We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty as hell!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of SKADA-City Colln Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added SKADA-City Colln Hotel to your Saves list
SKADA-City Colln Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Constantinstrasse 78, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Deutz)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Frankfurt am Main
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dirty as hell!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The whole hotel stinks like an old ashtray and the rooms are super dirty! There is fungi everywhere in the bathroom (room 31/double) and the carpet looks like someone just died there. The bathroom door wouldn't close and the janitor was not able to fix it. Hello privacy!!!
As a flightattendant I travel a lot and have no problem whatsoever to stay in small, nonstar hotels but I defenetly can not stand dirt!
The only "plus" is the closeness to Köln Messe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
8
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Avoid this place, unless you knows what you are doing. Some of the room is just simply small, dirty, and smelly (Room 43). When I booked, I have insisted on getting bigger room, but they are still giving me the small, smelly, and dirty room. All other rooms were empty, and some of which is nicer, but they were keeping it for some reason (although 5 rooms were available when I book it). I have been there for at least 3 years in a row (for 5 days at a time), and the room they gave me is smaller and smaller. So much for being loyal customer.

Room Tip: Avoid Room #43 at all cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleboulle, France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Spacious room, clean, big bathroom, comfortable bed, friendly staff. On arrival we were given a welcome drink- Koln made beer in the hotel bar. Very close to the city center, by taxi we payed 6 euro, by walking it will take about 15min.

Room Tip: If you travel by car, ask hotel staff to explain you where is the car park, i think it was 5 euro pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We have chosen this hotel because it was close to Tanzbrunnen.
We were placed in a smoking room though we requested a non-smoking room, for me it was very disappointing.
We didnt have breakfast there instead we had it at the bio shop Dennys which is close to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

The hotel is average. People downstairs in the bar were smoking and the smoke permeated most of the hotel. The room was OK but in need of refurbishment, with mould on the walls and ceiling of the bathroom.
The owner was helpful but other staff were only OK. The location was not close to the train station (it's on the other side of the river), as we had thought, so had to get a taxi from the KD Rhine cruise stop as well as to the station.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel, although we did only pay 52 Euros so you get what you pay for. Did get a free drink in the smoke-filled bar, though!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Alpha Quadrant
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Small, unassuming, and easy to miss, once you get in, the grace and warmth and comfort grip you instantly.

From the front desk staff, to the bar-keep (he/she's one and the same in the evenings, you know!), it's smiles all round. The rooms are cosy and very well contained with high ceilings and large open windows. Though the decor is quite 70s, it reminds one of grandma's or an auntie or uncle's guest room. Inviting, warm and cosy. The proprietor whispered to me over a wee drink that he's in the process of updating the interior...

At EUR99 per night, with Kolsch on tap, the train station (Koln Messe/Deutze) and town a short hop away, you really can't go wrong!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

Excellent location right opposite the Messe. Ideal for visitors attending an exhibition at the fairground. Nice clean rooms though on the smaller side. They have a buffet breakfast at their cafe which is adequate. The staff was friendly and pleasent. Would not rate it as spectacular but cant find any fault either. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SKADA-City Colln Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKADA-City Colln Hotel

Address: Constantinstrasse 78, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Deutz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SKADA-City Colln Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SKADA-City Colln Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SKADA-City Colln Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.