We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, shame about the service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Dortmund

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Dortmund to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Dortmund
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moskauer Strasse 1, 44269 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #10 of 56 Hotels in Dortmund
Branston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, shame about the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel had some good & bad points. When arriving we was greeted by very unhelpful & unfriendly night staff. Huffing & puffing about checking in & ‘Whatever’ was used more than once.
The bedroom & bathroom was clean & to a good standard, good value for money.
Once unpacked we went to the bar where the very unhelpful staff started again. I asked for a shandy, the staff asked what this was & I explained that it was larger & sprite. I was given a ½ a glass of larger & told to get the sprite from a vending machine from out of reception. There was no sprite in the vending machine as it did not stock it! I then went back to the bar where I got to the back of the line of other customers & waited in line again. After this the staff got a sprite from the bar. Lot of Hassel for 1 drink!
I did not like being charged 6 euro’s a night for park.
There was a strange thing where the rooms was cleaned to a very good standard but all drinking glasses & cups was left dirty in the room for the whole stay.
Breakfast was well done & lots of choice, day staff was very friendly & helpfull.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Colin G,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am very sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered over the unacceptable service you received from the staff. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    59
    46
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
27
19
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is close to the airport however you need a car or cab.

For your evening meal they use a local takeaway who deliver food to the hotel this service was great.

The hotel charges for parking however you can park outside the hotel in a free carpark or on the street as it is situated in an industrial estate,

Local transport into the city is very close to the hotel.

Will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORWR, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback.

We highly appreciate your review and because of that we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction.

Yours sincerely,

Ralf Birnstihl
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I booked two rooms for two nights through Booking.com. They requested a credit card number which was meant to be as guarantee only and not as pre-payment or deposit and this was written in the booking confirmation. We had the unpleasant surprise to find out that, despite the written confirmation "no prepayment, no deposit" our credit card was charged at the moment of the booking, some 10 days before arrival!
We contacted Booking.com and they explained that one of the employees of the hotel made a mistake with our reservation and took it for a "non refundable-prepaid" one. I wonder how these "mistakes" can happen in a world of automatized, computer-driven systems?
In the end, the hotel offered to refund the money on the credit card that was charged, which is only half a solution as then we would be compelled either to travel to Dortmund again and pay cash, or send a bank transfer.
I am sorry to have to say that I consider this hotel unreliable.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear valentina c,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I am very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience due to the issues regarding your reservation. However, I am glad that this matter was addressed in a timely manner. Your review will be used to improve our service and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here before, and always liked the rooms, the breakfast, and the good restaurant next door. However with the last stay I booked a "Room with internet", and prepaid for it. At check in I was told, that I still have to pay 15 EURO for the internet, because the cheaper prepaid rate does not include the internet charge. "Room with Internet" only means, that there is a connection... sorry, but that is deluding the customer

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Urs H,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am happy to read you like our rooms and breakfast. However, I apologize for the issues you encountered and internet policy you experienced which was less than satisfactory. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome. Your comments have been documented and this allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Pleasant hotel with modern furnishings, comfortable rooms, a cultural staff. Positioned in a quiet place. Very tasty breakfast (croissants, cheese, cold cuts, salads, juices, milk, coffee ...). For the price offered was excellent, especially for business travel.
Dortmund as the city is very nice, quiet and full of greenery. It is worth visiting.

Room Tip: Maybe on 2 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORWR, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback.

We highly appreciate your review and because of that we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction.

Yours sincerely,

Ralf Birnstihl
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We were in Dortmund for the Borussia Dortmund match on 25th Jan 13. They won!!
Lovely comfortable hotel on the outskirts of town near to the Airport (15euros in a taxi) Comfortable, clean, spacious rooms and an added bonus of free continental breakfast served from 6.30am. Helpful staff who let us check in at 10.30am because our room was vacant. Our son had a fold out sofa bed which looked really uncomfortable but was in fact very comfortable!
It takes about 10 minutes to get into town on the metro (Statsbahn) - hauptfriedhof station/line U47 is 2 minutes walk from the hotel - Get on on the stadtmitte side and get off at Kamp Strasse for the city centre shops or change at stadtgarden/ getting on to the U45 for Westfahallen and the Stadium (Signal Iduna Park).
When you come back head to Aplerbeck. The underground works on the honour system. You buy a ticket at the machine 2.50e for adults 1.50e for kids for a single journey (however far you travel) or you can get an all day ticket. You need to authorise your ticket at the little machine next to the big ticket machine.
The stadium takes about 25 minutes from the hotel with a change at stadtgarden.
I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORWR, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback.

We highly appreciate your review and because of that we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction.

Yours sincerely,

Ralf Birnstihl
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is exactly what you expect from a Holiday Inn Express. The check-in was quick and easy with very courteous, helpful and knowledgable staff. The room was clean and comfortable.
The hotel lacks a restaurant for evening meals, but there is a good restaurant 100yds away.
Breakfast was good, not teriffic, just good. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORWR, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback.

We highly appreciate your review and because of that we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction.

Yours sincerely,

Ralf Birnstihl
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dortmund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dortmund

Address: Moskauer Strasse 1, 44269 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 56 Hotels in Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Dortmund 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Dortmund is a modern business hotel located within easy reach of the exhibition Westfalenhallen Dortmund, the Dortmund Airport (DTM), the main railway station and the ADAC Center of NRW. Both by car via the B1 motorway and public transport, the hotel is perfectly connected to all business and leisure attractions in Dortmund. The Express by Holiday Inn offers accommodation for visitors to exhibitions like Inter-tabac, DKM or Railtec as well as shoppers for the famous city mall and sport fans cheering at football. Enjoy one of the upcoming concerts in the Westfalenhallen Dortmund like Lionel Richie or Simply Red. The Express by Holiday Inn offers 107 comfortably furnished rooms with chargeable High Speed Internet Access, air condition, satellite and Pay TV, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, en suite shower, hair dryer, high quality beds and sound proof windows. We invite our guests to enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast buffet to get the day off to a good start, while in the evening our Lobby Bar is worth a visit to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dortmund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dortmund Hotel Dortmund
Holiday Inn Dortmund
Dortmund Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.