We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A&O Dortmund Hauptbahnhof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added A&O Dortmund Hauptbahnhof to your Saves list
A&O Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Konigswall 2, 44137 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Kentucky, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Four of us in our family stayed at the A&O in Dortmund for 3 nights. We had an en suite bathroom which was very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. There is no laundry on site, but there is one across the street and down a block or so. Nice location, close to the train station and lots of shopping/restaurants. Except for one night where a group of guys next door were having a party, we slept well. The price was great. Internet access in the rooms is available, but know that you pay per person/device for access - not per room. Don't bother paying for breakfast - there are plenty of places nearby where you can grab a coffee and some bread. If ever we are in that part of Germany again, I would not hesitate to stay at the A&O..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    44
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
8
15
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Amazing hostel very clean and near the centre and train station. Rooms have everything you need in them. If your travelling on interrail you can get a 10% discount here as well. It can be a bit noisy at night from outside but apart from that there are no bad points

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great hostel. Used it to go watch the football for weekend. Deffinatly go and will recommend to anyone who goes to Dortmund. Right in the town centre. Right next to the train. Metro. And bus stations. Cheap and tasteful beer. Great staff. Free 24/7 wifi. Full of friendly visitors staying aswell. Great stay

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
173 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed here in a single room for one night in November 2012. Room was larger, than expected. Less than 5 minutes walking to main railway station. Friendly welcome from reception staff. I was satisfied, as I was just looking for a budget place to sleep with no frills. Rooms to the front are a bit noisy due to traffic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed five night is a six bed dormitory style room and found the hotel quite decent . The room was clean , there was free Wi-Fi available both in the reception and in the room and the quality of sleep was excellent . For a 5 Euro deposit I got a lock for the locker in the room . The locker itself had a decent size so one could safely guard a lot of things inside. The personal spoke English and Spanish fluently and I had no problems during check in/outs. Overall I am very satisfied , but still find the price of 20 Euro a bit too step for a dormitory accommodation - 10 to 15 Euro is what most Student / economy travelers hostel should strive for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed here several times with my boyfriend and once on my own. Each time we experienced great service and had clean, comfortable rooms. I felt very comfortable and safe staying there as a woman traveling alone. It is a short walk to the train station and right on the edge of the inner city/downtown area. You can pay 5 Euro more for a late check out (2:00 p.m. instead of 10:00 a.m.), which is great when you need a little more time in the morning. The breakfast for 6 Euros is a good value, because it is well stocked with lots of options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed in this hotel after a football game for one night. It is very clean and the beds are really OK. With this price I can always recommend it for a short term stay. You get a real good value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Dortmund
NH Dortmund
#10 of 56 in Dortmund
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novum Business Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund City
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dortmund
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dortmund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Dortmund Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Dortmund Hauptbahnhof

Address: Konigswall 2, 44137 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Dortmund Hauptbahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, seekda GmbH, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Venere, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your A&O Dortmund Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A&O Dortmund Hauptbahnhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.