We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the central of the city, recommendable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grey Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Grey Hotel to your Saves list
The Grey Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schmiedingstr 11 - 13, 44137 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Dortmund
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt/Main
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“For the central of the city, recommendable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Place: It's very close (ca. 3 mins?!) to the central station of Dortmund. ca.5 mins by foot to shopping streets. Reception: very friendly. Breakfast: enough. Room: relative small (bed, too). Bathroom: clean and fine (only shower no bathtub).

Parking: If the hotel has guests, the parking lots are not enough. If lucky, cars can be parked on the street in front of the hotel ;-)

Finding the hotel: a bit difficult if no navigation. On a small street and drivers in Dortmund often drive fast ;-P Take good care!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juncool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Poole, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Literally 5 minutes from the railway station but in a quiet street this friendly hotel with excellent staff makes even a one night stay enjoyable. This hotel whilst not doing evening meals delivers an excellent breakfast with a wide choice. Beds are very comfortable, rooms are adequate size. Pricing is competitive.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pooledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed in The Grey for 2 nights on a business trip to Dortmund.
They offered me a bigger room with no charge. But since I prefered having a balcony I chose the smaller room. This one was still plenty big enough.
The bathroom was fairly big and had a great shower. The whole room was very clean and I especially appreciated the coffee and team facilities.
Breakfast was good too.
The only thing I could criticise is the big price range you get in the hotel. One day it's very cheap and the next it's super expensive. I payed 54 EUR for the first night (a Sunday) and 84 EUR for the 2nd. And these prices can go up a lot more too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannaHaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Very good location, near to the central train station and to the shopping street. The breakfast is good. The only problem is the wifi, it' s really slow. The rooms are very big and comfortable. The lift is strange.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ocherneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Great location, convenient for starting the sightseeing, walking a short distance to a nice restaurant or catching the train quickly. Original design, clean modern rooms, everything functioning well. Also, the staff was very helpful and answered all kinds of unexpected questions from us. The breakfast was good; the only drawback was that it might take some time until your table is waited if there are a lot of people. However, since the only thing you need to wait for is tea/coffee, you might as well ask for it and be helped swiftly:) Also, to avoid something like that, don't come for breakfast 30 min before they stop serving it, like lots of people did.

Good stay, definitely recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spirited_mage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Was just in Dortmund for 24 hours but really liked the stylish simplicity of the Grey. Great location, spacious rooms, great shower, comfortable bed, friendly staff and a great breakfast buffet. Not the cheapest place to stay but definitely one to recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RSOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raciborz, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

My experience with this hotel was quite short. I spent only 2 nights in there and I'm not disappointed. The building is big and the rooms are spacious. I liked the corridors a lot. The colours of the walls are calming and it all looks great. However, I find the price of a stay at this hotel a bit to high. Apart from that, everything was fine! :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystyna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dortmund
0.2 mi away
NH Dortmund
NH Dortmund
#11 of 56 in Dortmund
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arcadia Grand Hotel Dortmund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund City
1.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Messe & Kongress
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grey Hotel

Address: Schmiedingstr 11 - 13, 44137 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Grey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing