We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HASE

HASE
St.-Apern-Str. 17-21 | Cologne, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt-Nord)
+49 221 252488
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #122 of 1,731 Restaurants in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Altstadt-Nord
Description: Wer es pur, echt und anspruchsvoll mag, der ist im Restaurant Hase in Köln gut aufgehoben. In dem beliebten Restaurant schmecken Sie höchstes Können, Leidenschaft, unübertroffene Frische und reine Aromen. Die anspruchsvollen Klassiker werden im leger-gepflegten Ambiente genossen und von erlesenen Weinen auf der umfangreichen Karte abgerundet.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Very good quality food in a bistro-like setting. Prices are too high, though, even given the central location, compared to other similar quality places in the city centre.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    31
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A very nice little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

As previous reviews noted, the menu is written on a chalkboard in German only, but one of the waiters was happy to translate for us. We started with a wonderfully, creamy white asparagus soup, which the restaurant was also kind enough to split into two bowls. I had the roast beef with a vinaigrette salad on top and frites, but my boyfriend's lamb chops were awesome. Four generous chops with a crusty broiled fat-cap that was like a lamb porkrind on top. The chops were served with grilled vegetables and garlic-pesto-filled ravioli that were amazing. If we had the budget, we'd be there every night.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
425 reviews 425 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Too Expensive Bistro Lunch!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

At lunchtime, this is a typical "pack ´em in - get ´em out" sort of bistro, the likes of which there are hundreds in Paris. The lay-out of the tables, several parallel rows with no gaps between them, is not to my liking; it´s OK in a brewhouse or a beer garden, but not when a main course can cost 28€!! There is not a menu in the conventional sense; the dishes on offer are written on two large blackboards. From our table, near the window at the front, we were not able to see them, so we had to get up to peruse them, unfortunately getting in the way of the waiters. So far, so bad...What about the food? Well, the soup, cauliflower with truffle, was delicious, even if slightly on the salty side. My main course, lamb fillet (probably frozen) was overcooked and dry - I would have expected more succulence for €28! My client´s guinea fowl (€22) seemed fine. The service was efficient enough while not being particularly friendly.
The open wine was adequate. To sum up, I think the total package offered at lunch is overpriced.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best in Cologne!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

My wife and I have been to Hase twice now and haven't been dissapointed yet. The food is top notch and so is the service. The menu is written in German on a chalk board but servers or managers have no problem translating since our German is not great Portions are not huge, but not small either. Highly recommended

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful place for a cosy lunch with superb food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

In center of Cologne shopping area. Nice atmosphere, warm hospitality, large choice of interesting dishes which are delightful.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HASE also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to HASE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HASE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.