We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent if you're staying for football” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp Dortmund

Save Saved
You added Tryp Dortmund to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tryp Dortmund
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Emil Figge Strasse 41, 44227 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Dortmund
GreenLeadersSilver level
Porto, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Excellent if you're staying for football”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

You can see the Westfalenstadion from there, although I would recomend a bus to get there faster. To visit the city, though, you need to take a train. It's right on campus, with many rabbits around! It's a Tryp Hotel, so it's just a nice place to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRYPDortmund, Manager at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello Ana_Marques9, i am Susanne Ficht, the General Manager at TRYP Dortmund, thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and for your helpful comment.
We hope to see you soon, maybe the next game.
Best regards, Susanne Ficht - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    25
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
9
15
6
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miedzyrzecz, Poland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on a long trip from the UK to Poland, and this was a perfect place, being halfway and very near to the main autobahn which was along our route.

We got the hotel for a decent price, and arrived late in the evening and left early in the morning. We were too late to order food, as they closed the kitchen at 10pm, but it was still possible to order a drink.

The staff seemed very pleasant and the hotel was really easy to find. It has a secure car-park and seems to be aimed towards business travelers. The room was large, with a large comfortable bed, large TV with hundreds of international channels and a shower with soap/shower gel. There was no kettle in the room, which seems fairly typical of hotels in the area, so if you want a cup of coffee/tea you'll need to go down to the bar.

Overall, I would happily stay in this hotel again and would recommend it for ease of access and cost.

Room Tip: The car park has an automatic barrier which opens when you approach it. We didn't realise this a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRYPDortmund, Manager at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hello Tony W. i am Susanne Ficht, the General Manager at TRYP Dortmund, thank you very much for choosing us and for your helpful comment. We hope to see you soon in our Hotel.
Best regards, Susanne Ficht - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

bad service, unpolite staff, bad food - I eat both dinner and breakfast there and both where really not very good quality and expensive (dinner). Outrageous prices for internet access - for ca 85€ for the room you would think it is included, but no you have to pay extra: over 2€/hour for using the common PC in the reception area and over 4€/hour to use WIFI in the room
Room was freezing cold, although the room was reserved beforehand .... If it is frezing outside and you expect paying guests I would think it would be common sense for the hotel not to turn down the heating to a minimim as it takes quite a while for the room to warm up.
(if you do not have something to do at the university, is also a super boring location in the middle of nowhere)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRYPDortmund, Manager at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello Drale_ontheroad, I am Susanne Ficht, the General Manager at the TRYP Dortmund.
Thank you very much for choosing us, for your business travel.
We´re sorry if our service, staff and the quality of your dinner was not what you expected, we´ll make sure to improve it for the next time you come an visit us.
Unfortunately we can´t change the price of internet access at the moment.
We´ve created a new offer, if you book our new business class plus (only at the hotel)
W-LAN will be included for 20 € extra charge.
We notice that we´ve to preheat our rooms during the wintertime.
For your next stay we´ll check it before you check in.
We thank you again for your comments that help you improve our services day by day.
Best regards, Susanne Ficht General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean rooms, excellent helpful reception staff.
It's worth paying for the breakfast
Restaurant is good, but a little pricey. They do put a buffet on for a fixed price.
Bar prices are a bit steep.
There is a reasonably priced Italian restaurant about 10 minutes walk away if you want a change of scene.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRYPDortmund, Manager at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello Nev C, I am Susanne Ficht, the General Manager at the TRYP Dortmund.
Thank you very much for choosing us for your business and for your comments. We hope
to see you soon in our hotel. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I managed to get a 1 night stay at this hotel for a good price so i'm not going to complain about it.
The rooms are fine if your only sleeping and showering in it, if you like to relax and spend time in your hotel room this isn't the place for you.
The hotel bar is fine but when i was there it was very busy and there was only one barman who was having to repeatedly pour beer into glasses and when you ordered he filled a glass using the other glasses to eventually get you a full pint. as a result the beer was a bit flat.
The location isn't the best either unless you are going to the University or attending a Borussia Dortmund match. To get to the City centre you either spend 15 Euros each way in a taxi or use the S Bahn from the University or the U Bahn from An der Palmwelde which are both about 1 mile away, which is fine if the weather is good but not so good if its not as the hotel is in an exposed location. I didn't eat at the hotel and asked the staff if there was a vending machine to get a cold drink and snack from but they told me they didn't have one nor did they sell snacks and could only provide a bottle of fizzy water for 2 Euros, there are no other facilities anywhere near the hotel to buy provisions from so make sure you stack up elsewhere before going to the hotel.
As i said 'You get what you pay for' this hotel was fine for my needs for one night but if i was to return to Dortmund i would stay closer to the City centre.

Room Tip: I think the view towards Borussia Dortmunds football stadium is the better side of the hotel to be i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel itself is certainly nothing special but it is certainly comfortable and clean, and to be honest these are 2 of the main things we wanted from our hotels. We only stayed here overnight so did not need anything special from the hotel.

The restaurant however let the hotel down in 2 ways. The first was that it was shut in the evening which we were not informed of prior to arrival. We had just finished a 4 hour drive so wanted to sit down for a meal, relax a bit and go to bed... This wasn't going to happen as we had to walk 15 minutes in the cold to try and find the restaurant the receptionist recommended. Luckily the restaurant was VERY good, but it would have been nice to have been able to eat at the hotel.

The second let down was the following morning when we had a pretty expensive breakfast. We paid 13 euros each, which I think was one of the most expensive breakfasts during a 2 week trip. To be honest for what you pay I can't say that there was anything particularly special about it.

To be fair to the receptionist, she did a very good job and it seemed like she was pretty much running the whole hotel that evening.... Luckily it wasn't too busy. I didn't see any other staff until the following morning when we saw a cleaner and a new receptionist & waiter... Although the receptionist who saw us in at 6pm the previous evening and was there around 9:00pm after coming back from the restaurant was still there / there again at 8:00am the next morning.

Room Tip: Even if you smoke, don't have a smoking room... make the 1 minute journey to outside the entran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Positives include being close to the University, where I had a couple of meetings, and I had a view of Westfalenstadion from my room. However, the hotel is a few miles from the city and the rooms are rather depressing and spartan. This hotel has clearly been built to a price point and ease of maintenance. Staff were OK, one receptionist very helpful - the others I interacted with unenthused, clearly just doing a job and nothing more. The bed was not comfortable for me, felt like a very cheap mattress. There is no free internet access, €1 or €2 for access to lobby PCs and printer. Wifi was ~€5 for one hour, it dropped out several times when I was connected. Breakfast was OK. Buffet included a reasonable range of cold food, one hot choice of bacon, eggs and sausage. Personally I will look elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Football fans ask for a room with a view of Westfalenstadion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tryp Dortmund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Dortmund

Address: Emil Figge Strasse 41, 44227 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp Dortmund 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Melia, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Tryp Dortmund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Dortmund
Dortmund Sol Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp Dortmund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.