We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Hotel Dortmund

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Hotel Dortmund to your Saves list
Steigenberger Hotel Dortmund
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Berswordtstrasse 2, 44139 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Dortmund
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“OK decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was organised by a company whom I went on behalf so was all paid by them. i didn't use the gym but apart from it all seemed good and neat and conveniently located to an exibition centre to which I had to go - walking distance. reataurant was nice and the breakfast and lunch buffets were good! Drinks at the bar seems faily on the high side!!

The only complaint I have is regarding Wi-fi. At this day and age most hotels provide free of charge and this hotel have cards (scratch cards) and I bought a 1hr card for EUR 4,50!! That also ran out before I used for 60 minutes but since I got my work done I didn't go to complain...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    69
    40
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
31
17
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Pros: The room was large, lighted, reasonably clean and the furnitures of a fine quality. The hotel is within a walking distance from a restaurants and pubs area. The gym is neatly maintained. Cons: The shower+lavatory room is small and smelly (I had to open its door 15 minutes before using it), the rate of flow of the water in the shower was inconveniently low, the AC was off and one couldn't activate it (I tried because of the odor coming from the lavatory), make sure you throw the towels on the floor otherwise you'll find those back on the hangers (with absolutely no spare towels - one for the bathroom, one for your hands - thats it), the TV was miniature and fixed so that you can watch it only from the bed. And, last but certainly not least, you had to pay for the internet 9euros for 5 hours (w username and password ...) - nowadays internet is not a privilege, its a must, wakeup - in any McDonald's there is a free internet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We always love Steigenberger hotels: stylish, high standard, nice personel. This Steigenberger is no different. The change from Western theme Steigenberger Maxx to a 'regular' Steigenberger is well done. The only 'different' in this hotel is that the sink is situated kind of in the room, outside of the bathroom (toiler, shower). The beds are amazing, I slept feeling like floating above it. All personel is very friendly, breakfast offers all you could wish for, and a little more. All in all highly recommended. There is only one 'but'... There is a Pullman hotel right next door. If the price is about the same, I would choose Pullman because of their pool/fitness/wellness area, the even bigger breakfast buffet and the service and friendliness that comes right from the personels heart at Pullman. At Steigenberger, the service and kindness is certainly good but more 'distant'.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaassen, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Had a nice weekend stay-over in this hotel to go to a big show in the Westfallen Hallen, which is in walking distance of this hotel. Perfect.
The only down-side I found was the fee we had to pay to park the car in the basement parkside. €12 for one night is quite expensive I think. The hotel is not cheap, so parking should be for free is my oppinion.
The room is very nice and complete.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stay there when in business trip in Dortmund;
Price is very good- but it is negotiated of course; rooms are nice - the refurbished ones specially;
Personell is very polite and helpfull;
Breakfast is almost like in a 5 star hotel - compairing with Hilton or Sheraton for example; on request you can get other food which is not available on the daily menu.
20 minutes away - walking distance from the City Center of Dortmund;

Room Tip: low level rooms are usually better; on 5th or 6th floor you may hear the elevator running :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The room was small and dark. No house-shoes, no coffee or teamaker in the room,
two small and to soft pillows in the bed, breakfast was like in a two-stars hotel,
The price - 129,00 Euro- was to much for such an service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We just needed a place to spend a night in Dortmund, the Steigenberger Hotel was the place to go. The hotel is held in a colonial style, nice! Check in went well, the staff was friendly and helpful. The evening one can spend in the restaurant or in the lobby bar. Try the local beer there, one pils DAB and Hövels, a darker one.
For breakfast there is a huge buffet, all the food you like! Just great. I like to spend some time in this hotel and go back when I am in Dortmund ...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Dortmund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Dortmund

Address: Berswordtstrasse 2, 44139 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dortmund
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Hotel Dortmund 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Dortmund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dortmund Steigenberger Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Hotel Dortmund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.