We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit for purpose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Dortmund

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Dortmund to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dortmund
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moskauer Strasse 1, 44269 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 55 hotels in Dortmund
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fit for purpose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We used this hotel as a one night stop after a tour of Germany, before flying out in the morning. It fitted the bill perfectly, the rooms were adequate, if a little on the small side, and the breakfast was served early and was just right. For a longer stay it might restrict your options, and there did not appear to be an awful lot to do in the vicinity. We also got a good deal for the room as it was a Saturday night stay. Reception and bar service was excellent. There were a couple of filling stations on the way to the airport, both were more expensive than the Autobahn prices so it pays to leave a little time if you need to hunt for a better price to re-fuel your hire car.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORWR, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback.
We highly appreciate your review and because of that we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction.

Best regards from Dortmund - Germany

Ralf Birnstihl
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    51
    37
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
18
19
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Good choice if you have to stay one night and continue your trip. Close to airport ( on the middle way between airport and city center. Tram station is very close, so if you not in hurry, and want save 20-25 euro for round trip, you can choose tram.
The breakfast is ok for as for 3 stars. Nothing interesting around the hotel.
The only disappointing thing - they could not offer non smoking room with kingsize bed, only separate beds. So we had to stay in smoking, and the smell in room was awfull.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Alexdomin,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. Also, thank you for pointing out how convenient our location is in reference to the airport.

I am sorry to hear about your issues with your room. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience and discomfort this has caused you.

Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remington, Indiana
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hotel rooms are small but adequate. Nothing really outstanding about the place, and it has few eating choices.

They were nice to us, and arranged for a taxi to the airport.

We are loyal members of Choice Hotels, and we know why.

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Countryman36,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Traveller
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in April. The hotel is fairly modern and clean. It is located about 15 mins from town centre on the U bahn. The hotel can be seen from the station so no problems locating it.

We arrived at 10.30pm and were disappointed to find that they could not supply us with any food. This was not due to the time, they just dont serve food other than a bland continental breakfast. We went to the room and found 2 comfy beds but the thinnest pillows I have seen. I asked for more and was told they didnt have any. Not great from holiday inn. 2 night poor sleep followed.

All in all I think you will find better value closer to the city.

Room Tip: its a very quiet area and hotel in general so most rooms should be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear paul0107,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. My apologies for the inconvenience you had with the service you received and the pillows. I truly appreciate your comments, since this is the most efficient way for us to constantly improve our services. We hope you give us the privilege to continue to serve you in the near future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel had some good & bad points. When arriving we was greeted by very unhelpful & unfriendly night staff. Huffing & puffing about checking in & ‘Whatever’ was used more than once.
The bedroom & bathroom was clean & to a good standard, good value for money.
Once unpacked we went to the bar where the very unhelpful staff started again. I asked for a shandy, the staff asked what this was & I explained that it was larger & sprite. I was given a ½ a glass of larger & told to get the sprite from a vending machine from out of reception. There was no sprite in the vending machine as it did not stock it! I then went back to the bar where I got to the back of the line of other customers & waited in line again. After this the staff got a sprite from the bar. Lot of Hassel for 1 drink!
I did not like being charged 6 euro’s a night for park.
There was a strange thing where the rooms was cleaned to a very good standard but all drinking glasses & cups was left dirty in the room for the whole stay.
Breakfast was well done & lots of choice, day staff was very friendly & helpfull.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Colin G,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am very sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered over the unacceptable service you received from the staff. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is close to the airport however you need a car or cab.

For your evening meal they use a local takeaway who deliver food to the hotel this service was great.

The hotel charges for parking however you can park outside the hotel in a free carpark or on the street as it is situated in an industrial estate,

Local transport into the city is very close to the hotel.

Will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORWR, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback.

We highly appreciate your review and because of that we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction.

Yours sincerely,

Ralf Birnstihl
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I booked two rooms for two nights through Booking.com. They requested a credit card number which was meant to be as guarantee only and not as pre-payment or deposit and this was written in the booking confirmation. We had the unpleasant surprise to find out that, despite the written confirmation "no prepayment, no deposit" our credit card was charged at the moment of the booking, some 10 days before arrival!
We contacted Booking.com and they explained that one of the employees of the hotel made a mistake with our reservation and took it for a "non refundable-prepaid" one. I wonder how these "mistakes" can happen in a world of automatized, computer-driven systems?
In the end, the hotel offered to refund the money on the credit card that was charged, which is only half a solution as then we would be compelled either to travel to Dortmund again and pay cash, or send a bank transfer.
I am sorry to have to say that I consider this hotel unreliable.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear valentina c,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I am very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience due to the issues regarding your reservation. However, I am glad that this matter was addressed in a timely manner. Your review will be used to improve our service and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dortmund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dortmund

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dortmund Hotel Dortmund
Holiday Inn Express Dortmund Hotel
Holiday Inn Dortmund
Dortmund Holiday Inn
Address: Moskauer Strasse 1, 44269 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 hotels in Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Dortmund 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Dortmund is a modern business hotel located within easy reach of the exhibition Westfalenhallen Dortmund, the Dortmund Airport (DTM), the main railway station and the ADAC Center of NRW. Both by car via the B1 motorway and public transport, the hotel is perfectly connected to all business and leisure attractions in Dortmund. The Express by Holiday Inn offers accommodation for visitors to exhibitions like Inter-tabac, DKM or Railtec as well as shoppers for the famous city mall and sport fans cheering at football. Enjoy one of the upcoming concerts in the Westfalenhallen Dortmund like Lionel Richie or Simply Red. The Express by Holiday Inn offers 107 comfortably furnished rooms with chargeable High Speed Internet Access, air condition, satellite and Pay TV, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, en suite shower, hair dryer, high quality beds and sound proof windows. We invite our guests to enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast buffet to get the day off to a good start, while in the evening our Lobby Bar is worth a visit to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dortmund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.