We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Moissonnier

Le Moissonnier
Krefelder Strasse 25, 50670 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Neustadt-Nord)
0221 / 72 94 79
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 1,734 Restaurants in Cologne
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Neustadt-Nord
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We went there for a family birthday and truly enjoyed the experience. The restaurant currently has two Michelin stars and they are well deserved! Great food and service. We loved it

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    21
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing French food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

One of the best dining experiences in Cologne. A truly gourmet restaurant. Staff is super friendly and nice. This is a restaurant to bring a date to, or bring a very important business partner. The food will impress anyone who cares about gourmet dining.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puebla, Mexico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“want to give you a treat?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

we went there to celebrate a special occacion and loved the place. although this is now some time ago we often come back to think about this special evening. Meat was the best my boyfriend ever ate and I had some fish with fried fish scales, sounds strange but it was something special and delicious. For a restaurant of that level, the atmosphere was relaxing and we even had a chat with our neighboring table. Every single dish was a delight, if we ever come back to Cologne and had saved some money, we will love to try again ..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was one of my two favorite restaurants in Cologne. The duck was absolutely amazing and the service was excellent. Despite being a "fine dining" type of place, it was not stuffy at all and had a laid back feel. They do offer a fix priex menu but also have a la carte options with entrees in the 40 euro range which I went with.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sweet experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My kirei invited me to Le Moissonnier after having discovered a relative cheap way to experience a 2 stars Michelin restaurant. At lunch (except Saturdays), you can order a plat du jour and a glass of wine for 23 euros each. The bill won't probably be 46 euros, because even if you say - no, thanks - to a starting aperitif, with a bottle of 7 euros Evian water and the irresistible temptation of ordering a dessert when they bring you the dessert list (around 15-16 euros each), the final bill could be maybe 85 euros.
The plat du jour of our visit comprised a delicate salad with a bowl of row fish in a good sauce, and a delicious roast with an appetizing potato cake. The à la carte dessert will actually be the most lasting memory: a truly delicious chocolate and hazelnuts cake, but accompanied by a glass of cheesecake in a ginger cream which was conversely not so convincing, a bit too sour. The final orange lollipops looked nice gifts but actually a bit meaningless, out of context.
The decor and the atmosphere are definitely charming, we were certainly very glad of our first 2 stars Michelin (lighter and easier) experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Moissonnier also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Le Moissonnier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Moissonnier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.