We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Brauhaus food, good location and service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frueh am Dom

Frueh am Dom
Am Hof 12, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt-Nord)
022-1261-32-11
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 1,735 Restaurants in Cologne
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: German, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Altstadt-Nord
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Traditional Brauhaus food, good location and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We always enjoy visiting the Fruh, great atmosphere in summer and in winter. Professional staff, very efficient. This place is always very busy and is worth the wait if you have to queue for a table. The Kolsch (beer) is delicious and probably our favorite of all the Kolsch varieties on offer in Cologne. The food is always of a consistanty good standard and very tasty. I've been to a few Christmas parties here with colleagues from work, always very well organised with everyone leaving feeling happy and content. We've been regular visitors to Cologne for the past 18 years, it's a beautiful city, with very friendly people. We will definately be back for another meal soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    522
    176
    64
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Traditional German Food and Atmosphere....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great restaurant for a traditional german meal. The outdoor patio was packed, so we ate inside which was fine. Beautiful wood paneling covers the walls Both my husband and I had pork, me the tenderloin and him the pork chops. We also had the dutch cheese appetizer which was delicious. The beer is also great and overall, it was a good meal. The restaurant is centrally located, very close to the main train station and near the cathedral and shopping district.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Convenient location near the Dom and good service make this a great place to grad an authentic german meal.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food and beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We called in here for an evening meal while waiting for a train connection - it is only a few minutes walk from the station. You have to be quick to get a seat - and know that people in Cologne automatically share tables if there are spare seats, so you may be joined by others. The Kolsch beer is really good (and you can buy cans in the station for your onward journey!). The service is excellent. The food is local and very tasty, my husband had a sausage dish and I had a herring one, as herrings were in season. Also had a small salad to start, which seems to be customary and is very good value. Just a shame we had to move on - or maybe just as well!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffin, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Amazing location right by the cathedral and the beer here can't get much better. The friends we were visiting had me try the Mett and it wasn't quite for me, but still worth a try. My husband had the Schweinshaxe and loved it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frueh am Dom also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Frueh am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frueh am Dom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.