the Pullman Dortmund is easily accessible with convenient access to all major highways. This world class hotel is well equipped to handle all your important events, with a capacity of up to 300 guests in 14 fully equipped, adaptable meeting rooms and reception areas. All 219 rooms, including suites, have full internet access and provide a welcome oasis of true serenity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Pullman Dortmund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Dortmund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.