We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TOP Hotel Esplanade Dortmund

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added TOP Hotel Esplanade Dortmund to your Saves list
TOP Hotel Esplanade Dortmund
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burgwall 3, 44135 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Akzent Hotel Esplanade)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 55 Hotels in Dortmund
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I spent five nights here during a business trip. Located very close to the main shopping district and restaurants, and only a few blocks from the train station. The room was clean, the receptionists very helpful and friendly. It had what I needed and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
6
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pescara, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Really really good.
I spent there 2 weeks for work and definetely will come back everytime I will be in Dortmund.
Staff has been perfect, kind and professional. Breakfast and dinner were really good.
Location is perfect, right on the ring, really really close to the Konzerthaus and the shopping roads. Wellness area was perfect and also quality/price ratio is good.
Better the new wing of the hotel. Room 515 was the best.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, Philippines
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Arrived late and the receptionist was great. Secure parking easy to find and leads straight to reception. Lovely bar area, good choice at breakfast. Rooms were very adequate and you even got slippers and bathrobe. Room was clean and very comfortable. probably a bit dated but to be honest was so tired I did not notice. Would stay again. Great value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Not the best, not bad. Worst ever fitness facilities. Has sauna. room quite small, not super clean, a bit dated.
Location is alright. Probably would not recommend as I'm sure there would be a better place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Overall this is a good hotel. Close to the city center, clean, and modern. A bit overpriced for what you get. There are several better hotels in Dortmund to a cheaper price. Take a look at them first, before you book here. But all in all we were satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

Suspect this hotel is in the process of going through a facelift... The reception and restaurant feel new, modern and stylish. The rooms were perhaps also modern and stylish in the 1970s but not in 2008. They are not shabby but just not at all up to date (except the flatscreen TV). Carpets are a bit worn. The bathrooms are various shades of brown and beige with the occasional floral detail. Got the picture? Breakfast is quite good, especially the heavy German bread.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, and there isn't a single thing I would change about it. This family owned and operated hotel is absolutely wonderful! The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are big and bright and very clean, and the restaurant is awesome! Next time we're in Germany, we will return to Dormund just so we can stay at this hotel again. I highly recommend it to all.

  • Liked — The staff were so wonderful, and the rooms were big and clean.
  • Disliked — I wish the restaurant was open more hours, but I understand why it can't be because it's a family run business.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TOP Hotel Esplanade Dortmund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TOP Hotel Esplanade Dortmund

Address: Burgwall 3, 44135 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Akzent Hotel Esplanade)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dortmund
#9 Business Hotel in Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — TOP Hotel Esplanade Dortmund 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your TOP Hotel Esplanade Dortmund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Dortmund
Dortmund Top Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TOP Hotel Esplanade Dortmund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.